has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

TouchWood Editions Fall 2021

more
Menno-Nightcaps
Cocktails Inspired by that Odd Ethno-Religious Group You Keep Mistaking for the Amish, Quakers or Mormons
By (author): S. L. Klassen Illustrated by: Michael Hepher
S. L. Klassen ,

Illustrated by :

Michael Hepher

ISBN:

9781771513586

Product Form:

Hardcover

Form detail:

Paper over boards
Hardcover , Paper over boards
English

Audience:

General/trade
Oct 10, 2021
$26.00 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8in x 6 in

Page Count:

176 pages

Illustrations:

full colour
TouchWood Editions
COOKING / Beverages / Alcoholic / Bartending & Cocktails
Christian Churches, denominations, groups|Spirits, liqueurs and cocktails|North America (USA and Canada)|New Year|Valentine’s Day / Lovers’ days|Birthdays|Engagement / Wedding / Marriage|Coming of age celebrations / festivals / rituals|Christmas
North America

A satirical cocktail book featuring seventy-seven cocktail recipes accompanied by arcane trivia on Mennonite history, faith, and cultural practices.

At last, you think, a book of cocktails that pairs punny drinks with Mennonite history! Yes, cocktail enthusiast and author of the popular Drunken Mennonite blog Sherri Klassen is here to bring some Low German love to your bar cart. Drinks like Brandy Anabaptist, Migratarita, Thrift Store Sour, and Pimm’s Cape Dress are served up with arcane trivia on Mennonite history, faith, and cultural practices.

Arranged by theme, the book opens with drinks inspired by the Anabaptists of sixteenth-century Europe (Bloody Martyr, anyone?), before moving on to religious beliefs and practices (a little like going to a bar after class in Seminary, but without actually going to class). The third chapter toasts the Mennonite history of migration (Old Piña Colony), and the fourth is all about the trappings of Mennonite cultural identity (Singalong Sling).

With seventy-seven recipes, ripping satire, comical illustrations, a cocktails-to-mocktails chapter for the teetotallers, and instructions on scaling up for barn-raisings and funerals, it’s just the thing for the Mennonite, Menno-adjacent, or merely Menno-curious home mixologist.

  • A satirical cocktail book in the vein of Tequila Mockingbird and Are You There God, it's Me Margarita, these are 77 cocktail recipes, 37 illustrations, and arcane trivia and ripping satire on Mennonite history, faith, and cultural practices. Also includes a cocktails-to-mocktails chapter for the teetotallers, and instructions on scaling up for barn-raisings and funerals
  • Every drink has a punny name like Brandy Anabaptist (brandy Alexander), Migratarita (margarita), Thrift Store Sour (pisco sour), Thumbscrew Driver (screwdriver), Crimson Peachwater Tea (long island iced tea-esque)
  • Four chapters of cocktails on the Anabaptists of sixteenth-century Europe, religious beliefs and practices, Mennonite history of migration, and the trappings of Mennonite cultural identity, and a fifth chapter on large-quantity cocktails, syrups and preserves, and non-alcoholic options
  • Sherri has a PhD in history and is a practicing Mennonite. This book is punny and humorous, but in no way disrespectful of the Mennonite history, culture, or religion.
  • This brand of humour and these cocktails will be appreciated by Mennonites, both practicing and non, and also to the fringe community around them (people who live close to a community, or have married into one, or have left it . . . etc…) who have an understanding of their culture.
  • Sherri writes a blog—Drunken Menno, where she shares humourous stories and thoughtful entries on Mennonite history and her experiences in the culture, and has the go-to Twitter feed for Mennonite humour @TheDrunkenMenno with 3000 followers
  • According to Sherri, the Mennonite community stays in close contact via Facebook, so we will be doing Facebook advertising, Facebook live videos, a digital launch, and sharing recipes occasionally on the platform.
  • Will release to coincide with Mennonite Heritage Week, Sept 6-10, 2021
  • Design is inspired a bit by Dutch Blitz - same four colour scheme, line drawn illustrations

S. L. Klassen writes, attends Mennonite functions, and drinks cocktails in Toronto, Ontario. She has a PhD in history and a lifetime of experience with Mennonites. In 2013, she began a Mennonite humour and cocktail blog called The Drunken Mennonite. It has all been downhill ever since.

Michael Hepher is an illustrator, printmaker, and oil painter. A versatile artist in many mediums, Michael has to his credit a wide variety of exhibitions, public art projects, and commissions. He lives and works in Fernie, BC, where he operates Clawhammer Press.

Media + Publicity:

  • Print features, excerpts, and review coverage in PostMedia (National Post, Edmonton Journal, Calgary Herald, Windsor Star, Saskatoon StarPhoenix, Regina Leader-Post), Food and Drink, WestJet Magazine, Imbibe Magazine, Poured Magazine, Winnipeg Free Press, Journal for Mennonite Writing, Conrad Grebel Review, Canadian Mennonite, KW Record
  • Broadcast interviews and coverage on CTV Your Morning (national), Global The Morning Show (national), CTV The Social, Cityline, Eat North Variety Pack, CBC Kitchener-Waterloo, CBC Manitoba, CBC Saskatchewan, KMUW (Wichita, KS)
  • Outreach to bloggers and podcasts: The Daily Bonnet, Just Plain Wrong, Mennotoba blog
  • Social Media Strategy for all channels (IG, FB, Twitter):
    • Pre-pub: Cover and Artwork reveal on The Drunken Menno and TWE, one month announcement, one week announcement
    • Upon pub: Announcement post, Giveaway in conjunction with Mennonite Heritage Week, recipe excerpt with image and method x3, FB/IG Live cocktail making workshop
  • Fostering word-of-mouth with Facebook advertisements directed towards Mennonite communities
  • Direct marketing to author’s Mennonite community and family connections in Ontario and Manitoba
  • Giveaway and promotion via social media and 49th Shelf
  • Releasing to coincide with Mennonite Heritage Week, Sept 6-10, 2021

Marketing + Promo:

  • National, regional, and subject-specific print features, excerpts, review coverage, broadcast and television interviews
  • Social media campaigns, blogger outreach, digital collateral for online use
  • Publicity and promotion in conjunction with author's speaking engagements
  • Outreach to subject-specific organizations, markets and festivals
  • Excerpts available
  • Electronic blads

Marketing + Promo Deliverables:

  • Electronic Galley
  • Press release
  • Poster
  • Post cards
  • Social media images / banners

BISAC Codes:

  • CKB006000 | COOKING / Beverages / Alcoholic / Bartending and Cocktails
  • CKB130000 | COOKING / Beverages / Alcoholic / Spirits
  • REL043000 | RELIGION / Christianity / Mennonite

BISAC Regional Themes:

  • 4.0.0.0.0.0.0 North America
  • 4.0.2.1.0.0.0 Prairies

BISAC Merchandising Themes:

  • EV050 | EVENT / Birthday
  • EV080 | EVENT / Graduation
  • EV100 | EVENT / Wedding
  • HL010 | HOLIDAY / Christmas
  • HL180 | HOLIDAY / Valentine's Day
  • TP054 | TOPICAL / Gift


For more information contact
[email protected]

"As a good Mennonite, I cannot publicly admit to tasting these cocktail recipes myself, but I fully acknowledge this work as a delightful collection that is a pleasure to read. S. L. Klassen has given us the Alice B. Toklas Cook Book of the Mennonite world." —Andrew Unger, author of The Daily Bonnet and Once Removed

of 6

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.