has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

July 2021 Adult Top Picks

more
The Other Passenger
By (author): Louise Candlish
Louise Candlish

Imprint:

Simon & Schuster

ISBN:

9781982177546

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade, Flaps
Paperback , Trade, Flaps
English

Audience:

General Trade
Jul 20, 2021
$24.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

228.6 x 152.4 x 27.94 mm | 0.97 lb

Page Count:

400 pages
Simon & Schuster
FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
The “queen of the sucker-punch twist” (Ruth Ware, #1 New York Times bestselling author) and author of Our House weaves a suspenseful thriller about a commuter who becomes a suspect in his friend’s mysterious disappearance. Perfect for fans of the unputdownable page-turners by Christina McDonald and Lisa Jewell.

It all happens so quickly. One day you’re living the dream, commuting to work by ferry with your charismatic neighbor Kit in the seat beside you. The next, Kit hasn’t turned up for the boat and his wife, Melia, has reported him missing.

When you get off at your stop, the police are waiting. Another passenger saw you and Kit arguing on the boat home the night before and the police say that you had a reason to want him dead. You protest. You and Kit are friends—ask Melia, she’ll vouch for you. And who exactly is this other passenger pointing the finger? What do they know about your lives?

No, whatever danger followed you home last night, you are innocent, totally innocent.

Aren’t you?

Louise Candlish is the Sunday Times (London) bestselling author of fourteen novels. Our House, a #1 bestseller, won the Crime & Thriller Book of the Year at the 2019 British Book Awards, was longlisted for the 2019 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year, and was shortlisted for the Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award. It is now in development for a major TV series with Red Planet Pictures, producers of Death in Paradise. Louise lives in London with her husband and daughter. Visit her at LouiseCandlish.com or connect with her on Twitter @Louise_Candlish.

“Candlish is the queen of the sucker-punch twist.”
RUTH WARE, instant #1 bestselling author of One by One

“Just brilliant; gripping from the first page with an incredible first-person narrative and a sense of place that pulls you through the pages fast enough to make your head spin. Louise Candlish just gets better and better. I love her.”
LISA JEWELL, bestselling author of Invisible Girl

“A novel like a roulette wheel at full tilt: smooth, hypnotic, relentless, exciting—and ultimately, just as unpredictable. . . . Psychological suspense at its most elegant and sinister.”
A.J. FINN, bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

“What a stunner! Equal parts riveting, twisty, and unsettling. I constantly questioned which of these characters I could trust—the answer, to my delight, turned out to be none of them. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough!”
STEPHANIE WROBEL, bestselling author of Darling Rose Gold

“I’m a HUGE fan of Louise Candlish’s writing, but she really knocks it out of the park with this one, with its Hitchcockian atmosphere of mounting dread and almost unbearable suspense, building to its astonishing conclusion. . . . A must-read!”
LUCY FOLEY, author of The Guest List

“A smart, twisty thriller that explores how money can warp relationships and destroy lives. A compulsive read that builds to an unimaginable climax. I couldn’t put it down!”
SHARI LAPENA, author of Someone We Know

“Combines a tightly constructed, corkscrewing plot, a great sense of pace, and a sly critique of London’s corrosive but necessary obsession with money. Highly recommended.”
SARAH VAUGHAN, author of Little Disasters

“A stunning masterwork of style and suspense. . . . One of those novels that grabs us from the start, then keeps us up all night by brilliantly peeling back the layers of the story until we arrive—shockingly—at the truth. I can’t think of another novel in which the characters are so perfectly drawn.”
JEFFREY DEAVER, author of The Never Game

“A gripping read with a brilliant first-person narrative. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. It’s so good!”
B.A. PARIS, author of Behind Closed Doors

“This book stands apart for its expert pacing and plotting, and for its exploration of the complexity of financial disparities in relationships, friendships between generations, and the London housing crisis . . . . Sure to please readers looking for thrillers in the vein of Lisa Jewell and Aimee Molloy; a single-sitting page-turner with character and thematic depth.”
Library Journal (Starred Review)

“[An] ingenious psychological thriller . . . Has more bends and turns than the Thames River . . . Dalliances form, alliances abound, and deception is rampant. Candlish’s clever commuter horror offers enough stupefying chills to reward old fans and invite new ones.”
Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“Candlish never lets the tension slacken as deep discussions of income disparity, aging, love, and loss keep readers’ loyalties shifting between characters. . . .The villains in The Other Passenger are never held at arm’s length. We care, even as their ordinary lives turn monstrous.”
BookPage (Starred Review)

“Candlish’s writing is precise and vivid . . . The well-constructed plot is lightened with some snarky observational humour and swept along on a delicious undercurrent of schadenfreude. . . . It’s no surprise that this highly readable novel has already been optioned for a movie.”
Winnipeg Free Press

of 10

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.