has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Kids Can Press: Spring 2022

more
  • Other Formats

    9781525304071
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Hachette Book Group USA Availability: Available On Sale Date: May 03, 2022 Carton Quantity: 36 $21.99 CAD
    $18.99 USD
  • Catalogues

Astronomer Who Questioned Everything, The
The Story of Maria Mitchell
By (author): Laura Alary Illustrated by: Ellen Rooney
Laura Alary ,

Illustrated by :

Ellen Rooney

Imprint:

Kids Can Press

ISBN:

9781525303487

Product Form:

Hardcover

Form detail:

Printed dust jacket
Hardcover , Printed dust jacket
English

Audience:

Juvenile: Age (years) 4 - 8, Grade (US) P - 3, Reading age 4 - 8
May 03, 2022
$21.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

10in x 9 x 0.65 in | 1.02 lb

Page Count:

36 pages
Kids Can Press
JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / Women
  • Short Description
Perfect for fans of STEM, this inspiring picture book biography tells the extraordinary story of pioneering astronomer Maria Mitchell. Maria longed to travel beyond her island of Nantucket. But how? Her father taught her that if you know how to read the stars, they can tell you where you need to go. They spent hours scanning the sky. Maria learned to use astronomers' tools to measure and track stars. But what could she do with her skills? Then one day, she heard that a prize was being offered to the first person to find a new comet. Could this be the opportunity she was waiting for? From small island girl to renowned astronomer --- Martha Mitchell's story will leave kids starstruck!
Perfect for fans of STEM, this inspiring picture book biography tells the extraordinary story of pioneering astronomer Maria Mitchell. Maria longed to travel beyond her small island of Nantucket. But she wasn't sure how. Her father taught her to look to the stars for guidance. If you knew how to read them, he said, the stars could tell you where you were, and where you needed to go. They spent hours scanning the night sky together through a telescope on the roof. Maria learned how to use astronomers' tools to measure and track time by the stars. But what could she do with her skills? Then, one day, she heard that a prize was being offered to the first person to find a new comet. Could this be the opportunity she was waiting for? This absorbing picture book biography by Laura Alary tells the fascinating, though not well-known, story of a remarkable nineteenth-century woman scientist and women's rights advocate. After winning that prize for discovering a comet, Maria Mitchell would go on to become the first professional female astronomer in the United States, first female member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and one of the first female college professors. Beautifully illustrated with lovely textured artwork by Ellen Rooney, this is a well-told story with a teachable STEM component, supporting both science and social studies curriculums, that supports a growth mindset. It's also a wonderful guide sure to inspire readers to find their own way in the world. It includes backmatter that further describes Maria's impressive life and achievements.

Laura Alary believes in writing stories that make us bigger on the inside. She is constantly reading and wondering and learning so that she can keep up with all the questions her children ask --- especially about science and life on Earth. She grew up in Halifax, Nova Scotia, and currently lives in Toronto with her three children.
Ellen Rooney is an illustrator, designer and artist. She's originally from Massachusetts, but now lives in the southern Okanagan Valley in British Columbia. She loves graphic shapes, textured color, printmaking, drawing outdoors, painting --- and her hidden art powers are released when cutting up paper!

An inspiring account of a notable early role model who pursued a STEM career despite sexism. - Kirkus Reviews

An inspiring account of a notable early role model who pursued a STEM career despite sexism.—Kirkus Reviews

A well-told and attractive addition to biography collections, ideal for introducing famous astronomers, female scientists, or other pioneers in STEM fields.—School Library Journal, starred review

[A] gentle narrative celebrating diligence, problem solving, and community ...—Publishers Weekly (Praise for What Grew in Larry's Garden)

... a truly charming read that proves amazing things can grow in both our garden's and our lives when tended with human kindness and patience.—CM Magazine (Praise for What Grew in Larry's Garden)

Mitchell's story is well-told in this book. Whimsical mixed-media collage enhance the narrative of her life.—Children's Literature

of 20

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.