has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

PRH Spring 2022 Comics for Kids

more
  • Other Formats

    9780593176221 Paperback / softback, Trade paperback (US), $18.99 9780593176245 Hardback, Library binding, $31.99 9780593176252 EPUB
  • Reading Levels

    Fountas & Pinnell Text Level Gradient: X Lexile measure: GN390L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Available On Sale Date: Apr 05, 2022 Carton Quantity: 12
  • Catalogues

Scout Is Not a Band Kid
(A Graphic Novel)
By (author): Jade Armstrong
Jade Armstrong

Imprint:

Random House Graphic

ISBN:

9780593176238

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Children: Age (years) 8 - 12, Grade (US) 3 - 7
Apr 05, 2022
$27.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.25in x 5.88 x 1.01 in | 1.38 lb

Page Count:

272 pages

Illustrations:

FULL COLOR
Random House Children's Books
Random House Graphic
JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / General
A young girl in middle school will do whatever it takes to meet her favorite author—even if it means joining her school band! A contemporary graphic novel about making your dream come true—and the friends you make along the way.

When Scout learns that her favorite author is doing an exclusive autograph session at the end of the year, she’s determined to be there! She officially needs a plan…and when she finds out that her school’s band is heading to the same location for their annual trip, an idea takes shape. Being a band kid can’t be that hard, right?

As it turns out, learning how to play an instrument when you can’t even read music is much, much, MUCH tougher than expected. And it’s even harder for Scout when her friends aren’t on board with her new hobby. Will she be able to master the trombone, make new band friends, and get to her favorite author’s book signing? Tackling everything seems like a challenge for a supergenius superfriend supermusician—and she’s just Scout.

HIT CATEGORY: Girl-driven contemporary middle grade graphic novels are HUGE and the market is nowhere near saturated. Perfect next read for fans of Roller Girl, Awkward, Be Prepared, Smile and Click!

BAND: Learning to play an instrument has never been funnier in this love letter to middle school band. Music education and instruments is something most kids will be able to relate from their time at school.

AMAZING ART: Jade’s fantastic style will have the reader laughing and smiling with the characters on each page as they fall in love with the should-be-animated world that Jade has brought to life.

S&L OPPORTUNITY: We hear from teachers and librarians that they can’t keep graphic novels on their shelves! This is a perfect graphic novel for middle school kids looking for a fun read, on top of this book’s potential in the trade market.

Jade Armstrong is a non-binary cartoonist who was raised in Almonte, Ontario. They studied animation in the Greater Toronto Area and worked as a background painter for a number of years. They are a member of the comics collective Hello Boyfriend, where they work with their friends creating more zines and short comics. Scout Is Not a Band Kid is Jade’s debut graphic novel. You can find them online at @jelajade. 

Author Residence: Almonte, Ontario

Author Website: jelajade.com/

Author Social Media: twitter.com/jelajade

“This graphic novel will immediately entice nerdy fans of all stripes.” —The Horn Book

“Refreshingly portrays a school inhabited by kids and teachers diverse in ethnicity and gender identity and expression who accept one another.” —Kirkus Reviews

of 146

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.