has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

July 2021 Biography & Autobiography

more
  • Other Formats

    9781839763267 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PR UM US VI Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UY UZ VA VC VE VG VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Available On Sale Date:Jul 27, 2021 Carton Quantity:12 $45.95 CAD
    $34.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Going to My Father's House
A History of My Times
By (author): Patrick Joyce
9781839763243 Hardcover English General/trade Jul 27, 2021
$45.95 CAD
Active 6.36 x 9.5 x 1.08 in | 1.2 lb 368 pages Verso Books Verso
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Political
A historian’s personal journey into the complex questions of immigration, home and nation

From Ireland to London in the 1950s, Derry in the Troubles to contemporary, de-industrialised Manchester, Joyce finds the ties of place, family and the past are difficult to break. Why do certain places continue to haunt us? What does it mean to be British after the suffering of Empire and of war? How do we make our home in a hypermobile world without remembering our pasts?

Patrick Joyce’s parents moved from Ireland in the 1930s and made their home in west London. But they never really left the homeland. And so as he grew up among the streets of Paddington and Notting Hill and when he visited his family in Ireland he felt a tension between the notions of home, nation and belonging. Going to My Father’s House charts the historian’s attempt to make sense of these ties and to see how they manifest in a globalised world. He explores the places - the house, the street, the walls and the graves - that formed his own identity. He ask what place the ideas of history, heritage and nostalgia have in creating a sense of our selves. He concludes with a plea for a history that holds the past to account but also allows for dynamic, inclusive change.

For readers of David Edgerton, David Reynolds, Robert Tombs

An critical contribution to the debate on Britishness - post-Empire, post-Brexit

Exploration of the rise and fall of the London Irish immigrant experience

Author is a highly respected historian of national culture, and the future of Britain

Patrick Joyce is Emeritus Professor of History, University of Manchester. He is a leading British social historian and has written and edited numerous books of social and political history, including The Rule of Freedom (2003), Material Powers (2010) and The State of Freedom (2013).

Author Residence: Manchester, UK

Author Hometown: UK

Marketing: Academic marketing campaign

Library marketing campaign

Digital marketing campaign

Publicity: Reviews like literary outlets like NYRB and Bookforum

Interviews in lefty online outlets

Excerpts in lefty and literary outlets

“an immensely readable, thoroighly enjoyable book … Hegel would have admired the way Joyce lets a sharply individualised life distil a whole socal history.”
—Terry Eagleton, author of Why Marx was Right

of 124

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.