has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Dutton Trade Summer 2022

more
  • Other Formats

    9780593186152 9780593186145 EPUB 9780593585672 Downloadable audio file
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IR IS IT JP KG KH KM KP KR KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MQ MR MV MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NP NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU SA SE SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF YE YT Not for sale in: AG AU BB BD BM BN BS BW BZ CC CM CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IE IM IN IO IQ JE JM JO KE KI KN KW KY LC LK LS MS MT MU MW MY MZ NA NG NR NZ PG PK PN RW SB SC SD SG SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU WS ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Available On Sale Date: Aug 09, 2022 Carton Quantity: 12
  • Catalogues

The Making of Her
A Novel
By (author): Bernadette Jiwa
Bernadette Jiwa

Imprint:

Dutton

ISBN:

9780593186138

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

General / adult
Aug 09, 2022
$36.00 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

9.28in x 6.22 x 1.15 in | 1.18 lb

Page Count:

352 pages
Dutton
FICTION / Family Life / General
An unforgettable debut novel about family secrets, falling apart, and coming together.

Dublin 1996. Joan Egan lives an enviable life. She and her husband, Martin, and daughter, Carmel, are thriving in Dublin at the dawn of an economic boom. But everything changes when Joan receives a letter from Emma, the daughter who she and Martin gave up for adoption thirty years before, asking for a life-or-death favor.



While Joan grapples with the guilt over giving up her baby long ago, she must confront her present as the cracks in her marriage become impossible to ignore and simmering tension with Carmel boils over. Meanwhile, Carmel and Emma must come to terms with the perceived sins of their mother, to imagine a future for their family before it is too late.



Spanning the nineties and the sixties, with Dublin as its backdrop, The Making of Her is the tender and page-turning story of marriage, motherhood, a culture that would not allow a woman to find true happiness—and her journey to finally claim it.

RICH HISTORY MEETS HIGH-STAKES FAMILY DRAMA: This is a novel that is perfect for both readers interested in other time periods—with its well-developed ’60s/’90s Dublin setting—as well as readers of family-focused book club fiction—with its intergenerational plot focused on motherhood, family secrets, and marriage. 



ABSORBING IRISH SETTING: Much of the novel is set in working- class Dublin of the sixties, showing a much different side of the city than we’ve seen in popular Irish fiction like Sally Rooney’s novels.  



TACKLES WOMEN’S ISSUES: Like Karma Brown’s Recipe for a Perfect Wife, The Making of Her looks at how life has or hasn’t changed for women over the years. It shows a complex time in Ireland when there was no abortion, divorce, or marriage equality, yet a woman managed to get elected twice as president. 



STRONG BACKGROUND IN STORYTELLING: Though this is Bernadette’s first novel, she’s written nonfiction books about storytelling that have been #1 Amazon bestsellers in Australia. She also has an award-winning blog and has spoken at TedX. 

Bernadette Jiwa was born into a house with no books and a home full of stories, in Dublin, Ireland. She migrated to the UK in the 1980s, raised three sons with her husband, and now lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is the creator and leader of The Story Skills Workshop — a program that has taught thousands of people to harness the power of their everyday stories.



Author Residence: Melbourne, Australia

Author Hometown: Dublin, Ireland

Marketing: None

Publicity: National print and online publicity

Pitch author op-eds and essays  Radio and podcast tour

Targeted blogger outreach

Pre-publication consumer outreach and giveaways

Pre-publication trade advertising

National advertising campaign

Social media campaign

Bookstagram campaign

VIP Influencer outreach

Partnership outreach

Consumer sweepstakes

Industry buzz campaign

Library marketing campaign

Book club promotion

Book club kit

Instagram.com/bernadettejiwa

Twitter.com/bernadettejiwa

www.bernadettejiwa.com



Author Website: thestoryoftelling.com

Author Social Media: Twitter/Instagram: @bernadettejiwa

“Bernadette Jiwa’s powerful debut serves as a tribute to motherhood and the strength of women.” 
Veranda

“Memorable insights are quotable and the ending is satisfyingly true to the ups and downs experienced by Joan’s extended family. Fans of Maeve Binchey, Cathy Kelly, or Adriana Trigiani may find a new favorite author here.”
Booklist (starred)

”Tightly crafted women’s fiction, with a sensitive look at love, conscience, and loyalty.“ 
New York Journal of Books

“While the issue of accidental pregnancy might have seemed an old-fashioned problem just a year ago, it’s suddenly deeply relevant again. Jiwa reminds us that no such decision can be made lightly, and whatever happens will follow the parents—but mostly the mother—for the rest of their life.”
The Star Tribune

“A powerful story.”
Key West Weekly Magazine


The Making of Her sucked me in from the very first page, and didn’t let up until I’d turned the last. Heartwarming and heartbreaking, it is an exquisite examination of the secrets that haunt us. I cried several times. A stunning debut.” 
—Sally Hepworth, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Sister

The Making of Her is a compelling and tender exploration of the unattainable expectations of women, the shame and guilt inherent in motherhood, and the reverberations of the hardest choices we make. Jiwa gives us a beautifully crafted, thought-provoking novel that ultimately celebrates the strength of women. A true pleasure to read.”
—Ashley Audrain, New York Times bestselling author of The Push

“Bernadette Jiwa’s moving fiction debut, The Making of Her, explores the impact of secrets, the magnitude of our choices, and the tenuous binds of family. Set in Dublin and shifting between past and present, this deeply evocative novel is a masterful study into what it really means to love, and to forgive. The Making of Her is ultimately a story about the plight and power of women, and is not to be missed.”
—Karma Brown, bestselling author of Recipe for a Perfect Wife
 
“An absorbing, brilliantly paced book; I didn’t want it to end.”
—Roddy Doyle

“Oh how I love this novel! Once I started reading I never looked away, except when my eyes filled with tears. The Making of Her renders its characters so perfectly, and with so much compassion, they feel like dear friends after only a few chapters. Bernadette Jiwa has written a beautiful tribute to what our lives can become when shame is forgotten, and love is reclaimed.”
—Nina de Gramont, author of The Christie Affair

”Bernadette Jiwa writes with compassion and grace about what it means to be a mother, a daughter, and a sister."
Pip Williams, author of The Dictionary of Lost Words

of 30

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.