has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Young Readers Group Summer 2022

more
  • Other Formats

    9780593403808 9780593403815 EPUB 9780593606612 Downloadable audio file
  • Reading Levels

    Fountas & Pinnell Text Level Gradient: M Lexile measure: AD600L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Available On Sale Date: May 31, 2022 Carton Quantity: 24 $23.99 CAD
    $17.99 USD
  • Catalogues

A Family Looks Like Love
By (author): Kaitlyn Wells Illustrated by: Sawyer Cloud
Kaitlyn Wells ,

Illustrated by :

Sawyer Cloud

Imprint:

Flamingo Books

ISBN:

9780593403792

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Children: Age (years) 4 - 8, Grade (US) P - 3
May 31, 2022
$23.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

11.25in x 8.38 x 0.34 in | 0.81 lb

Page Count:

40 pages

Illustrations:

FULL-COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS
Viking Children's Books
Flamingo Books
JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Dogs
A heartening picture book about a young pup who looks different from her siblings and ultimately learns that love, rather than how you look, is what makes a family.



Sutton Button has always looked different from her family. While her siblings had short, stout legs, Sutton’s legs were long like noodles. And while her siblings had scruffy, yellow fur, Sutton was a tricolor puppy with soft fur. 



But when others don’t believe that Sutton and her siblings are actually related, Sutton starts to wonder if she really belongs in her family at all—until she realizes that her and her family are the same in all the most important ways and that love, rather than what you look like, is what makes a family.



With heartwarming text and adorable illustrations, A Family Looks Like Love is a story about the enduring power of love and teaches readers that family comes in all shapes and sizes. 

THE DAY YOU BEGIN MEETS GASTON!



WE ARE FAMILY! With a sweet message that families can look many different ways, this is an affirming story for anyone who has ever felt like they don’t belong. 



KIDS LOVE DOGS: Books about dogs are hugely popular and this one has an important message of 



DEBUT AUTHOR WITH A JOURNALISM BACKGROUND: Kaitlyn Wells is an award-winning service journalist who writes about pets and style for Wirecutter, so it’s only fitting that her debut picture book stars a family of dogs! Kaitlyn is well established in the journalism community, having written for ABC News, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal Sunday, and The Washington Post. Her commentary on diverse literature has appeared in BookPage, Diverse Kids Books, and the The New York Times Sunday Book Review.



TALENTED ILLUSTRATOR: Sawyer Cloud brings a sweetness and charm to Sutton and her family that is sure to appeal to fans of Disney and Pixar!



LETTER FROM AUTHOR INCLUDED: Kaitlyn is including a letter in the book that explains her personal connection to the story growing up in a mixed race family. 



BASED ON THE REAL SUTTON BUTTON: The main character of the story is based on Kaitlyn’s actual dog of the same name. Sutton has approved the use of her likeness for this book. 

Kaitlyn Wells is an award-winning journalist whose work has been featured in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post, among others. Her commentary on diverse literature can be found in The New York Times Book Review, BookPage, and Diverse Kids Books. Bring her chocolate or ask about her pets to become fast friends. A Family Looks Like Love is her debut children’s book. She lives in New York City with her wonderful husband, rambunctious dog, and demanding cat. You can visit Kaitlyn online at www.kaitwells.com and on Twitter @KaitWells

Author Residence: New York City, NY

Author Hometown: Seattle, WA & Houston, TX

Sawyer Cloud is a self-taught artist living in Madagascar, her native country. Though she didn’t have the privilege of going to an art school, she has always been passionate about visual art and learned the illustration industry through personal research and work experience.  When she’s not drawing, she can be found singing out loud in her room, wearing her favorite fairy costume. She lives with her family and her two pets, Arya the dog and Potter the cat. You can visit Sawyer online at www.sawyer.cloud

Illustrator Residence: Madagascar

Marketing: National media campaign

Online and social media promotion

Feature at select School & Library Conferences



Author Website: kaitwells.com

Author Social Media: Twitter: @KaitWells / Instagram: @kaitlyn.n.wells
of 283

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.