Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2021 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Aug 31, 2021 On Sale Date:Sep 21, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $28.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Aug 31, 2021 On Sale Date:Sep 21, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $22.95 USD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Turnaround Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Aug 31, 2021 On Sale Date:Sep 21, 2021 Carton Quantity:1
  • Catalogues

Field Study
Meditations on a Year at the Herbarium
By (author): Helen Humphreys
9781770415348 Hardcover, Laminated cover English General Trade NATURE / Plants / General Golden Horseshoe Sep 21, 2021
$28.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.25 x 7 in 208 pages 60 full color illustrations and photographs throughout ECW Press

Award-winning and beloved author Helen Humphreys discovers her local herbarium and realizes we need to look for beauty in whatever nature we have left — no matter how diminished

Award-winning poet and novelist Helen Humphreys returns to her series of nature meditations in this gorgeously written and illustrated book that takes a deep look at the forgotten world of herbariums and the people who amassed collections of plant specimens in the 19th and 20th centuries. From Emily Dickinson’s and Henry David Thoreau’s collections to the amateur naturalists whose names are forgotten but whose collections still grace our world, herbariums are the records of the often-humble plants that are still with us and those that are lost. Over the course of a year, Humphreys considers life and loss and the importance of finding solace in nature.

Illustrated throughout with images of herbarium specimens, Humphreys’s own botanical drawings, and archival photographs, this will be the perfect gift for Humphreys’s many fans, nature enthusiasts, and for all who loved Birds Art Life.

Short Description


In Field Study, award-winning author Helen Humphreys returns to her brilliant illustrated meditations, this time to delve into the lost world of herbarium collections to examine where and how we look to find the solace of nature in a declining natural world.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • At a time when the scientific establishment was not open to women, botany allowed Victorian women to enter through the permissible backdoor of art. Long before she wrote poetry, Emily Dickinson gathered, grew, classified, and pressed flowers. Field Study includes images from her personal collection.

  • Each photograph has a listing of who dried/pressed it, when, where, and why. Each one acts as a snapshot of what nature was like at that moment in time.

  • A beautiful gift book for those who find solace in nature and for those who loved Kyo Maclear’s Birds Art Life or Elizabeth Gilbert’s The Signature of All Things.

  • Perfect for readers of The Dictionary of Lost Words (Pip Williams)


Audience



  • Nature lovers and botanists

  • Readers of Birds, Art, Life by Kyo Maclear

  • Fans of Emily Dickinson and Henry David Thoreau

  • Readers of Helen Humphreys’s previous work, particularly The River and The Frozen Thames

  • Gift buyers for Mother’s Day and Christmas

Helen Humphreys is the author of 19 works of fiction, non-fiction, and poetry, including Rabbit Foot Bill and The Frozen Thames. She has won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, a Lambda Literary Award for Fiction, and the Toronto Book Award, and has been shortlisted for the Governor General’s Award, the Trillium Book Award, and CBC’s Canada Reads. She is the recipient of the Harbourfront Festival Prize for literary excellence. Humphreys lives in Kingston, Ontario.

of 31

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.