Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2021 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Oct 12, 2021 On Sale Date:Nov 02, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $19.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Oct 12, 2021 On Sale Date:Nov 02, 2021 Carton Quantity:1 $15.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Under an Outlaw Moon
A Novel
By (author): Dietrich Kalteis
9781770415478 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Crime North Central & Midwest States Nov 02, 2021
$19.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5 x 7.75 in 224 pages ECW Press

Meet Depression-era newlyweds Bennie and Stella. He’s reckless, she’s naive. Longing for freedom from tough times, they rob a bank, setting off a series of events that quickly spin out of their control

Under an Outlaw Moon is based on the true story of Depression-era bank robbers Bennie and Stella Mae Dickson. She’s a teenage outsider longing to fit in. He’s a few years older and he’s trouble. They meet at a local skating rink and the sparks fly.

They marry and Stella dreams of a nice house with a swing out back, while Bennie figures out how to get enough money to make it happen. Setting his sights on the good life, he decides to rob a bank. Talking Stella into it, he lays out his plan and teaches her to shoot. The newlyweds celebrate her 16th birthday by robbing a local bank.

They pull it off, but the score is small, and Bennie realizes the money won’t last long, so he plans a bigger robbery. What lays ahead is more than either of them bargained for. After J. Edgar Hoover finds out they crossed state lines, he declares them public enemies number one and two — wanted dead or alive. So much for the good life. The manhunt is on, and there’s little room for them to run.

Short Description


Meet Depression-era newlyweds Bennie and Stella. He’s reckless, she’s naive. Longing for freedom from tough times, they rob a bank. Soon they top the FBI’s “Most Wanted” list. So much for the good life.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • Under an Outlaw Moon is inspired by the true story of Ben and Stella, who found themselves on the FBI’s Public Enemies list in 1938. They were a compelling Depression-era story of how the FBI recast petty criminals as dangerous criminal masterminds in order to service the public image of the FBI.

  • “If you like your crime hard and fast, Kalteis is for you.” — Globe and Mail on Triggerfish

  • A fun caper novel that is entertaining all the way through.

  • Perfect for readers of Dennis Lehane and Elmore Leonard.


Audience



  • Traditional crime fiction readers

  • Fans of author’s previous works

  • Fans of Baby Driver

  • Historical fiction readers

  • People fascinated by historical crimes like Bonnie and Clyde and the Lindbergh Baby

  • Fans of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane

Dietrich Kalteis is an award-winning author. His debut, Ride the Lightning, was hailed as one of the best Vancouver crime novels. He lives on Canada’s west coast, in Vancouver, British Columbia, and spends as much time as possible in California.

of 31

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.