has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

2021 January & February Loan Stars Adult Top Picks

more
  • Other Formats

    9780385694230 9781400026944 Paperback / softback, Mass market, , $11.99 CAD 9780385694223 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Available On Sale Date:Feb 09, 2021 Carton Quantity:24 $22.00 CAD
  • Catalogues

The Burning Girls
By (author): C. J. Tudor
9780385694216 Paperback , Trade English General/trade Feb 09, 2021
$22.00 CAD
Active 6.1 x 9.2 x 0.9 in | 0.94 lb 352 pages Doubleday Canada
FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
A woman trying to outrun her past uncovers a great evil in the fourth riveting and psychologically compelling novel from the acclaimed author of The Chalk Man.

Welcome to Keeper’s Croft. Five hundred years ago, protestant martyrs were burned at the stake. Forty years ago, two teenaged girls disappeared without a trace. And two months ago, the vicar of the local parish killed himself.

Reverend Alex Brooks, a single mother with a fourteen-year-old daughter and a heavy conscience, arrives in the village hoping to make a fresh start and find some peace. She left Nottingham after a vulnerable child died. It’s a death she could have prevented, one that still haunts her. But Alex discovers that peace is the last thing she will find in Keeper’s Croft.

Instead, the previous vicar has left a message. An old exorcism kit and a suicide note instruct Alex to search for the truth about the village’s history and the girls’ disappearance. And when both Alex and her daughter Flo are troubled by strange sightings in the old chapel—apparitions that seem all too real—it becomes apparent that there are ghosts here that refuse to be laid to rest.

But discovering the truth is hard in a village where everyone has something to protect, everyone has links with the village’s bloody past and no one trusts an outsider.

Story Locale: England

ACCLAIMED AUTHOR: C. J. Tudor’s first novel, The Chalk Man, won the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel and the Strand Magazine Award for Best Debut Novel and was praised by writers like Stephen King, Lee Child, Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware. Kirkus and PW gave her second novel, The Hiding Place, rave reviews. And Harlan Coben has just offered glowing words of praise for her third book, The Other People, which will publish in January 2020.

A FRESH TWIST ON PSYCHOLOGICAL SUSPENSE: C. J. Tudor’s novels add a touch of horror-inspired darkness to electrifying plots, offering an utterly satisfying but wholly original read for suspense readers sick of the familiar.

THE QUEEN: Stephen King has said it himself: C. J.’s books are perfect for people who love his work! And as we know, King fans are aplenty. To all those readers desperate for their next thrilling, ingenious, twisty tale, we offer the exceptional C. J. Tudor.

C. J. TUDOR is the author of The Hiding Place and The Chalk Man, which won the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel and the Strand Magazine Award for Best Debut Novel. Over the years, she has worked as a copywriter, television presenter, voice-over artist and dog walker. She is now thrilled to be able to write full-time, and doesn’t miss chasing wet dogs through muddy fields all that much. She lives in England with her partner and daughter.

Author Residence: Punnetts Town, England

Author Hometown: Salisbury, UK

“Fans of Gillian Flynn, Tana French and Jess Lourey will leap at the chance to read Tudor’s new psychological thriller…. Tudor is undeniably talented at producing a slow burn, weaving each piece of the story together to form a creepy yet satisfying conclusion. Jack is a relatable protagonist, stepping away from the stereotypical personality of a vicar by projecting a raw, yet still empathetic, exterior. Gruesome and haunting, The Burning Girls is worth every page turn. Readers will surely be eager for more.” ―Booklist (starred review)

“[The Burning Girls is] definitely the best of Tudor’s books to date, which says a lot. This is one talented author and her international reputation is well-deserved…. A great novel for a dark night in a snowstorm.” —The Globe and Mail

“[Tudor] steadily cranks up the scares and the suspense while smoothly toggling between multiple narratives…. Readers will savor the final, breathless twists. Top-notch and deliciously creepy storytelling.” —Kirkus Reviews

“C.J. Tudor tells really twisted tales, and does so brilliantly…. The Burning Girls is super creepy and quite the nifty mystery…. Do read it—and hope you don’t sniff something unpleasant in the air…” —Winnipeg Free Press

“Rarely have the secrets of an English village been used to greater effect than in this tautly suspenseful mystery from Thriller Award–winner Tudor…. The tension become[s] nearly unbearable. Tudor expertly doles out the plot twists…one so shocking that it turns the entire story inside out. Jack, Flo, and the other fully realized characters and their eventual fates won’t be easily forgotten by any reader.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“The kind of novel that’s so creepy, it might just seep into your dreams.” —PopSugar

“Tudor…strikes again with another thriller filled with twists and turns right up to the mind-bending ending.” —Library Journal

“Tudor operates on the border between credulity and disbelief, creating an atmosphere of menace.” —The Sunday Times

“Tudor’s uncanny twisty plot is populated with intriguing, damaged characters and the slow-burning suspense leads to a crackling ending.” —Minneapolis Star Tribune

“A mesmerising and atmospheric page-turner, with plenty of shocks and a surprise twist for a finale. Her best novel yet.” —Sunday Express

of 10

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.