Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Most Anticipated Fiction, Spring 2021

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780593295861 9780593298756 9781101949641 9780593295854 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB 9780593394809 Downloadable audio file, $29.5 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AE AF AI AM AO AQ AR AW AZ BF BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV CD CF CG CI CK CL CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO DZ EC EG EH ER ET FM GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HK HM HN HT ID IL IQ IR JP KG KH KM KP KR KZ LA LB LR LY MA MF MG MH ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NU OM PA PE PF PM PS PW PY QA RE RW SA SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UY UZ VE VN WF YT Not for sale in: AD AG AL AT AU AX BA BB BD BE BG BM BN BS BW BY BZ CC CH CM CX CY CZ DE DK DM EE ES FI FJ FK FO FR GB GD GG GH GI GM GR GS GY HR HU IE IM IN IO IS IT JE JM JO KE KI KN KW KY LC LI LK LS LT LU LV MC MD ME MK MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NL NO NP NR NZ PG PK PL PN PT RO RS RU SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UA UG VA VC VG VU WS YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Feb 02, 2021 Carton Quantity:12 $36.00 CAD
    $27.00 USD
  • Catalogues

Girl A
A Novel
By (author): Abigail Dean
9780593295847 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense Feb 02, 2021
$36.00 CAD
Active 6.22 x 9.27 x 1.19 in | 1.18 lb 352 pages Viking
“Nothing short of astonishing…Rarely does a novel offer up such unique plotting, such heart-stopping psychological drama, and such a rich portrayal of its inhabitants. A modern-day classic.”—Jeffery Deaver, New York Times bestselling author of The Goodbye Man and The Bone Collector

For readers of Room and Sharp Objects, a propulsive and psychologically immersive novel about a young girl who escapes captivity—but not the secrets that shadow the rest of her life.


“’Girl A,’ she said. ’The girl who escaped. If anyone was going to make it, it was going to be you.’”

Lex Gracie doesn’t want to think about her family. She doesn’t want to think about growing up in her parents’ House of Horrors. And she doesn’t want to think about her identity as Girl A: the girl who escaped, the eldest sister who freed her older brother and four younger siblings. It’s been easy enough to avoid her parents—her father never made it out of the House of Horrors he created, and her mother spent the rest of her life behind bars. But when her mother dies in prison and leaves Lex and her siblings the family home, she can’t run from her past any longer. Together with her sister, Evie, Lex intends to turn the House of Horrors into a force for good. But first she must come to terms with her siblings—and with the childhood they shared.

What begins as a propulsive tale of escape and survival becomes a gripping psychological family story about the shifting alliances and betrayals of sibling relationships—about the secrets our siblings keep, from themselves and each other. Who have each of these siblings become? How do their memories defy or galvanize Lex’s own? As Lex pins each sibling down to agree to her family’s final act, she discovers how potent the spell of their shared family mythology is, and who among them remains in its thrall and who has truly broken free.

Story Locale: Suburban England

THE HYPE IS REAL: Viking won this book as the under-bidder in a competitive international auction. It quickly sold in 25 territories, TV rights were aggressively pre-empted by Sony, and it’s now set to become a limited TV series directed by Johan Renck (director of “Chernobyl”).

SIBLING RELATIONSHIPS AND TRAUMA: As an only child, Dean was always fascinated by sibling relationships. In the wake of the unfortunate number of news stories about children who survive extremely abusive households, Dean found herself wondering how shared childhood trauma would shape siblings, pulling them apart but also binding them to one another.

FIRST IN A TWO BOOK DEAL: Dean is at work on a second novel, The Conspiracies, which follows two people in the aftermath of a shooting, one who lost her mother that day, and one who believes the shooting was a hoax and sets out to expose it.

Abigail Dean works as a lawyer for Google, and before that was a bookseller. She lives in London, and is working on her second novel.

Author Residence: London

Author Hometown: Manchester, UK

Marketing: Online advertising

Social media and online promotion

Library promotions

abigail-dean.com/ @abigailsdean



Publicity: National Print and Online Reviews and Features

Radio and Podcast Interviews

Suspense Media Attention



Author Website: abigail-dean.com

Author Social Media: @abigailsdean

HAILED A BEST NEW BOOK OF 2021 BY MARIE CLAIRE, LITHUB, GOOD HOUSEKEEPING, O MAGAZINE, WOMAN’S DAY, AND REDBOOK

“Nothing short of astonishing… Rarely does a novel offer up such unique plotting, such heart-stopping psychological drama, and such a rich portrayal of its inhabitants. A modern-day classic.” —Jeffery Deaver, New York Times bestselling author of The Goodbye Man and The Bone Collector

“Sensational… gripping, haunting and beautiful written.” —Richard Osman, international bestselling author of The Thursday Murder Club

“A haunting, powerful book, the mystery at its heart not who committed a crime, but how to carry on with life in its aftermath… the suppressed tension acts like the winding back of a slingshot, which about halfway through the novel suddenly rockets forward, propelling the story through scenes of genuine fear to its moving, pitch-perfect ending…Dean tells this story with such nuance and humanity, you’re desperate to step into its pages.” Flynn Berry, The New York Times


“Abigail Dean wastes no time diving into the wreckage of the Gracie clan…[Girl A] often reads more like a slow-burn character study, though it’s richer for it.” —Entertainment Weekly

“The height of a pandemic might not be the ideal time to read a novel about six English children held captive at home and abused by their deranged parents. But put your fears aside or you’ll miss out on a stunning debut…compelling.”—Washington Post

“A novel that’s psychologically astute and written with flair. In the traditional new year battle between much touted first thrillers it’s the clear winner.” —Sunday Times (UK)

”The biggest mystery thriller since Gone Girl.” —Elle (UK)

“A tour de force, beautifully written, richly imagined, and compulsively readable. Add to this its grave sometimes ominous tone, and the result is unforgettable.” —Booklist (starred)

“This gripping story about family dynamics and the nature of human psychology will hold you tight all the way through.” —Good Housekeeping

“[Dean] skillfully brings the complicated relationships among the siblings as well as the secrets they share into dramatic relief. This assured psychological thriller marks Dean as a writer to watch.” —Publishers Weekly

”It is rare for a novel to be so deft yet devastating. A story of terrible control but also irresistible humanity, Girl A is a portrait of survival, intelligence and love, and it will stay with me for a long time. A book of deep feeling, and an astonishing achievement.“ —Jessie Burton, author of the New York Times bestseller The Miniaturist

”A riveting page-turner, full of hope in the face of despair.“ —Sophie Hannah, Guardian UK

”Incendiary, beautifully written thriller debut.“ —Guardian (UK)
 
Girl A is truly my idea of the perfect book: gripping and beautifully written, with complex (and often chilling) characters that are fully realised, and hard to forget. I’ll be thinking about this for a long, long time, so… Believe the hype – it really is that good.“ —Katie Lowe, author of The Furies
 
”A searing, gripping tale of love, loss and survival that exposes the bare bones of humanity and explores how victims cope long after the headlines stop rolling. One of the most compelling novels I’ve read in a long time.“ —Stacey Halls, author of The Familiars and The Foundling

”Terrifyingly gripping.“ —Susie Steiner, author of Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown

”Emotionally complex and beautifully written, with shades of Gillian Flynn and Ali Land, the dark secrets of Girl A unfold with such cool confidence that I kept having to remind myself that this was a debut. Incredibly impressive." —Catherine Ryan Howard, author of The Nothing Man

of 117

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.