Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2021 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Sep 14, 2021 On Sale Date:Oct 05, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $24.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Sep 14, 2021 On Sale Date:Oct 05, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $19.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Cracked Pots
A Novel
By (author): Heather Tucker
9781770415997 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Literary Oct 05, 2021
$24.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.5 x 8.5 in 400 pages ECW Press a misFit book

Natasha, the perfect girl, from the nicest family, has vanished … For once in Ari Appleton’s life, this mayhem is not the fault of her twisted mother or dead father — or is it?

“Tucker’s triumphant debut novel is the story of a childhood lost, a family found, and a coming-of-age, recounted in precise and poetic language … It is at times difficult to read, but this novel is worth every moment of pain and every tear.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“It is the voice of the characters, the kindness of strangers, and the ingenuity and determination of our protagonist against terrible forces that make this story sing.” — San Francisco Chronicle

“[An] unbelievably accomplished first novel.” — NOW Magazine

American Booksellers Association Indie Next List Pick
Shortlisted for the 2017 Kobo Emerging Writer Prize
Shortlisted for the 2017 Atlantic Book Awards

From the waning flower-power ’60s in Toronto, through her East Coast university years, Ari fights to discover who she is and what it means to be the child of an addicted mother and depraved father. With wit, tenacity, and the incessant meddling of Jasper — the seahorse in her head — Ari rides turbulent waves of devilry and discovery, calamity and creation, abandonment and atonement on a journey to find her true self, and to find Natasha.

Cracked Pots is a story about a girl broken by both cruelty and truth. It is a revelation: that destiny is shaped in clay, not stone. It is also a celebration: of rising after the blows, gathering the fragments, and piecing together a remarkable life through creativity, kindness, and belonging.

Short Description


The perfect girl, from the nicest family, vanishes. For once in Ari Appleton’s life, the mayhem is not the fault of her twisted mother or dead father — or is it? The tragedy unfolds, revelations surface, then one misstep cracks everything open, leaving 16-year-old Ari with terrifying questions. Are Appletons the root of all evil?


Sales and Market Bullets



  • For readers of Kristin Hannah and Barbara Kingsolver.

  • Heather Tucker’s debut, The Clay Girl, was an Indie Next List pick in 2016 and received lots of love from independent booksellers across North America.

  • “Tucker’s triumphant debut novel is the story of a childhood lost, a family found, and a coming-of-age, recounted in precise and poetic language … It is at times difficult to read, but this novel is worth every moment of pain and every tear.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review of The Clay Girl

  • “This novel is full of those take-away-your-breath lines, the ones you want to write down and keep in your pocket for when you need them. Ari joins the ranks of heroines who take the worst society has to offer and turn it into strength and kindness.” — Linda Sherman-Nurick, Cellar Door Bookstore (Riverside, CA) on The Clay Girl


Audience



  • Book clubbers

  • Readers and fans of The Clay Girl

  • Readers of All My Puny Sorrows, The Girl Who Was Saturday Night, Where the Crawdads Sing

  • Readers of Kristin Hannah and Barbara Kingsolver

  • Upmarket commercial fiction readers

  • Women, 30+


Throughout an eclectic career in community health, Heather Tucker gathered stories, now used as threads for spinning award-winning yarns. Her highly acclaimed debut novel, The Clay Girl, was an ABA Indie pick and a finalist for the Kobo Emerging Author and the Atlantic Book Awards. Heather lives in Ajax, Ontario.

of 31

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.