has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Young Readers Group Summer 2022

more
  • Other Formats

    9780593465738 9780593588178 Downloadable audio file 9780593465745 EPUB
  • Reading Levels

    Fountas & Pinnell Text Level Gradient: X Lexile measure: 800L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Available On Sale Date: Jul 12, 2022 Carton Quantity: 24 $23.99 CAD
    $17.99 USD
  • Catalogues

Be Real, Macy Weaver
By (author): Lakita Wilson
Lakita Wilson

Imprint:

Viking Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

9780593465721

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Children: Age (years) 8 - 12, Grade (US) 3 - 7
Jul 12, 2022
$23.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.75 x 1.23 in | 1.09 lb

Page Count:

384 pages
Viking Children's Books
Viking Books for Young Readers
JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
A humorous, heartfelt, and fashion-filled contemporary novel about Macy Weaver, a young girl struggling with how to be her true self and make a best friend. Perfect for fans of From the Desk of Zoe Washington and Stand Up, Yumi Chung.

Eleven-year-old Macy Weaver knows relationships are complicated. Fresh off her latest friendship breakup, she’s spent most of her summer break on her own. So when Macy’s mother decides to go back to college three states away, Macy jumps on the chance to move—anything for a fresh start.



But Macy’s new home isn’t exactly what she expected. Her mother’s never around and her dad’s always working. Lonelier than ever, Macy sets her sights on finding a new best friend. When she meets Brynn, who’s smart and kind and already seems to have her whole life figured out—down to her future as a high fashion model—Macy knows she’s it. The only problem is that Brynn already has a BFF and, as everyone knows, you can only have one.



Resorting to old habits, Macy turns one small lie into a whole new life—full of fantastic fashion and haute couture—but it isn’t long before everything really falls apart. Ultimately, Macy must determine how to make things right and be true to herself—rather than chasing after the person she thinks she’s supposed to be.

Story Locale: A suburb of Baltimore, Maryland

PERFECT FOR FANS OF: A Good Kind of Trouble and Something to Say by Lisa Moore Ramée, From the Desk of Zoe Washington, by Janae Marks, Front Desk by Kelly Yang, and Stand Up, Yumi Chung by Jessica Kim. This book is bursting with heart and full of lovable characters.



COMMERCIAL STORY TACKLING BIG TOPICS AND THEMES: While Macy’s story is fast, fun, and nail-biting, this book does not shy away from the challenges kids face in the world. From class differences and financial hardship to absent parents, divorce, body image issues and fatness, and the sexism kids face (and perpetuate) in middle school. 



CELEBRATING ALL KINDS OF FRIENDSHIP: This book is an ode to friendships of all sorts—and though Macy struggles to find one true best friend, she may discover a better way forward, finding a community and friendships of all different kinds. For all the kids who haven’t found their one best friend—this book can be like a warm hug.



ABSENT MOM & BIG LIFE CHANGES: Macy is dealing with some pretty challenging problems at home. And when Macy needs her mom most, her mom’s not there. For kids dealing with complicated home lives, and parents who may not be there for them all the time, this book will be a sorely needed offering. 



FASHION & INDIVIDUALITY: This book is all about being yourself—as Macy discovers the fashion looks that suit her, she figures out how to be herself. Be Real, Macy Weaver celebrates differences, creativity, and individuality.





AUTHOR TO BUILD: Lakita Wilson is a huge talent and someone we’re really excited to have on our list.  We have also signed her up for a semi-illustrated YA nonfiction book about the best and baddest female rappers and hip hop artistsin the game, The Hip Hop Feminists (F22), and have signed up her YA fiction debut, Last Chance Dance (Sp23), an exciting commercial romance. Lakita is also the author of Penguin Workshop’s What Is Black Lives Matter? (F21) and Who Is Colin Kaepernick?Be Real, Macy Weaver is her MG fiction debut. She has a great social presence, with over 23K instagram followers @lakitareads, and runs the Instagram account @welovedthe90s, which has over 72K followers.

Lakita Wilson is an MFA student at Vermont College of Fine Arts studying Writing for Children and Young Adults. Her middle grade manuscript won the 2017 SCBWI On-the-Verge Emerging Voices Award. On Instagram, you can find her posting about black culture on her account @welovedthe90s, which has over 72K followers, and promoting diverse children’s literature on her account @lakitareads, which has over 25K followers. Lakita lives in Maryland with her two children and Shih-Tzu. 







Author Residence: Maryland (just outside of DC)

Marketing: National media campaign 

Online promotion and social media outreach 

Extensive librarian and educator outreach 

“Macy is easy to love! Her search for a friend who will appreciate her true self is relatable and inspiring. The novel is fun, inclusive, and a celebration of being who you really are. This was such a delightful read! Make way for Lakita Wilson—a fresh, exciting voice in children’s fiction!”—Kekla Magoon, CSK Honor-winning author for The Season of Styx Malone and National Book Award finalist for Revolution in Our Time

*“An earnest and lighthearted novel that offers an honest look at friendships…Be Real, Macy Weaver is an authentic look into middle-grade friendships, family and identity.”—Shelf Awareness, starred review
 
“Wilson’s middle-grade novel is the perfect blend of humor, introspection, and authenticity. The major characters are both realistic and likable, and she creates a fully formed, three-dimensional world that integrates serious topics with knee-slapping humor and heartfelt growth. This is a must-read for children who are working through the process of developing their own identities.”—Booklist

“An engaging read…A nice blend of life’s joys and challenges for today’s middle-grade readers.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Middle graders will find this a compelling and satisfying read, especially so if they are fans of fashion-oriented shows like Project Runway.”—School Library Connection

“Readers will enjoy Macy’s authentic voice…[This is] a solid realistic fiction choice for fans of Renée Watson, Jamie Sumner, or Janae Marks.”—School Library Journal

“Wilson…sensitively navigates anxiety and the societal pressures associated with belonging and making friends in this lighthearted volume with a predominantly Black cast.”—Publishers Weekly

of 283

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.