Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2021 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Sep 14, 2021 On Sale Date:Oct 05, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $24.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Sep 14, 2021 On Sale Date:Oct 05, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $19.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Klondikers
Dawson City’s Stanley Cup Challenge and How a Nation Fell in Love with Hockey
By (author): Tim Falconer
9781770416079 Paperback, Trade English General Trade SPORTS & RECREATION / Hockey Yukon Territory Oct 05, 2021
$24.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.5 x 8.5 in 356 pages 16 16 photographs, colour ECW Press

Join a ragtag group of misfits from Dawson City as they scrap to become the 1905 Stanley Cup champions and cement hockey as Canada’s national pastime

An underdog hockey team traveled for three and a half weeks from Dawson City to Ottawa to play for the Stanley Cup in 1905. The Klondikers’ eagerness to make the journey, and the public’s enthusiastic response, revealed just how deeply, and how quickly, Canadians had fallen in love with hockey.

After Governor General Stanley donated a championship trophy in 1893, new rinks appeared in big cities and small towns, leading to more players, teams, and leagues. And more fans. When Montreal challenged Winnipeg for the Cup in December 1896, supporters in both cities followed the play-by-play via telegraph updates.

As the country escaped the Victorian era and entered a promising new century, a different nation was emerging. Canadians fell for hockey amid industrialization, urbanization, and shifting social and cultural attitudes. Class and race-based British ideals of amateurism attempted to fend off a more egalitarian professionalism.

Ottawa star Weldy Young moved to the Yukon in 1899, and within a year was talking about a Cup challenge. With the help of Klondike businessman Joe Boyle, it finally happened six years later. Ottawa pounded the exhausted visitors, with “One-Eyed” Frank McGee scoring an astonishing 14 goals in one game. But there was no doubt hockey was now the national pastime.

Short Description


A Dawson City hockey team’s audacious journey to Ottawa to play for the Stanley Cup in 1905 captivated the country — and showed how quickly hockey had become the national pastime.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • Falconer’s Bad Singer was a finalist for the Lane Anderson Award for the best Canadian science writing and named a Globe and Mail Top 100 Book of 2016.

  • For historical sports buffs and those who enjoyed the Netflix series The English Game, about the origins of modern football in England.

  • History buffs and readers of books such as The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown, Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand, and Stephen Harper’s A Great Game will love the historical narrative of the beginnings of hockey as an integral part of Canadian identity.


Audience



  • Hockey fans

  • Canadian history buffs

  • Gift buyers

  • Crossover with people who collect hockey cards and memorabilia

  • Readers of The Boys in the Boat and Putting a Roof on Winter

  • Fans of The English Game or A League of Their Own


Tim Falconer is the author of Bad Singer: The Surprising Science of Tone Deafness and How We Hear Music, which made the Globe and Mail’s Top 100 list. A former writer-in-residence at Berton House in Dawson City, he returns to the Yukon as often as he can from his home in Toronto, Ontario.

of 31

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.