has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Young Readers Group Summer 2022

more
  • Other Formats

    9780593350928 9780593527399 9780593350942 EPUB 9780593592823 Downloadable audio file
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: HL740L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Available On Sale Date: May 17, 2022 Carton Quantity: 12 $24.99 CAD
    $18.99 USD
  • Catalogues

Practice Girl
By (author): Estelle Laure
Estelle Laure

Imprint:

Viking Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

9780593350911

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Teenage: Age (years) 14, Grade (US) 9
May 17, 2022
$24.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.75 x 1.11 in | 0.94 lb

Page Count:

320 pages
Viking Children's Books
Viking Books for Young Readers
YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Dating & Sex
“A powerful, poignant story about a girl rewriting her story on her own terms. Jo Beckett’s journey of sexual and emotional agency is at once tender, painful, hilarious, and courageous.”

—Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces




An emotional and empowering novel about reputation and double standards, perfect for fans of Katie Cotugno and Sarah Dessen.


Jo Beckett is looking for love. She’s fallen for a few boys, but for some reason, they’ve never fallen for her. One night, at a party she didn’t even want to go to, she finds out the truth. Those boys, who are on the wrestling team she manages, consider her just a “practice girl”—the popular term for girl who’s good enough to hook up with but not to date.



With this crushing revelation, Jo feels so many things—heartsick, ashamed, betrayed, and angry. But she refuses to let that label define her. In piecing her life back together, Jo is forced to unpack more uncomfortable truths about all her relationships—from her best friend to the boy she likes—that help her understand her real worth. 



From the author of the acclaimed This Raging Light, Practice Girl is a heart-wrenching, relatable, and ultimately triumphant story about a girl who rejects her label and decides for herself who she is to the world. 

TIMELY AND NECESSARY: Though high school cruelty is nothing new, growing up with social media means everything is shared widely and instantly—cyberbullying is a common phenomenon. One in five kids ages 12-18 have experienced bullying in the US.



WELL REVIEWED AUTHOR: Estelle Laure has written four YA novels, including This Raging Light, which Kirkus called “heartbreakingly hopeful, lyrically told,” and was an Indie Next Pick. 



ALLOY PROJECT: This novel was conceived by Alloy Entertainment, the slick packager with a finger on the pulse of YA, and where terrific books like Frankly In Love, The Thousandth Floor, and Everything Everything got their start.



Estelle Laure is the author of ten published and/or forthcoming picture books and young adult novels, including acclaimed novel This Raging Light and Disney’s City of Villains trilogy. She holds an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts and a BA in Theatre Arts from New Mexico State University. She lives in Taos, New Mexico (the best place on earth), with her family, and her work has been translated into more than fifteen languages around the world.

Author Residence: Taos, New Mexico

Marketing: National media campaign 

Consumer advertising campaign 

Online promotion and social media outreach 

Promotion at consumer festivals 

Librarian and educator outreach 

“A powerful, poignant story about a girl rewriting her story on her own terms. Jo Beckett’s journey of sexual and emotional agency is at once tender, painful, hilarious, and courageous.”
—Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces

“Warm and funny and charming and smart.”
—Katie Cotugno, New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days

“No one captures the complexities of teenage girldom like Estelle Laure. A deeply felt, unflinchingly relatable, and ultimately empowering novel about the unjust double standards and dehumanizing labels that girls and women are often forced to navigate. Readers will cheer for Jo!”
Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned

“Jo’s introspective, funny first-person narrative voice is alive with poignancy and…pulls no punches in its emotional honesty. A relationship-focused story told with intelligence and wit.” 
—Kirkus Reviews

“Through Jo’s first-person narration, which often rings painfully true, Laure captures with painful precision one teen girl’s journey to self-discovery and self-awareness. A contemplative and compelling look at female sexuality and the double standards that accompany it.”
—Booklist

“Laure demonstrates a keen understanding of adolescent interactions, and not only romantic ones. Jo’s reflections on her relationships with family and friends—in particular her complicated feelings for Sam—are nuanced and insightful.”
—The Horn Book

of 283

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.