has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Spring 2022 Trade

more
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: 1020L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD Not for sale in: IN
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Apr 19, 2022 On Sale Date: May 10, 2022 Carton Quantity: 22 $36.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Apr 19, 2022 On Sale Date: May 10, 2022 Carton Quantity: 22 $27.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Play It Right
The Remarkable Story of a Gambler Who Beat the Odds on Wall Street
By (author): Kamal Gupta
Kamal Gupta

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770416604

Product Form:

Hardcover

Form detail:

Dust jacket
Hardcover , Dust jacket
English

Audience:

General Trade
May 10, 2022
$36.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

9in x 6 x 0.83 in | 1.21 lb

Page Count:

240 pages
ECW Press
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Business
Biography: business and industry|Finance|Card games|Relating to Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) peoples
New Delhi
  • Short Description
Kamal Gupta chronicles his journey from a professional gambler to a money manager at some of the world’s largest hedge funds. From New Delhi to Las Vegas to New York, Play It Right is a real-life account of the author’s darkly comic struggle for survival in an industry where fear and greed rule the day.

A real-life underdog tale of one man turning the tables on the casinos and Wall Street without selling his soul to the devil

All around the world, the words “Wall Street” conjure up a powerful image. For some, it is the center of America’s capitalist system and the engine of its economic growth. For others, it is the home of rapacious bankers and reckless traders whose greed would lead to a global financial crisis. For an Indian-born blackjack player, Wall Street represented something else entirely — a chance for him to play in the largest casino in the world.

Kamal Gupta’s improbable journey, from a wide-eyed Indian immigrant to an ultimate insider in the rarefied world of investment banks and hedge funds, is a uniquely American story. Nowhere else would it have been possible for a scrawny computer scientist to enter the world of high finance solely on the basis of his gambling abilities. After spending seven years creating an investment methodology, Gupta went on an incredible run, generating an unprecedented 103 consecutive months of positive returns while managing money at large hedge funds. His success did not go unnoticed, and he found himself under constant pressure to take bigger risks to make even more money. He refused and always played it right, knowing that there was such a thing as “enough” money, something very few, if any, of his Wall Street peers understood.

Much like Maria Konnikova’s bestseller, The Biggest Bluff, Play It Right isn’t so much about money as it is about the human condition and beating the odds, whether at a casino, on Wall Street, or in life itself.

Sales and Market Bullets



  • Fast-paced narrative that reads like a work of fiction despite recounting actual events

  • After spending two years as a world-class blackjack player, Gupta took his gambling knowledge to the world of high finance, creating an investment methodology that resulted in an unprecedented 103 months of positive returns while managing money at large hedge funds on Wall Street.

  • Gupta offers a rare insider’s look into the world of high finance, from a unique and original voice. Anyone who has ever rooted for the underdog will enjoy reading about how Gupta turned the tables on the casinos as well as on Wall Street. Gupta was present at the epicenter of the 2008 financial crisis and Play It Right traces the path of the disaster.

  • Gupta is a native of India and, while most of the book takes place in America, the 125 million English-speaking residents of India as well as the Indo-American diaspora will be interested in learning about his adventures. The book is being simultaneously released in India by Bloomsbury India with a robust marketing and publicity campaign.

  • Gupta is a well-respected figure in the financial industry, with connections to media such as CNBC, MSNBC, CNN International, Bloomberg News, The Wall Street Journal, and The Financial Times.

  • Smith Publicity, voted the #1 book marketing company by WritingTips in 2020, will lead promotion for this book’s U.S. campaign.

  • The Wolf of Wall Street is Martin Scorsese’s highest-grossing film worldwide, proving an appetite for real-life stories behind the world of Wall Street and the 2008 financial crisis.

  • Perfect for readers of Maria Konnikova’s The Biggest Bluff.

  • Gupta left UBS, turning down a lucrative offer from HSBC, to join the newly-formed London Hedge Fund, Brevan Howard, that was started by a number of ex-Credit Suisse Traders. There, Kamal had another 40-month streak of positive returns, before the collapse of Lehman Brothers brought world markets crashing down.




Audience



  • Readers of business books, and particularly the finance and investment sub-genres

  • Readers of books like The Wolf of Wall Street, Liar’s Poker, and The Biggest Bluff

  • Individual investors still wondering how the 2008-2009 financial crisis happened

  • People interested in professional blackjack and poker

  • The Indo-Canadian and Indo-American Diaspora

Kamal Gupta earned an undergraduate degree in electrical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology in New Delhi — entering the elite institution after only completing eleventh grade — and received a master’s in computer science from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in just 11 months. Bored in the tech world, he turned himself into a professional blackjack player. An unexpected turn of events brought him to Wall Street, where for over two decades he beat the odds in every imaginable way. Gupta lives in the greater New York City area with his family.

of 28

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.