has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

October 2021 Canadian Fiction

more
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: 730L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 14, 2021 On Sale Date: Oct 05, 2021 Carton Quantity: 28 $24.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 14, 2021 On Sale Date: Oct 05, 2021 Carton Quantity: 28 $19.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Cracked Pots
A Novel
By (author): Heather Tucker

ISBN:

9781770415997

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General/trade
Oct 05, 2021
$24.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 1.08 in | 1.32 lb

Page Count:

440 pages
ECW Press
a misFit book
FICTION / Literary
Fiction: general and literary|Narrative theme: Coming of age|Family life fiction
  • Short Description
A moving novel about the resilience of Ari Appleton who struggles to grow past the trauma of her upbringing while unraveling the mystery of a missing friend. With wit, tenacity, and meddling from Jasper — the seahorse in her head — she rides waves of calamity and creation, abandonment and atonement on a journey to find herself.

“It is the voice of the characters, the kindness of strangers, and the ingenuity and determination of our protagonist against terrible forces that make this story sing.” — San Francisco Chronicle on Tucker’s debut, The Clay Girl

From the author of the Indie Next List pick The Clay Girl comes a deeply moving novel about the resilience of a remarkable young woman unraveling the mystery of a missing friend while struggling to grow past the trauma of her calamitous upbringing.

From the waning flower-power ’60s in Toronto through her East Coast university years, Ari fights to discover who she is and what it means to be the child of an addicted mother and depraved father. When her friend Natasha, the perfect girl from the nicest family, suddenly vanishes, Ari sets out to find out what has happened to her — are her troubled parents to blame?

With wit, tenacity, and the incessant meddling of Jasper — the seahorse in her head — Ari rides turbulent waves of devilry and discovery, calamity and creation, abandonment and atonement on a journey to find her true self, and to find Natasha.

Cracked Pots is a story about a girl broken by both cruelty and truth. It is a revelation that destiny is shaped in clay, not stone. It is also a celebration of rising after the blows, gathering the fragments, and piecing together a remarkable life through creativity, kindness, and belonging.

Sales and Market Bullets



  • For readers of Kristin Hannah and Barbara Kingsolver.

  • Heather Tucker’s debut, The Clay Girl, was an Indie Next List pick in 2016 and received lots of love from independent booksellers across North America.

  • “Tucker’s triumphant debut novel is the story of a childhood lost, a family found, and a coming-of-age, recounted in precise and poetic language … It is at times difficult to read, but this novel is worth every moment of pain and every tear.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review of The Clay Girl

  • “This novel is full of those take-away-your-breath lines, the ones you want to write down and keep in your pocket for when you need them. Ari joins the ranks of heroines who take the worst society has to offer and turn it into strength and kindness.” — Linda Sherman-Nurick, Cellar Door Bookstore (Riverside, CA) on The Clay Girl


Audience



  • Book clubbers

  • Readers and fans of The Clay Girl

  • Readers of All My Puny Sorrows, The Girl Who Was Saturday Night, Where the Crawdads Sing

  • Readers of Kristin Hannah and Barbara Kingsolver

  • Upmarket commercial fiction readers

  • Women, 30+


Throughout an eclectic career in community health, Heather Tucker gathered stories, now used as threads for spinning award-winning yarns. Her highly acclaimed debut novel, The Clay Girl, was an ABA Indie pick and a finalist for the Kobo Emerging Author and the Atlantic Book Awards. Heather lives in Ajax, Ontario.

of 54

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.