has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Spring 2021 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: May 04, 2021 On Sale Date: May 25, 2021 Carton Quantity: 40 $19.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: May 04, 2021 On Sale Date: May 25, 2021 Carton Quantity: 40 $14.95 USD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Turnaround Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: May 04, 2021 On Sale Date: May 25, 2021 Carton Quantity: 40
  • Catalogues

Day for Night
A Novel
By (author): Jean McNeil
Jean McNeil

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770415751

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
May 25, 2021
$19.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 0.64 in | 0.77 lb

Page Count:

280 pages
ECW Press
FICTION / Literary
Fiction: general and literary|Relating to LGBTQ+ people
London
 
IPPY Awards 2022, Winner
  • Short Description
Set in London against a backdrop of growing authoritarianism and anxiety, a story of cinema and desire, the mysteries of marriage and creativity, and the often-violent returns and reversals of history.

From the author of Ice Diaries, winner of the Banff Mountain Film and Book Festival Grand Prize, praised by the New York Times as “stunningly written,” and a Guardian Best Book of 2018

Set in the throes of Brexit-era London, Day for Night is an unflinching exploration of desire, gender, and history, in which a married filmmaking duo seeks to tell the tragic story of 1940s German Jewish intellectual Walter Benjamin, while their own relationship and nation are imploding behind the camera in real-time

Richard Cottar is a respected independent film writer and director; his wife, Joanna, is his increasingly successful and wealthy producer. Together they are about to embark on a film about the life of Walter Benjamin, the German Jewish intellectual who killed himself in northern Spain while on the run from the Nazis in 1940. In what looks set to be the last year of Britain’s membership of the European Union, Benjamin’s story of exile and statelessness is more relevant than ever. But Richard and Joanna’s symbiotic life takes a sudden turn when they cast an intelligent, sexually ambiguous young actor in the role of Walter Benjamin. In a climate of fear and a bizarre, superheated year redolent of sex and hidden desire, Richard and Joanna must confront their relationship, Benjamin’s tragic history, and the future of their country.

Taking its cue from Virginia Woolf’s Orlando, Day for Night is an unsettling, riveting story of reversals — of gender, power, and history.

Sales and Market Bullets



  • Jean McNeil’s work has been shortlisted for the Governor-General's Award for Fiction, the Journey Prize, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation literary awards and the Journey Prize, and has twice won the Prism International competitions for short fiction and non-fiction.

  • “Jean McNeil’s latest is a completely absorbing, eminently readable — to the point of being almost unputdownable — complex, cleverly crafted work, principally about loyalty: what we owe to our country, our relatives, those we love, and those who simply cross our path. You won’t read many better novels this year.” — Daily Mail on The Dhow House

  • Stunningly written.” — New York Times on Ice Diaries

  • Day for Night examines desire, sexual orientation, and power imbalances in relationships and will appeal to readers of Eleanor Catton’s The Luminaries and Amor Towles’s A Gentleman in Moscow.

  • Book club questions will be available.


Audience



  • Readers of historical and political fiction

  • Fans of books with complex female protagonists, by authors like Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins

Promotional Plans



  • Early review copies to book and library trade publications, and literary journals

  • Major literary festival programming outreach

  • Advance copies with note from author to influential librarians and booksellers

  • Feature in librarian and bookseller’s newsletter

  • Reading group guide and book club promotion

  • Regional theatre community outreach

  • Women’s and literary magazine coverage


Jean McNeil is the author of 14 books of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and travel. She has twice been the winner of the PRISM International competition, and her work has been shortlisted for the Governor General’s Literary Award, the Journey Prize, the National Magazine awards, and the Pushcart Prize. She is Professor of Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia. Originally from Nova Scotia, she lives in London, England.

“Set in 2018, on the eve of Brexit, the novel offers a play of light and dark figures as it moves from the art of filmmaking to Benjamin’s sense of stateless and impending doom, which finds an echo in Richard and Joanna’s foreboding about their marriage and the consequences of Brexit. A captivating mix of angst and wry humor.” — Library Journal

“McNeil’s writing is spare and lush at the same time … the book invites us to look at our darkness and how we can channel it into something that at least mimics lightness to the world watching.” — Quill & Quire, starred

“Evocatively written … Taking its title from a cinematic technique in which night scenes can be filmed during daylight, the novel is also acute in its descriptions of films and filmmaking, capturing the intensity and strange intimacy of film shoots.” — Winnipeg Free Press

Day For Night hooked me from its first gorgeous lines, striking evocative prose, marvellous sentences that swept me along much in the way of Virginia Woolf’s Street Haunting … It’s a rich and satisfying project.” — Pickle Me This blog

“In Day for Night, Jean McNeil has written another in a series of powerful novels, one that draws the reader into a world that is at once familiar but rapidly becoming unrecognizable.” — Miramichi Reader

of 27

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.