Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

May 2021 Sci-Fi & Fantasy

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781789093957 9781789093964 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB, $13.99 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PR UM US VI Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UY UZ VA VC VE VG VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:May 25, 2021 Carton Quantity:48 $21.95 CAD
    $15.95 USD
  • Catalogues

The Lights of Prague
By (author): Nicole Jarvis
9781789093940 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Fantasy / Gaslamp May 25, 2021
$21.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.1 x 7.79 x 1.01 in | 0.68 lb 416 pages Titan Books
For readers of VE Schwab and The Witcher, science and magic clash in atmospheric gaslight-era Prague.



In the quiet streets of Prague all manner of mysterious creatures lurk in the shadows. Unbeknownst to its citizens, their only hope against the tide of predators are the dauntless lamplighters – secret elite of monster hunters whose light staves off the darkness each night. Domek Myska leads a life teeming with fraught encounters with the worst kind of evil: pijavice, bloodthirsty and soulless vampiric creatures. Despite this, Domek finds solace in his moments spent in the company of his friend, the clever and beautiful Lady Ora Fischerová - a widow with secrets of her own. 
 
When Domek finds himself stalked by the spirit of the White Lady - a ghost who haunts the baroque halls of Prague castle – he stumbles across the sentient essence of a will-o’-the-wisp captured in a mysterious container. Now, as its bearer, Domek wields its power, but the wisp, known for leading travellers to their deaths, will not be so easily controlled. 
 
After discovering a conspiracy amongst the pijavice that could see them unleash terror on the daylight world, Domek finds himself in a race against those who aim to twist alchemical science for their own dangerous gain.

Story Locale: Prague, Czech Republic

The Lights of Prague is brilliantly realised; a novel, fresh setting that will intrigue readers. 

Familiar but different monsters, which is an amazing accomplishment with such classic creatures as vampires, so the story feels fresh and exciting, providing the readers with something they haven’t seen before.

This is the perfect blend of gritty realism and heart. 

With the Witcher TV series coming out there will be heightened interest in eastern European mythology, which this will be well-positioned to capitalise on.

Fantasy fans will gobble up this moody, philosophical adventure - Publishers Weekly

Nicole Jarvis has been writing stories as long as she can remember. After graduating with degrees in English and Italian from Emory University, Nicole moved to New York City to pursue a career in publishing. She currently works in marketing at Bloomsbury Publishing and lives in Manhattan with two cats named after children’s book characters. She loves listening to musicals, thinking about the inner lives of superheroes, and learning strange and delightful history. The Lights of Prague is her first novel.

Author Residence: New York, NY

Author Hometown: New York, NY

Publicity: Local book section review coverage

Major entertainment and pop culture website features and reviews

Major cult and genre magazine and website features and reviews

Official author social media features

Social media outreach - Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter

Advertising in Ingram

Horror and cult magazine interviews, articles and reviews

“Fantasy fans will gobble up this moody, philosophical adventure” - Publishers Weekly

“Jarvis transports readers to a historical Prague where evil lurks around dark corners and lamplighters are vampire hunters in disguise. Readers will fall hard for the humble, vampire-hunting Domek and the brazen, bloodthirsty Ora as they navigate their class differences—along with their mortal differences—while trying to save their city. A stunning debut.” - Kristen Ciccarelli

of 98

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.