has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2021 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 14, 2021 On Sale Date: Oct 05, 2021 Carton Quantity: 36 $24.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 14, 2021 On Sale Date: Oct 05, 2021 Carton Quantity: 36 $19.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Klondikers
Dawson City’s Stanley Cup Challenge and How a Nation Fell in Love with Hockey
By (author): Tim Falconer

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770416079

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General/trade
Oct 05, 2021
$24.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 0.85 in | 1.05 lb

Page Count:

376 pages
ECW Press
SPORTS & RECREATION / Winter Sports / Hockey
Biography: sport|History of sport|Ice hockey|Canada
Yukon Territory
  • Short Description
A Dawson City hockey team’s audacious journey to Ottawa to play for the Stanley Cup in 1905 captivated the country — and showed how quickly hockey had become the national pastime.

For readers of The Boys in the Boat and Against All Odds

Join a ragtag group of misfits from Dawson City as they scrap to become the 1905 Stanley Cup champions and cement hockey as Canada’s national pastime

An underdog hockey team traveled for three and a half weeks from Dawson City to Ottawa to play for the Stanley Cup in 1905. The Klondikers’ eagerness to make the journey, and the public’s enthusiastic response, revealed just how deeply, and how quickly, Canadians had fallen in love with hockey.

After Governor General Stanley donated a championship trophy in 1893, new rinks appeared in big cities and small towns, leading to more players, teams, and leagues. And more fans. When Montreal challenged Winnipeg for the Cup in December 1896, supporters in both cities followed the play-by-play via telegraph updates.

As the country escaped the Victorian era and entered a promising new century, a different nation was emerging. Canadians fell for hockey amid industrialization, urbanization, and shifting social and cultural attitudes. Class and race-based British ideals of amateurism attempted to fend off a more egalitarian professionalism.

Ottawa star Weldy Young moved to the Yukon in 1899, and within a year was talking about a Cup challenge. With the help of Klondike businessman Joe Boyle, it finally happened six years later. Ottawa pounded the exhausted visitors, with “One-Eyed” Frank McGee scoring an astonishing 14 goals in one game. But there was no doubt hockey was now the national pastime.

Sales and Market Bullets



  • Falconer’s Bad Singer was a finalist for the Lane Anderson Award for the best Canadian science writing and named a Globe and Mail Top 100 Book of 2016.

  • For historical sports buffs and those who enjoyed the Netflix series The English Game, about the origins of modern football in England.

  • History buffs and readers of books such as The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown, Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand, and Stephen Harper’s A Great Game will love the historical narrative of the beginnings of hockey as an integral part of Canadian identity.


Audience



  • Hockey fans

  • Canadian history buffs

  • Gift buyers

  • Crossover with people who collect hockey cards and memorabilia

  • Readers of The Boys in the Boat and Putting a Roof on Winter

  • Fans of The English Game or A League of Their Own


Tim Falconer is the author of Bad Singer: The Surprising Science of Tone Deafness and How We Hear Music, which made the Globe and Mail’s Top 100 list. A former writer-in-residence at Berton House in Dawson City, he returns to the Yukon as often as he can from his home in Toronto, Ontario.

“Meticulously researched and endlessly fascinating, Klondikers offers a remarkable portrait of the often-overlooked story of hockey’s beginnings in Canada’s North. Falconer has done it again.” — James Mirtle, editor-in-chief, The Athletic Canada

“Somewhere between John Huston and Michael Lewis, this frontier romp through hockey’s earliest days is a delight. We are defined in part by the games they play, which means Tim Falconer is teaching us our own history. If that subject had been this much fun at school, I’d have paid more attention.” — Cathal Kelly, columnist, The Globe and Mail

“His glittering pages are full of such evocative phrases as ‘frozen flapjack for lunch,’ ‘claim-staking’ and ‘perilous journey on ice’ … More than the chronicle of hockey’s early days. It also is the story of how a sometimes rough, occasionally elegant and always engrossing sport completely in sync with the climate and landscape — and here the sophisticates will snicker, the historians will hurruph, the revisionists will rebel — ‘brought Canadians together through a shared love.’” — Globe and Mail

of 35

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.