has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Orca Muslim-Interest through March 2023

more
Audacious
By (author): Gabrielle Prendergast
Gabrielle Prendergast

Imprint:

Orca Book Publishers - Victoria

ISBN:

9781459802643

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade, Adhesive bound, Laminated cover
Paperback , Trade, Adhesive bound, Laminated cover
English

Audience:

Young Adult : Age (years) 12, Grade (CAN) 8 - 12, Grade (US) 8 - 12, Reading age 12
Apr 01, 2015
$12.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.25in x 5.5 x 0.75 in | 380 gr

Page Count:

336 pages
Orca Book Publishers
YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Novels in Verse
Children’s / Teenage fiction: Stories in verse|Narrative theme: Identity / belonging|Children’s / Teenage fiction: General, modern and contemporary fiction|Children’s / Teenage personal and social topics: Families and family members|Children’s / Teenage personal and social topics: First / new experiences and growing up / coming of age|Interest age: from c 12 years|Relating to adolescence / teenage years
North America
jC813/.6 23
 
CCBC Best Books 2014, Commended CLA YA Book Award nominee 2013, Short-listed Resource Links "The Year's Best" 2013, Commended Westchester Fiction Award Winners list 2014, Commended White Pine Award nominee 2014, Short-listed
  • Short Description
Raphaelle's involvement with a Muslim boy is only slightly less controversial than her contribution to a student art show.
Self-portrait of the artist as a teenage girl.

Sixteen-year-old Raphaelle says the wrong thing, antagonizes the wrong people and has the wrong attitude.

She can't do anything right except draw, but she draws the wrong pictures. When her father moves the family to a small prairie city, Raphaelle wants to make a new start. Reborn as "Ella," she tries to fit in at her new school. She's drawn to Samir, a Muslim boy in her art class, and expresses her confused feelings in explicit art. When a classmate texts a photo of Ella's art to a younger friend, the fallout spreads throughout Ella's life, threatening to destroy her already-fragile family. Told entirely in verse, Audacious is a brave, funny and hard-hitting portrait of a girl who embodies the word audacity.

Gabrielle Prendergast is an award-winning writer, teacher and designer. She has written many books for young people including the Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize winner, Zero Repeat Forever and the Westchester Award winner, Audacious. She lives in Vancouver with her family.

"[An] action-packed coming-of-age tale fraught with familial and societal dysfunction...Prendergast offers great insight into teen psychology—especially that of the outcast—and boldly probes sensitive topics like religious prejudice, sex, censorship and eating disorders. A provocatively modern test of understanding difference." - Kirkus Reviews

"The verses flow well and readers will connect with Raphaelle and her desire to reinvent herself. Fans of Ellen Hopkins are sure to like this book." - Library Media Connection

"The novel contains multiple, adeptly intertwined plotlines that touch upon an extensive range of issues...A wonderfully fast-paced novel that mature teens are sure to embrace." - School Library Journal

“Fans of Ellen Hopkins and Sonya Sones’s novels in verse will delight in Prendergast’s rich, riveting story, first in a planned duo...Prendergast demonstrates a powerful understanding of the adolescent search for identity, and her writing uses the verse format to great effect, with an honest teenage voice, a willingness to play with poetic form, and an intensity that arises through the condensed language.” - Publishers Weekly

"In deft, layered verse, Prendergast chronicles her heroine’s desperate search for a positive identity. Young love, religion, politics, prejudice, and the meaning of art in society all factor into Raphaelle’s acceptance of herself and her family in all its complexities. Many readers will recognize both her tendencies toward self-sabotage and her growing belief in herself, and they will likely want continue this journey in the planned sequel, Capricious." - Booklist

"In deft, layered verse, Prendergast chronicles her heroine’s desperate search for a positive identity. Young love, religion, politics, prejudice, and the meaning of art in society all factor into Raphaelle’s acceptance of herself and her family in all its complexities. Many readers will recognize both her tendencies toward self-sabotage and her growing belief in herself, and they will likely want continue this journey in the planned sequel, Capricious." - VOYA

★ "Prendergast's sophomore YA novel is aptly named, both for the fierce spirit of its narrator, Ella, and the choice to tell her story entirely in verse...The verse bolsters character...[and] also allows Prendergast to take a jagged, piecemeal approach to telling Ella's story, a sort of diary structure that feels intimate and believable...The refusal to stick to one particular style, form, or rhyme scheme is an apt reflection of Ella's tumultuous teenage state...Prendergast asks concrete questions about faith, art, and politics that are sometimes avoided in YA...In Ella, Prendergast has created a voice that is definitely audacious—but also utterly real and memorable." - Quill & Quire, starred review

"This stunning, potent novel-in-verse delivers a riveting story and a character who is independent yet unsure, brave yet vulnerable, and so utterly true to herself. Readers will revel in every carefully chosen word and image. Prendergast has created a magnificent portrait of high school life, of first love, of a family in crisis. She raises challenging, intriguing questions about religion, women in society, art and self-expression. She takes on so many things in this book and yet the reader never feels overwhelmed, it never once feels like too much. The poetry format is used to brilliant effect, compelling readers to slow down and savour each exquisitely crafted poem, and to enter more deeply into Ella’s mind and heart." - Canadian Children's Book News

"Prendergast has written a stunning young adult novel which shows the coming-of-age process of a strong and independent young woman who wants to express herself through her art... Audacious is written entirely in verse, but readers will hardly notice this fact after the first few pages. Somehow, the author manages to create fully formed characters, interesting dialogue and a series of events which tell a complete story while using a minimum of words. Prendergast says enough that readers have a clear sense of plot, setting and characters, and yet readers are able to fill in any blanks with their own imagination—a perfect combination!" - CM Magazine

"Smart, funny, clever and bold. Ella is a quirky, appealing character with a complicated back story and realistic, identifiable problems...Explores important, highly topical themes in an intelligent way." - Resource Links

of 11

Also Available

Like a Hurricane Jonathan Bécotte 9781459835238 $12.95 CAD Feb 14, 2023
Union Sara Cassidy 9781459834477 $12.95 CAD Sep 13, 2022
The Overwood Gabrielle Prendergast 9781459831964 $10.95 CAD Feb 15, 2022
The Wherewood Gabrielle Prendergast 9781459828049 $10.95 CAD Aug 17, 2021
The Crosswood Gabrielle Prendergast 9781459826625 $10.95 CAD Jan 19, 2021
Pinch Me Gabrielle Prendergast 9781459813649 $9.95 CAD Mar 28, 2017
Capricious Gabrielle Prendergast 9781459814288 $14.95 CAD Feb 07, 2017
Pandas on the Eastside Gabrielle Prendergast 9781459811430 $10.95 CAD Oct 04, 2016
The Frail Days Gabrielle Prendergast 9781459804647 $9.95 CAD Apr 01, 2015

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.