has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Spring 2021 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Mar 09, 2021 On Sale Date: Mar 30, 2021 Carton Quantity: 10 $32.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Mar 09, 2021 On Sale Date: Mar 30, 2021 Carton Quantity: 10 $27.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Stung
An Arthur Beauchamp Novel
By (author): William Deverell

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770415959

Product Form:

Hardcover

Form detail:

Dust jacket
Hardcover , Dust jacket
English

Audience:

General/trade
Mar 30, 2021
$32.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

9in x 6 x 1.56 in | 2.13 lb

Page Count:

592 pages
ECW Press
FICTION / Legal
Crime and mystery fiction|Political / legal thriller|Narrative theme: Environmental issues|Narrative theme: Politics
British Columbia
  • Short Description
When an oddball group of ecology-minded people determine that a chemical factory is producing an agricultural pesticide that is also killing bees, they decide to sabotage its manufacture. Criminal lawyer Arthur Beauchamp is tasked with their defense in a tense, hang-by-the-fingernails trial.

Award–winning novelist William Deverell is back with a new Arthur Beauchamp legal thriller.

Lawyer Arthur Beauchamp is facing the most explosive trial of his career: the defence of seven boisterous environmentalists accused of sabotaging an Ontario plant that pumps out a pesticide that has led to the mass death of honeybees. The story zigzags between Toronto, where the trial takes place, and Arthur’s West Coast island home, where he finds himself arrested for fighting his own environmental cause: the threatened destruction of a popular park. The Toronto trial concludes with a tense, hang-by-the-fingernails jury verdict. Realistic and riveting, Stung is a propulsive legal thriller by a beloved author at the height of his powers.

Short Description


When an oddball group of ecology-minded people determine that a chemical factory is producing an agricultural pesticide that is also killing bees, they decide to sabotage its manufacture. Criminal lawyer Arthur Beauchamp is tasked with their defense in a tense, hang-by-the-fingernails trial.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • Deverell was a lawyer for over 20 years and was counsel in over a thousand trials — experience that lends authority and authenticity to his novels.

  • Deverell’s novels have been translated into 14 languages and have won or been shortlisted for many major prizes, including the Arthur Ellis Award, the Hammett Prize, and the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour.

  • Readers of Scott Turow and John Grisham will love Deverell’s courtroom drama and political satire.

  • An eco-thriller filled with courtroom drama, Stung offers a fictionalized account of ecojustice in action.


Audience



  • Deverell’s established fan base

  • Fans of Scott Turow, John Grisham, and other books with well-crafted courtroom dramas

After careers as a journalist, criminal lawyer, and political activist, William Deverell turned to fiction and on his first effort won the $50,000 Seal First Novel Award. Since then, he has earned multiple prizes for his 20 published novels, including the Dashiell Hammett Prize for literary excellence in crime writing in North America, two Crime Writers of Canada Awards (formerly the Arthur Ellis Award)for best Canadian novel, and two runners-up for the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour. He holds two honorary Doctor of Letters degrees. He lives in Pender Island, B.C.

“Elegant prose and an endearing lead ease the way through the thicket of environmental issues. Fans of character-driven mysteries will be rewarded.” — Publishers Weekly

“Along with its humor, every chapter of Stung offers both the cost of taking moral action, and the deep suspense of being human.” — NY Journal of Books

“Deverell’s Stung is relevant, rich with countless memorable characters, loaded with courtroom suspense, and above all, tremendously readable. Up there with some of my favourite legal thrillers, a list that includes Turow and Connelly.” — Linwood Barclay, New York Times bestselling author of Elevator Pitch and A Noise Downstairs

Stung — a blistering ride on a flaming meteor.” — Joy Kogawa, author of acclaimed, award-winning novel Obasan

“Canada’s Raymond Chandler is at the top of his game in this rollicking, riveting tale of youthful valour versus corporate villainy. Both laugh-aloud funny and profound, Stung is a feast of wit, satire and suspense to keep you up all night.” — Ronald Wright, author of A Short History of Progress

of 27

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.