Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Most Anticipated Fiction, Spring 2021

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781593766047 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB, $14.99 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Mar 09, 2021 Carton Quantity:36 $23.00 CAD
    $16.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Cosmogony
Stories
By (author): Lucy Ives
9781593765996 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Short Stories Mar 09, 2021
$23.00 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.23 x 0.64 in | 0.58 lb 256 pages Catapult Soft Skull
An energetic, witty collection of stories where the supernatural meets the anomalies of everyday life—deception, infidelity, lost cats, cute memes, amateur pornography, and more.

There are analogies between being female and being left-handed, I think, or being an animal.

A woman answers a Craigslist ad (to write erotic diaries for money). A woman walks onto a tennis court (from her home at the bottom of the ocean). A woman goes to the supermarket and meets a friend’s husband (who happens to be an immortal demon). A woman goes for a run (and accidentally time travels).

Cosmogony takes accounts of so-called normal life and mines them for inconsistencies, deceptions, and delights. Incorporating a virtuosic range of styles and genres (Wikipedia entry, phone call, physics equation, encounters with the supernatural), these stories reveal how the narratives we tell ourselves and believe are inevitably constructed, offering a glimpse of the structures that underlie and apparently determine human existence.

Includes 6 new stories, alongside stories previously published in BOMB, Conjunctions, and Granta

Perfect for readers of Miranda July, Mary Gaitskill, Kelly Link, and Chris Kraus

Ives’ previous novel Loudermilk was a New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice and IndieNext pick.

Ives’ author fans include Sam Lipsyte, Wayne Koestenbaum, and Elizabeth McKenzie

Lucy Ives is the author of the novels Impossible Views of the World and Loudermilk: Or, The Real Poet; Or, The Origin of the World, as well as the editor of The Saddest Thing Is That I Have Had to Use Words: A Madeline Gins Reader. Ives’s writing has appeared in Art in America, Artforum, The Believer, frieze, Granta, and Vogue, among other publications. She received a 2018 Creative Capital/Andy Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant.

Author Residence: Corinth, VT

Author Hometown: New York, NY

Marketing: IndieNext Campaign

LibraryReads Campaign

Goodreads giveaways

Bookstagram campaign

Advertising on literary sites

Paid and organic social promotion

Targeted email newsletters



Publicity: National Media campaign, including NPR and print attention

Women’s magazines and website coverage

Online Interviews, Reviews, and Literary Blog Coverage

Coverage in arts and culture publications

Pitching to all major applicable books clubs, including Belletrist, GOOP, and more

Strong push for Most Anticipated 2021

Author events throughout New York City



Author Website: www.lucy-ives.com

Author Social Media: Facebook Lucy Ives Instagram @l_cy_v_s

A Paperback Paris Most Anticipated Book
A Rumpus Most Anticipated Book of Next Year

“Ives takes a playful approach to her subject and, along the way, reveals how thin the fictions governing our world truly are.” —Cornelia Channing, New York Magazine

“Ives—this is a compliment—is a real literary weirdo, and her stories are strange without ever performing their strangeness…Each one is emotionally precise in the extreme. Often, I was moved without knowing what had moved me—a rare feeling in art as in life, and an absolute treat…I’d move to her weird cosmos any day.” —Lily Meyer, NPR

Cosmogony, [Ives’] debut short story collection, takes on daily absurdities and the subtle supernatural, playing with format as she weaves in Wikipedia entries, text messages, and science equations.” ––Arianna Rebolini, Buzzfeed, One of the Most Anticipated Books of the Year

“There is perhaps no author better able to confront the acute absurdities of our reality than Lucy Ives, who veritably tackles the derangements of our era with glee, clarity, and brilliance. In this story collection, Ives touches on the mundane—from memes to porn to errand-running—offering up a version of life that is all the more authentic for its wholly surreal elements (time travel; living underwater). But then, this is what Ives does best: By offering up a kaleidoscope rather than a microscope through which to view our world, she presents us with something more glittery and beautiful and endlessly faceted than we could see if we were looking at it with our own eyes.” ––Kristin Iversen, Refinery29, One of the Best New Books of the Year

“Lucy Ives writes prose with the poetry inherent in her words, making the natural unnatural and the monotone fascinating, filtering and projecting the reality through the eyes of a poet… When Ives writes about art, biographical or historical information finds its place gracefully within the fiction without being mere footnotes. Her reflections provide the basis of a delicate understanding of art criticism in relation to creative writing.” —Cigdem Asatekin, The Brooklyn Rail 

“In this collection of short stories, Ives time travels, hallucinates, and performs magic to speak about the mystical qualities of the mundane. The stories all meander into something unexpected before exploding in truth and keen observations of human nature…Ives has the rare ability to boomerang reality totally out of whack before calling it home in an even purer form.” —Booklist

“A series of impossibly clever riffs on familiar features of modern life…from a mind that just won’t stop.” ––Kirkus Reviews 

“Inventive…Structurally ingenious…Through juxtaposition and collage, these stories illuminate the trickier fringes of life right now.” —Publishers Weekly 

“Rare and fearless, Cosmogony’s high-wire formal playfulness forges a circuit of human connection blinking at unlikely nodes. Even in moments of alienation and hurt, Ives’s characters find themselves inextricably tethered to each other through philosophy, systems that fail them, art and love and searching. The puzzle pieces of this collection notch together, assembling a picture of the mysterious intelligence of coincidence and the sad, funny faces with which we meet it.” —Tracy O’Neill, author of Quotients and The Hopeful 

of 117

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.