has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Greystone Books Adult Spring 2022

more
The Hiking Book From Hell
By (author): Are Kalvø Translated by: Lucy Moffatt
Are Kalvø ,

Translated by :

Lucy Moffatt

Imprint:

Greystone Books

ISBN:

9781771645850

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
May 31, 2022
$24.95 CAD
Forthcoming

Dimensions:

9in x 6 x 0.65 in | 440 gr

Page Count:

328 pages
Greystone Books
SPORTS & RECREATION / Hiking

For fans of Bill Bryson and David Sedaris comes an anti-nature memoir that will resonate with anyone who would rather stay inside with a book than venture into the mountains, from one of Scandinavia’s biggest comedians.

“A smart, funny and honest exposé of the cult of the outdoors, from the sublime to the ridiculous.”—Foreword Reviews

Sometime around his forties, Are Kalvø starts losing his friends … to the mountains. Friends who used to meet him at the pub are now hiking and skiing every weekend, and when they do show up, all they talk about is feeling at one with nature (without a hint of irony). When Are realizes he’s the only person who hasn’t posted a selfie on a mountain, he starts to wonder: does he have it all wrong?

To find out, Are buys some ridiculously expensive gear and heads into the woods. The result of his sardonic trek is at once a smart and funny take-down of outdoors culture, and a reluctant surrender to nature’s undeniable pull. An adventure, a comedy, and a tragedy, The Hiking Book from Hell is destined to become a nature writing (and nature hating) classic.

  • Entertaining adventure writing: the author is a comedian and his writing is smart and funny.
  • The hilarious absurdity of the things we do to connect to nature: like climbing a mountain in the pouring rain or buying ridiculously expensive gear just to take a walk.
  • Broad appeal: For fans of Bill Bryson and Karl Pilkington, as well as followers of the wildly popular instagram turned book, Subpar Parks. 
  • One of Scandinavia’s biggest comedians: Kalvø is hugely popular in Scandinavia and his humor translates to a North American audience.
  • Relatable writing about middle-age: with humor and specificity, Kalvo describes that all-too-familiar process of entering your forties and realizing your friends’ tastes and hobbies have changed (and yours may have too).

Are Kalvø is one of Norway's leading comedians and satirists who has worked in standup for over twenty-five years. He has produced prize-winning musicals, reviews, an opera, and almost a dozen books. He often writes about things he doesn't know much about. This is the first time that he is also writing about something he doesn't understand.

  • Big mouth mailing: extensive digital and print galley send.
  • International review coverage: in Books, Adventure, and Travel outlets.
  • Podcast campaign.
  • Influencer outreach.
  • Advertising: on Facebook, Instagram, Trade Journals, Literary Websites.
  • Online marketing: e-blasts and social campaigns.
  • Independent bookstore outreach.

"The Hiking Book from Hell is a smart, funny, and honest exposé of the cult of the outdoors, from the sublime to the ridiculous."
Foreword Reviews

It takes a uniquely talented satirist to hold a mirror to our very serious hobbies and point out that they are actually kind of ridiculous, but Kalvø is able to do so in such a way to make anyone chuckle. He's just that talented.”
Jason Hayes, humor writer

The Hiking Book From Hell offers exactly what everyone wants in a reading experience. There’s adventure. There’s bad weather. There’s philosophy. There’s shopping. But mostly there’s the lively wit of Are Kalvø.”
J. Maarten Troost, author of The Sex Lives of Cannibals

“Startlingly insightful and all-too-relatable. If you hike, buy this book. I could not stop laughing.”
Diana Helmuth, author of How to Suffer Outside

“A funny and relatable memoir about the uncanny and eventually irresistible pull of the great outdoors, even on those of us who thought we were inoculated by big-city sensibilities, irony, and impractical footwear.”
Charles Demers, comedian, and author of Property Values and Primary Obsessions

“Humorous and engaging, The Hiking Book from Hell will resonate with anyone who hated summer camp, whose natural habitat does not include fleece clothing, and who is a late (or reluctant) arrival to the trail or the slopes. You’ll be humming The Happy Wanderer and reaching for your backpack.”
Jane Christmas, author of Open House: A Life in Thirty-two Moves and What the Psychic Told the Pilgrim

of 16

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.