Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Sweet Reads - Kids - Ages 3-7, Spring 2021

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780735271821 9780735265172 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: AD430L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Feb 02, 2021 Carton Quantity:24 $21.99 CAD
    $18.99 USD
  • Catalogues

The Secret Fawn
By (author): Kallie George Illustrated by: Elly Mackay
9780735265165 Hardcover English Juvenile: Age (years) from 3 - 7, Grade (US) from P - 2 JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Deer, Moose & Caribou Feb 02, 2021
$21.99 CAD
Active 8.25 x 10.25 x 0.41 in | 0.96 lb 40 pages FULL COLOR THROUGHOUT Tundra Books
Gorgeous cut-paper art illuminates this sweet, heartfelt picture book about how special being little can be. For fans of Finding Wild and Little Fox in the Forest.

A little girl is always missing out on the wonderful things her family gets to see and do, just because she is the youngest and smallest. She misses seeing shooting stars because she goes to bed too early; she can’t pick the first apple of autumn because she’s too short; and, this morning, everyone else got to see a deer…except her. She goes into her backyard in search of the deer, a sugar cube tucked in her pocket. She sees a flick of brown in the orchard—is that the deer? No, it’s just the neighbor’s friendly dog (Shhhhh, Nala!). Is that it by the pond? No, that’s just a bird, playing in the water. Just when she’s about to give up, she spots a fawn, beautiful, quiet and small…just like her.

The Secret Fawn beautifully captures the power of nature to inspire children and shows how connecting with animals can help kids who feel left out or overlooked.

STUNNING, UNIQUE ART: Elly is a beloved paper artist and the critically acclaimed author/illustrator of many picture books as well as book covers.

ACCLAIMED AUTHOR: Kallie is a prolific writer for children, writing across genres, and has received numerous awards, honors and praise.

SUBTLE SUBLIME WRITING: Gentle, moving text that appeals to the heart without being stuffy will speak to many different buyers.

ODE TO BEING LITTLE: This story celebrates the often overlooked members of the family: the littlest and quietest children.

PERFECT SPRING AND NON-DENOMINATIONAL EASTER PICK

KALLIE GEORGE is an author, editor and creative writing teacher living in Vancouver, BC. Her upcoming picture book If I Couldn’t Be Anne continues her successful work adapting the Anne of Green Gables series for a new generation and follows Anne Arrives, Anne’s Kindred Spirits and Goodnight, Anne. She has written other acclaimed books for children, including The Lost Gift; Secrets I Know; Duck, Duck, Dinosaur and The Melancholic Mermaid, as well as The Magical Animal Adoption Agency series and The Heartwood Hotel series. She has also taught writing workshops for children and adults across Canada, as well as in South Korea, and currently teaches at Emily Carr University.

Author Residence: Vancouver, British Columbia

ELLY MACKAY is an acclaimed paper artist and children's book author and illustrator. She wrote and illustrated the picture book Red Sky at Night, as well as Waltz of the Snowflakes, If You Hold a Seed and Butterfly Park, among others. Elly's art was also featured on the covers of Tundra's reissues of L. M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables and Emily of New Moon series. Her distinctive pieces are made using paper and ink, and then are set into a miniature theater and photographed, giving them their unique three-dimensional quality. Elly lives in Owen Sound, Ontario, with her two children.

Illustrator Residence: Owen Sound, Ontario

Author Website: Kallie George: www.kalliegeorge.com ; Elly MacKay: www.theaterclouds.com

Author Social Media: Kallie George (Instagram): @kallie.george ; Elly MacKay (Instagram): @elly.mackay

“Sweet and pretty for bedtime or naptime — and validating to little ones all the time.” —STARRED REVIEW, Kirkus Reviews

“In this quietly resplendent picture book, a younger sibling who has missed out on seeing a deer sets off alone in search of one.”—Shelf Awareness

of 180

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.