Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2021 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Aug 17, 2021 On Sale Date:Sep 07, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $22.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Aug 17, 2021 On Sale Date:Sep 07, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $17.95 USD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Turnaround Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Aug 17, 2021 On Sale Date:Sep 07, 2021 Carton Quantity:1
  • Catalogues

Pull Focus
A Novel
By (author): Helen Walsh
9781770415799 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Literary Toronto Sep 07, 2021
$22.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.5 x 8.5 in 304 pages ECW Press

When Jane’s partner goes missing she needs to find out if he’s in danger while also contending with the politics of a large international film festival: Hollywood power brokers, Russian oil speculators, Chinese propagandists, and a board chair who seemingly has it out for her.

Jane has been appointed interim director of the Worldwide Toronto Film Festival after her boss has been removed for sexual harassment. Knives are out all around her, as factions within the community want to see her fail. At the same time, her partner, a fund manager, has disappeared, and strange women appear, uttering threats about misused funds. Yet the show must go on. As Jane struggles to juggle all the balls she’s been handed and survive in one piece, she discovers unlikely allies and finds that she’s stronger than she thinks.

Short Description


Jane’s partner goes missing just as she’s promoted to Director of Worldwide Toronto Film Festival. Now, not only does she need to find out if he’s in danger, but she must contend with festival politics: Hollywood power brokers, Russian oil speculators, Chinese propagandists, and a board chair who seemingly has it out for her.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • A feminist thriller with a great setting

  • The themes in Pull Focus are ripped from the headlines — the #MeToo movement, sexual harassment in the workplace, gender equality, censorship in art, and white-collar crime. It is a razor-sharp appraisal of our times.

  • Perfect for readers of Zone Zero and other literary thrillers with art and culture at its center, and showbiz-centered black comedies like Get Shorty.


Audience



  • Book clubbers

  • Female, 25+

  • Readers of The Cut, tapped into current political environment

  • Cinephiles

  • Readers of Zero Zone by Scott O’Connor


Helen Walsh is the founder and president of Diaspora Dialogues, Canada's premier literary mentoring organization. Formerly the publisher of the Literary Review of Canada and a founding director of Spur, a national festival of politics, arts, and ideas, Walsh spent five years working as a film/digital media producer in L.A. and New York. She lives in Toronto, Ontario.

“With bated breath, I fell deeper and deeper into the complex and intricate mystery so artfully created by Helen Walsh. Jane’s world felt both familiar and unlike one I’d ever seen before. Pull Focus is like a shot of adrenaline … with every page, you keep wanting more.” — Deepa Mehta, film writer and director

of 31

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.