Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Sweet Reads - Kids - Ages 3-7, Spring 2021

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780735267619 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: GN470L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Feb 02, 2021 Carton Quantity:36 $22.99 CAD
    $17.99 USD
  • Catalogues

Maya's Big Scene
By (author): Isabelle Arsenault
9780735267602 Hardcover English Juvenile: Age (years) from 4 - 8, Grade (US) from P - 3 JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / General Feb 02, 2021
$22.99 CAD
Active 7.5 x 9.25 x 0.44 in | 0.72 lb 48 pages FULL COLOR THROUGHOUT Tundra Books
Maya’s imagination sets the stage for her friends to act out her feminist play. Can she make room in her queendom for the will of the people? A funny picture book about leadership and fair play for fans of King Baby and Olivia.

Maya is a bossy, burgeoning playwright and loves to have the kids in her Mile End neighborhood bring her scenes to life. Her latest work, about a feminist revolution, is almost ready for public performance. But as her actors begin to express their costume preferences, Maya quickly learns that their visions may not match hers…and as both Director and Queen, Maya demands obedience and loyalty in her queendom of equality! But she soon realizes—with the help of her friends and subjects—that absolute bossiness corrupts absolutely!

Series Overview: Each book in the Mile End Kids series focuses on a different child in a group of friends who play together in a city alleyway inspired by Isabelle’s own Montreal neighborhood—an urban Peanuts gang! While the books are linked in terms of setting and characters, each also stands alone.

PERFECT INTRO TO COMICS AND GRAPHIC NOVELS: Told in graphic novel-style panels and speech bubbles, this is a great book to get kids into comics and graphic novels.

INTERNATIONALLY ACCLAIMED ILLUSTRATOR: Isabelle’s work has been recognized and praised around the world, and her fans include Jon Klassen and Mac Barnett.

LEARNING TO LEAD: A fun and playful look at leadership.

GIRL POWER: Maya is a strong heroine who fights for equal rights for girls and establishes a queendom!

RELATABLE HUMOR: This slyly funny and relatable story of a highly creative and bossy girl who learns how to get along with others and play fairly will resonate with kids and adults alike.

DIVERSE CHARACTERS: Maya herself is a child of color, and her friends come from many backgrounds.

THIRD IN AN ACCLAIMED SERIES: Colette’s Lost Pet and Albert’s Quiet Quest have received praise and recognition around the world and been sold into numerous territories. But Maya’s Big Scene works beautifully as a standalone too. Book 4 will be published in Spring 22.

PRAISE FOR ALBERT’S QUIET QUEST:

A Junior Library Guild selection

Nominated for the 2019 Governor General’s Award for Young People’s Literature—Illustrated Books

Winner of the 2020 Prix des Écoles d’Angoulême

One of the Globe and Mail’s 100 Books That Shaped 2019

One of CCBC’s Best Books for Kids & Teens 2019

“With her elegant, effortlessly fascinating visual style, Arsenault makes it all look like joyous, communal fun.”— New York Times

“In Arsenault’s ideal neighborhood, independent children make their own decisions and form their own community, and they resolve their own conflicts, too.”— Publishers Weekly

ISABELLE ARSENAULT is a Montreal illustrator whose passion for illustrated books has earned her an impressive number of awards and distinctions, including three Governor General’s Literary Awards for Children’s Literature and a Joe Shuster Award for Outsanding Artist. She received the Bologna Ragazzi Award in 2017 and was Canada’s illustrator nominee for the Hans Christian Andersen Award in 2018 and 2020. Three of her picture books have been named New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books of the Year. She received a bachelor’s degree in graphic design from the Université du Québec à Montréal.

Author Residence: Montreal, Canada

Author Website: www.isabellearsenault.com

Author Social Media: (Instagram) @isabelle_arsenault

“Simultaneously supports social-emotional growth and celebrates collaborative creativity.” —Kirkus Reviews

"Children need to learn how to get along with one another; the jubilantly performative setting of this inventive book is a perfect expression of that truth.”—Imaginary Elevators

of 180

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.