Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Most Anticipated Fiction, Spring 2021

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780593187722 9780593189931 Paperback / softback, Trade, 9780593211694 Downloadable audio file, $27 CAD 9780593286050 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $39 CAD 9780593187715 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IQ IR IS IT JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SD SE SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AG AU BB BD BM BN BS BW BZ CC CM CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IE IM IN IO JE JM KE KI KN KY LC LK LS MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NP NR NZ PG PK PN SB SC SG SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Feb 09, 2021 Carton Quantity:12 $36.00 CAD
    $27.00 USD
  • Catalogues

Super Host
By (author): Kate Russo
9780593187708 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Literary Feb 09, 2021
$36.00 CAD
Active 6.2 x 9.28 x 1.16 in | 1.24 lb 368 pages Putnam G.P. Putnam's Sons
“Get ready to smile….[A] sweet story and the perfect antidote to the chaos that’s been 2021.” –the Skimm 

A deeply funny and shrewdly observed debut novel about being lost in the very place you know by heart.


Bennett Driscoll is a Turner Prize-nominated artist who was once a rising star. Now, at age fifty-five, his wife has left him, he hasn’t sold a painting in two years, and his gallery wants to stop selling his work, claiming they’ll have more value retrospectively…when he’s dead. So, left with a large West London home and no income, he’s forced to move into his artist’s studio in the back garden and list his house on the popular vacation rental site, AirBed.

A stranger now in his own home, with his daughter, Mia, off at art school, and any new relationships fizzling out at best, Bennett struggles to find purpose in his day-to-day. That all changes when three different guests—lonely American Alicia; tortured artist Emma; and cautiously optimistic divorcée Kirstie—unwittingly unlock the pieces of himself that have been lost to him for too long.

Warm, witty, and utterly humane, Super Host offers a captivating portrait of middle age, relationships, and what it truly means to take a new chance at life.

Story Locale: London, England

HAILS FROM A LITERARY FAMILY: Kate Russo is the daughter of Pulitzer Prize winner (and fellow PRH author) Richard Russo. Her sister Emily runs Print, an independent bookstore in Portland, Maine. She is deeply familiar with the business of books and will be a phenomenal partner to work with.

UNCONVENTIONAL LOVE STORY THAT’S ON TREND: With warmth and wit, Super Host is a fresh take on what it means to open oneself up to love. At its heart, the novel is a meditation on loneliness and human connection, much like Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, How Not to Die Alone, and Reese Witherspoon’s recent book club pick, The Cactus.

FUN, TIMELY PREMISE PERFECT FOR SUMMER: People have always secretly wondered about the personal lives of their AirBnb hosts, and this novel offers fantastic insight into the people behind the rental.

IMPRESSIVE DEBUT AUTHOR WITH ART WORLD CREDENTIALS: Russo is a painter who exhibits widely in the United States and England, allowing her to infuse the novel with a realistic look at the day-to-day reality of the “glamorous” life of a working artist.

THE CHARM OF CLASSIC 90s BRITISH ROMCOMS: With the same blundering charm and clever humor of a Richard Curtis film, Bennett Driscoll is a pitch-perfect contemporary version of the most famous Hugh Grant protagonists—think Notting Hill and About a Boy.

Kate Russo grew up in Maine but now divides her time between there and the United Kingdom. She has an MFA in painting from the Slade School of Fine Art, and exhibits in both the UK and the US.

Author Residence: Portland, Maine; London, England

Marketing: National advertising

National print publicity

NPR interviews

National author tour

Online publicity campaign

Pre-publication trade advertising

Pitch author op-eds and essays

Pre-publication media event

Online advertising

Pre-publication consumer outreach

Industry bigmouth outreach

Social media campaign

Influencer outreach

Bookstagram campaign

Partnership outreach

Consumer sweepstakes

BEA promotions

Book club promotions

Discussion guide available online

Material promotional item

KateRusso.com

Instagram.com/RussoKate

 

Author Website: katerusso.com

Author Social Media: Instagram: @russokate

One of:
The New York Times Book Review’s 13 New Books to Watch For in February
Entertainment Weekly’s Best New Books to Read in February  
Boston Magazine’s 42 Books to Help You Get Through the Rest of Quarantine 
Lit Hub’s Most Anticipated Books of 2021
PureWow’s 9 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in February 


“Russo’s clever debut evokes a time when travel wasn’t so fraught and strangers could get close enough to learn something about themselves.” The New York Times Book Review (Editors’ Choice)

“Brimming with…pure affection.” The New York Times Book Review 

“Here’s that rare thing: a wise, literary novel that is also funny as hell…the perfect antidote to this time of being shut in at home. Super Host gives me hope for the future, when we can all open our doors, and our hearts, once more.” —Jennifer Finney Boylan, Buzzfeed

“The Airbnb-novel genre grows with this highly-readable story.” Entertainment Weekly

“[A] candid and captivating portrait of middle age…[and] what it truly means to take a new chance at life.” PureWow

“Funny, sharp, and artistic…A wonderful book flanked with irony, perversity, Rear Window voyeurism, and women who understand the task of reinvention, Super Host is a case study of what we talk about when we talk about success.” Lit Hub

“[A] witty, enjoyable debut…Russo is a formidable talent, and readers will be eager to see what she does next.” Publishers Weekly

“Kate Russo’s novel hasn’t yet been compared to Eleanor [Oliphant Is Completely Fine], but it should be. The character at its heart…is the perfect blend of impossible and beloved, and the story is handled with a mix of wise humor and compassion.” BookPage

“A painter herself, Russo makes the act of creating art come alive, while effectively limning her characters in this incisive study of contemporary life.” –Library Journal

“In Russo’s charming and poignant debut…the author writes with warm sympathy and humor. A treat for fans of Nick Hornby and Tom Perrotta.” Kirkus Reviews

“[A] pleasantly quirky debut…Bennett is a comfortable character to get to know, as is the London through which he ambles.” –Booklist

Super Host isn’t just a charming, compulsively readable, romantically suspenseful novel about a lonely man who gets himself emotionally enmeshed with a series of short-term tenants. Kate Russo’s wise and funny debut also has a lot to say about the neighborhoods of London, the frustrations and satisfactions of making art, and the courage it takes to start over in the middle of your life. It’s a joy from start to finish.” —Tom Perrotta

“I gobbled up Super Host, Kate Russo’s smart, funny, and surprising first novel. She writes with such a generous and insightful eye about love, loneliness and artistic ambition, and has redrawn the lines that connect people in fiction through the most modern and unlikely of settings, the home share.” –Jess Walter

“This is the compulsively readable story of Bennett, a once-famous artist now divorced and impoverished, who lives in his garden studio and spies on his tenants through the windows. Super Host is hilarious, and touching, too; Kate Russo is a terrific storyteller.” —Claire Messud 

“Kate Russo’s debut Super Host is pure delight—smart, fun, poignant, and deeply satisfying. I loved it.” –Lily King

“Kate Russo’s delightful novel is deft, fast, and startling. I could have sworn I was right there, and I never wanted to leave.” —Luis Alberto Urrea 

of 117

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.