has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

July 2021 Biography & Autobiography

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AN AO AR AS AT AU AW AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BM BN BO BR BS BT BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SK SL SM SN SO SR ST SV SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail (CA US)

    Distributor: HarperCollins Publishers Supplies to:CA US Availability: Not yet available Excluding:Feb 26, 2022 On Sale Date:Mar 08, 2022 Carton Quantity:40 $19.99 CAD
    $17.99 USD
  • Supply Detail (AD AE AF...)

    Distributor: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Supplies to:AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AN AO AR AS AT AW AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BM BN BO BR BS BT BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SK SL SM SN SO SR ST SV SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZM ZW Availability: In stock
  • Catalogues

A Place for Everything
By (author): Anna Wilson
9780008342555 Paperback , B-format English General/trade Jul 22, 2021
$19.99 CAD
Active 129 x 198 mm | 340 gr 384 pages HarperCollins Publishers HQ
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / People with Disabilities
Memoirs

As featured in Daily Mail and BBC Woman's Hour.



‘Painful, raw and with an honesty that rings clear as a bell’ Catherine Simpson, author of When I Had a Little Sister

A searing account of a mother’s late-diagnosis of autism – and its reaching effects on a whole family.

‘[A] vividly told and profoundly affecting memoir’ The Bookseller

‘A brilliant, searing account and I defy anyone not to be gripped by it.’ Sally Magnusson

Anna grew up in a house that was loving, even if her mum was ‘a little eccentric’. They knew to keep things clean, to stay quiet, and to look the other way when things started to get ‘a bit much for your mum’.

It’s only when her mother reaches her 70s, and Anna has a family of her own, that the cracks really start to appear. More manic. More irrational. More detached from the world. And when her father, the man who has calmed and cajoled her mother through her entire life becomes unwell, the whole world turns upside down.

This is a story of a life lived with undiagnosed autism, about the person behind the disorder, those big unspoken family truths, and what it means to care for our parents in their final years.

‘Painful, raw and with an honesty that rings clear as a bell’ Catherine Simpson, author of When I Had a Little Sister

A searing account of a mother’s late-diagnosis of autism – and its reaching effects on a whole family.

Anna grew up in a house that was loving, even if her mum was ‘a little eccentric’. They knew to keep things clean, to stay quiet, and to look the other way when things started to get ‘a bit much for your mum’.

It’s only when her mother reaches her 70s, and Anna has a family of her own, that the cracks really start to appear. More manic. More irrational. More detached from the world. And when her father, the man who has calmed and cajoled her mother through her entire life is diagnosed with cancer, the whole world turns upside down.

This is a story of a life lived with undiagnosed Aspergers, about the person behind the disorder, those big unspoken family truths, and what it means to care for our parents in their final years.

  • Gold title

• Adult and female autism/Aspergers’ is a side of the story that’s so rarely told – though interest is gaining in the media.

• Anna has already been on Women’s Hour to speak about her mother’s late diagnosis of Aspergers, and the ‘lost generation’ of women who were just categorized as ‘different’.

• Anna Wilson is a successful children’s author who found her passion for storytelling from an early age. She speaks really beautifully about how her love of stories stemmed from avoiding the reality of her difficult childhood – and how it’s changed how she thinks about her own children.

• In the vein of DADLAND and THE LIFE OF STUFF, this also deals with our rediscovery of our parents as adults when we start to care for them, and the challenges this brings.

Competition: The;Dadland;Life of Stuff;When I had a Little Sister;World I Fell Out Of;This is Going to Hurt;Boy Mole Fox Horse;How to fail;Educated;Becoming;Salt Path;Untamed. Keggie Carew;Susannah Walker;Catherine Simpson;Melanie Reed;Christie Watson;Adam Kay;Charlie Mackesy;Katherine May;Dolly Alderton

Anna Wilson read French and German at Cambridge University. She is a writer and went into a career in children’s publishing.

‘[A] vividly told and profoundly affecting memoir’ The Bookseller

‘A brilliant, searing account and I defy anyone not to be gripped by it.’ Sally Magnusson

'I read A Place for Everything with my heart in my mouth, gripped by this howl of anguish about loving someone you cannot help. This is both a love story and a horror story; an unforgettable account of a daughter going into battle to try to save her mother and father, and the toll it took. Painful, raw and with an honesty that rings clear as a bell. This is a beautiful book and an important one.' Catherine Simpson, author of When I Had a Little Sister

‘You don’t have to have a connection to autism to find much to – enjoy perhaps isn’t the right word – that you can relate to in this book because it’s largely about the business of caring for your elderly parents when you are a woman who might have a whole shedload of other responsibilities.’ Jane Garvey, Woman’s Hour.

‘The last decade of life is the new frontier for the diagnosis of autism – brought home to us in this captivating story.’ Professor Tony Attwood, clinical psychologist

‘A very moving read’ My Weekly

‘In this extraordinary memoir Anna tells the story of what it was like for her and her sister to be raised by a woman struggling with undiagnosed high-functioning autism. This is an important story filled with compassion, and one that I hope will be read by anyone who has endured a difficult relationship with either parent.’ Isabel Losada, author of The Joyful Environmentalist

‘[Anna]’s book is one of the best memoirs I've read in a long time. I loved it. It's raw, honest, gripping . . . and very moving. The book will be helpful for people who have family members with undiagnosed autism.’ James Cook, author of In Her Room – How Music Helped Me Connect with my Autistic Daughter

of 124

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.