Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

May 2021 Biography & Autobiography

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780806534220 9780806531793 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $20 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Dec 28, 2021 Carton Quantity:56 $21.95 CAD
    $15.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Mortuary Confidential
Undertakers Spill the Dirt
By (author): Todd Harra By (author): Ken McKenzie
9780806541396 Paperback, Trade English General Trade BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs Dec 28, 2021
$21.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.5 x 8.25 in | 0.81 lb 256 pages Kensington Citadel
Mortuary Confidential does for the undertaker profession what Stiff did for cadavers—it manages to be as informative and heartwarming as it is irreverent and hilarious. This collection of real stories from morticians and funeral directors across America feeds mainstream readers’ dark curiosity and sense of humor about “our world of death” with a behind-the-scenes glimpse into every conceivable facet from the people who touch it every day.

From shoot-outs at funerals to dead men screaming and runaway corpses, undertakers have plenty of unusual stories to tell—and a special way of telling them.

In this macabre and moving compilation, funeral directors across the country share their most embarrassing, jaw-dropping, irreverent, and deeply poignant stories about life at death’s door. Discover what scares them and what moves them to tears. Learn about rookie mistakes and why death sometimes calls for duct tape.

Enjoy tales of the dearly departed spending eternity naked from the waist down and getting bottled and corked—in a wine bottle. And then meet their families—the weepers, the punchers, the stolidly dignified, and the ones who deliver their dead mother in a pickup truck.

If there’s one thing undertakers know, it’s that death drives people crazy. These are the best “bodies of work” from America’s darkest profession.

Story Locale: Across America

A reissue of the acclaimed book that takes a fascinating look at a darly fascinating occupation

In the vein of Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers, Will My Cat Eat My Eyeballs?, and Smoke Gets in Your Eyes & Other Lessons from the Crematory, a funny, dark, hilarious look at the lighter side of the most misunderstood profession.

The humor, pathos, and emotional scale of the mortuary business, told from 50 points of view, compiled by a pair of funeral directors is the kind of sardonic content quirky readers are looking for.

Todd Harra is a fourth-generation undertaker who works for the family business in Wilmington, Delaware. Todd’s family has been involved in funeral service since before the Civil War. His great-great-great grandfather was a cabinet maker, or tradesman undertaker, in the rural town of Milford.

After appearing as “Mr. January” in the 2008 Men of Mortuaries calendar, Todd found himself writing Mortuary Confidential with Ken McKenzie to help support Ken’s KAMM Cares Foundation.

Todd is a graduate of the American Academy McAllister Institute of Funeral Service and is a certificate holder from the Fountain National Academy of Professional Embalming Skills. He is a Certified Crematory Operator and sits on the board of the Delaware State Funeral Directors Association.
For more information visit ToddHarra.com or follow on Facebook @toddharraauthor

Kenneth McKenzie first became interested in the death care industry at the age of twelve, following his father’s suicide. He has been a funeral director for 22 years and a funeral home owner for 14. In 2007 Ken created and published the well received Men of Mortuaries calendar, also the inspiration for this book, to benefit Breast Cancer Awareness and received California’s Outstanding Funeral Director of the Year award. He resides in Long Beach, California. Please visit MenOfMortuaries.com.

Author Residence: Wilmington, DE (Harra); Long Beach, CA (McKenzie)

Marketing: Publicity outreach for reviews, round-ups, and feature coverage

Social media promotion

Praise for Mortuary Confidential

“Unpredictable and lively as a bunch of drunks at a New Orleans funeral.” —Joe R. Lansdale

“Alternately poignant and peculiar, Mortuary Confidential is an insightful glimpse into the real lives of undertakers.”

—Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of the Wicked Lovely series

“I have always had an insatiable curiosity of anything that smacks of the tawdry. I suppose the ’goings on’ around funeral parlors must fall under this category because I could not put this book down. Fascinating!”—Leslie Jordan, Emmy Award-winning actor

“Sick, funny, and brilliant! I love this book.” —Jonathan Maberry, multiple Bram Stoker Award-winning author of They Bite

“Curious, wildly honest stories that need to be told, but just not at the dinner table.” —Dana Kollmann, author of Never Suck a Dead Man’s Hand

of 152

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.