has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

PRH Spring 2022 Comics for Kids

more
Scaredy Squirrel Gets a Surprise
By (author): Melanie Watt
Melanie Watt

Imprint:

Tundra Books

ISBN:

9780735269590

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Children: Age (years) 6 - 9, Grade (US) 1 - 4
May 03, 2022
$16.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.8in x 7.1 x 0.52 in | 0.9 lb

Page Count:

84 pages

Illustrations:

FULL COLOR THROUGHOUT
Tundra Books
JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Humorous
Scaredy Squirrel returns in a funny and reassuring graphic novel about managing anxiety, perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly.



In this second NUTTY ADVENTURE, Scaredy is in for a big surprise…and Scaredy does NOT like surprises. He is a squirrel who likes a schedule, predictability, nothing unexpected. So, what’s inside the mysterious crate? Turns out it’s a POOL! Scaredy imagines sharks, eels and algae! He prepares safety rules! Luckily his friends Ivy, Timber and newcomer Rash are happy to remind him of another important rule…having fun!

Series Overview: Nutty worrywart Scaredy Squirrel continues his quest to be on the constant lookout for danger from Gary the Germ and other threats (aliens, anchovies, woolly mammoths, dust bunnies) in this hilarious series that features longer format, comic stories.

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLING AUTHOR AND SERIES: More than 4.1 million Melanie Watt books have been sold worldwide, 3.1 million of which are Scaredy Squirrel books, in 13 different countries outside of Canada and the US.

NEW NUT TREE: We are proud to be Scaredy’s new publishing home alongside Random House Books for Young Readers in the US.

HUGE FAN BASE: The Scaredy Squirrel animated television series airs on the Cartoon Network in the US and YTV in Canada, and the first Scaredy Squirrel was a Heather’s Pick and winner of multiple state- and province-sponsored awards.

TIMELY CONTENT: Scaredy is the original social distancing, contactless delivery pro.

NEW SERIES, NEW FORMAT!: Scaredy’s new adventures are better than ever, told in graphic novel form with more involved narratives and a wider cast of characters.

BUILDING A BRAND: This is the second graphic chapter book in the Scaredy series, with book 3 to follow in fall 22 and book 4 in spring 23, as well as a brand new picture book in summer 22.

SOCIAL-EMOTIONAL LEARNING: Scaredy’s problem-solving will help kids with socio-emotional development, and the books are a great introduction to neurodiversity.

ADORABLE, GRAPHIC ART: Scaredy and his friends Ivy, Timber and Rash are every bit as cute and hilarious as Narwhal and Jelly — and Scaredy’s lists, charts and maps make this book a graphic standout.

HOROSCOPES: Scaredy, for better or worse, checks his horoscope everyday, leading his friends to think he might be psychic!

Author and illustrator MELANIE WATT is the bestselling creative genius behind many beloved picture books for children, including the Scaredy Squirrel series, the Chester series, Bug in a Vacuum, You’re Finally Here!, Have I Got a Book for You! and Augustine. Melanie’s books have received numerous starred reviews from journals including Publishers Weekly and Kirkus Reviews, and have won many state awards, including the Virginia Readers’ Choice Award, North Carolina Children’s Book Award and Maryland’s Black-Eyed Susan Award. She is a multiple winner of the Ontario Library Association’s Blue Spruce Award and the Ruth & Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Award. The Scaredy Squirrel animated television series airs on the Cartoon Network in the US and YTV in Canada.

Author Residence: Montreal, Quebec

Publicity: Continue to build brand awareness

Major social & digital promotions

Feature title in social-emotional learning promotions



Author Website: http://melaniewatt.blogspot.com

One of CCBC’s Best Books for Kids & Teens (Fall 2022)

“A good introduction to graphic novels for young readers who are just starting to read longer books. Highly Recommended.” —CM Reviews

of 146

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.