Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2021 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Sep 21, 2021 On Sale Date:Oct 12, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $23.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Sep 21, 2021 On Sale Date:Oct 12, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $18.95 USD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Turnaround Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Sep 21, 2021 On Sale Date:Oct 12, 2021 Carton Quantity:1
  • Catalogues

The Light Streamed Beneath It
A Memoir of Grief and Celebration
By (author): Shawn Hitchins
9781770415614 Paperback, Flaps English General Trade BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / LGBT Toronto Oct 12, 2021
$23.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.25 x 8.25 in 240 pages ECW Press

For readers of Suleika Jaouad’s Between Two Kingdoms

A modern gay memoir exploring love, death, pain, and community that will resonate long after the last page.

A lifetime of finding punchlines in his heartache comes to a shuddering stop when comedian and writer Shawn Hitchins loses two great loves, five months apart, to sudden death. In this deeply poignant memoir that combines sober self-portrait with tender elegy, Hitchins explores the messiness of being alive: the longing and desire, scorching-earth anger, raw grief — and the pathway of healing he discovers when he lets his heart remain open.

Never without an edge of self-awareness, The Light Streamed Beneath It invites the reader into Hitchins’s world as he reckons with his past and stays painfully in the present. As he builds an embodied future, he confronts the stories that have shaped him, sets aside his ambition, and seeks connection in what he used to deflect with laughter — therapy, community and chosen family, movement, spirituality, and an awareness of death’s ever-presence.

A heartrending and hope-filled story of resilience in the wake of death, The Light Streamed Beneath It joyfully affirms that life is essentially good, as Hitchins weaves his tale full of tenacious spirit, humor, kindness, and grit through life’s most unforgiving challenges.

Short Description


Award-winning comedian Shawn Hitchins takes readers into a year of unthinkable loss in this memoir that explores grief, love, sex, community, and the beautiful absurdity of being alive.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • Vividly portrays and celebrates love and sexuality, as well as explores trauma and modes of healing from a queer perspective.

  • A cultural cousin to a Hannah Gadsby Netflix special, the On Being podcast, and Eat Pray Love (minus the travel budget).

  • In the wake of the pandemic, this is a timely exploration of sudden death, grieving, and how to move through pain.

  • Much of the book takes place in California, and Shawn is in the process of relocating to the Los Angeles area

  • Best known for sparking the global wave of Ginger Pride by marching hundreds of redheads through the streets of Edinburgh, Shawn Hitchins is an award-winning entertainer and author who has toured throughout Canada, the U.S., and the U.K. He’s been featured in the BBC World Service, The Gay Times UK, and profiled in The Guardian.



Audience



  • Fans of Hannah Gadsby

  • Readers of How to Lose Everything, In the Dream House, and On Being

  • Members of the LGBTQ+ community

  • Readers of personal and grief memoirs


Shawn Hitchins is the author of A Brief History of Oversharing (ECW, 2017). His one-man show Ginger Nation toured extensively before being filmed in concert. Hitchins is an award-winning entertainer, writer, personality, and creator of live performance. Based in Toronto, Ontario, he splits himself between Eastern and Pacific time zones.

of 31

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.