has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

October 2021 Canadian Fiction

more
  • Other Formats

    9781459743861 Electronic book text, EPUB, $6.99 CAD 9781459743854 Electronic book text, PDF, $19.99 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail (CA)

    Distributor: UTP Distribution Supplies to: CA Availability: Available On Sale Date: Oct 19, 2021 Carton Quantity: 28 $19.99 CAD
  • Supply Detail (GB US)

    Distributor: Ingram Publisher Services Supplies to: GB US Availability: Not yet available Expected Ship Date: Oct 25, 2021 On Sale Date: Nov 16, 2021 Carton Quantity: 28 $16.99 USD
    $13.99 GBP
  • Catalogues

The Devil to Pay
An Inspector Green Mystery
By (author): Barbara Fradkin

ISBN:

9781459743847

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General/trade
Oct 19, 2021
$19.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8in x 5 x 1 in | 330 gr

Page Count:

408 pages
Dundurn Press
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Crime and mystery: police procedural
Ontario
Impetuous, exasperating Ottawa Police Inspector Michael Green returns and unwittingly puts his daughter, a rookie patrol officer, in the line of fire.

Sidelined to administrative duties, Inspector Michael Green misses the thrill of the chase. So when his daughter Hannah, now a rookie patrol officer, responds to a 911 call about a domestic disturbance in a wealthy suburban neighbourhood, he is intrigued. Both husband and wife deny a problem and, despite Hannah’s doubts, no further police action is taken, but Green encourages her to dig deeper on her own. When the husband disappears and his car is found at the airport, the police conclude he is simply fleeing an unhappy home, a floundering law practice, and a mountain of debt. Until a body is discovered.

While Green’s old friend Brian Sullivan investigates the victim’s work and family, Hannah is haunted by fear that her actions precipitated the murder. On her own time, she begins to dig into questions that linger at the periphery of the case. What has happened to the family dog, which disappeared the same night as the husband? And who is the odd, solitary young Ph.D. student who was researching ducks near the murder site? Her relentless search for answers leads her into the countryside, straight into the path of danger. And another body.

Story setting: Ottawa

  • A classic police procedural for readers of Louise Penny, Peter Robinson, and Gail Bowen
  • Eleventh novel in the popular Inspector Green series featuring a passionate, fallible, and complex sleuth on the Ottawa police force
  • Series has earned rave reviews: “In a modern crime fiction universe in which protagonists are expected to have weaknesses as well as strengths and to portray a full range of human characteristics, Barbara Fradkin’s Inspector Michael Green has always been among the most, well, human.” (London Free Press)
  • Author is a two-time winner of the Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel and a psychologist who combines her professional insights to create compelling, believable mysteries

Barbara Fradkin is a retired psychologist who is fascinated with why people turn bad. She is the author of the Amanda Doucette series and the critically acclaimed Inspector Green novels. She lives in Ottawa.

  • Consumer, trade, and wholesaler advertising campaign
  • Social media campaign targeting mystery readers
  • Newsletter campaign to consumers, librarians, and booksellers
  • Publicity campaign to targeted to mystery media and influencers
  • Representation at trade shows and library conferences
  • Digital galley available: NetGalley, Edelweiss, Catalist
  • Goodreads giveaway
  • STAY CONNECTED
  • Series hashtag: #InspectorGreenMystery
  • Author Website: barbarafradkin.com
  • Author Twitter: @BarbaraFradkin

For more information contact
Kristina Jagger, [email protected]

Fans of character-driven police procedurals will be satisfied. - Publishers Weekly

For those who like a solid classic mystery with added character, Inspector Green is perfect. - Globe and Mail

In a modern crime fiction universe in which protagonists are expected to have weaknesses as well as strengths and to portray a full range of human characteristics, Barbara Fradkin’s Inspector Michael Green has always been among the most, well, human. - London Free Press

A fast-paced crime thriller [featuring] a breathtaking plot with so many twists and turns. - Bibliophileverse

of 54

Also Available

The Ancient Dead Barbara Fradkin 9781459743816 $19.99 CAD Jan 26, 2021
Prisoners of Hope Barbara Fradkin 9781459737648 $19.99 CAD Oct 06, 2018
The Trickster's Lullaby Barbara Fradkin 9781459735408 $17.99 CAD Sep 02, 2017
Fire in the Stars Barbara Fradkin 9781459732391 $19.99 CAD Sep 03, 2016
None So Blind Barbara Fradkin 9781459721401 $17.99 CAD Oct 18, 2014
The Whisper of Legends Barbara Fradkin 9781459705678 $17.99 CAD Apr 06, 2013
Beautiful Lie the Dead Barbara Fradkin 9781926607085 $16.95 CAD Sep 01, 2010
This Thing of Darkness Barbara Fradkin 9781894917858 $16.95 CAD Sep 01, 2009
Dream Chasers Barbara Fradkin 9781894917582 $15.95 CAD Sep 01, 2007
Honour Among Men Barbara Fradkin 9781894917360 $15.95 CAD Sep 01, 2006
Fifth Son Barbara Fradkin 9781894917131 $16.99 CAD Sep 01, 2004
Mist Walker Barbara Fradkin 9781894917032 $12.95 CAD Aug 01, 2003
Once Upon a Time Barbara Fradkin 9780929141848 $12.95 CAD Sep 01, 2002
Do or Die Barbara Fradkin 9780929141787 $17.99 CAD Oct 01, 2000

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.