has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Tundra Book Group Fall 2022

more
Fairy Science
By (author): Ashley Spires
Ashley Spires

Imprint:

Tundra Books

ISBN:

9780735264618

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

Children: Age (years) 3 - 7, Grade (US) P - 2
Sep 06, 2022
$11.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

10in x 10 x 0.14 in | 0.44 lb

Page Count:

40 pages

Illustrations:

FULL-COLOR THROUGHOUT
Tundra Books
JUVENILE FICTION / Fairy Tales & Folklore / General
 
Chocolate Lily Award 2020, Short-listed Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-Fiction 2020, Short-listed Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards 2020, Short-listed
The award-winning author of The Most Magnificent Thing introduces the value of science and inquiry to young readers with humor and heart, now in trade paperback format. For fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Hidden Figures.

Esther the fairy doesn’t believe in magic. But fairies are all about magic, despite Esther’s best efforts to reveal the science of their world. No matter how she and her bird, Albert, explain that rainbows are refracted light rather than a path to gold, or that mist is water evaporating rather than an evil omen, or the importance of the scientific method, her fairymates would rather just do magic. So when the other fairies’ solution to helping a dying tree is to do a mystical moonlight dance, Esther decides to take it upon herself to resuscitate the tree…with the scientific method, some hypothesizing, a few experiments and the heady conclusion that trees need sunlight to live! But while Esther manages to save the tree, she can’t quite change the minds of her misguided fairymates…or can she?

Fairy Science, the first in a hilarious new picture book series, introduces a charming, determined heroine as she learns about the world and celebrates the joys of curiosity and exploring science.

BESTSELLING AUTHOR/ILLUSTRATOR: Ashley’s books are known for teaching patience and discovery, and The Most Magnificent Thing has sold over 31,000 copies in Canada.

GREAT RECEPTION: The hardcover edition of Fairy Science has sold over 14,000 copies in Canada, and received strong reviews from US publications like Kirkus and Booklist.

STEM APPEAL: Fairy Science introduces age-appropriate science concepts like erosion, evaporation and photosynthesis in a way that is fun for kids to learn. It also teaches the scientific method, so kids understand the basics of creating experiments.

STRONG FEMALE HEROINE: Esther is feisty but friendly, an empowering guide to the world of science.

REAL SCIENCE BACK MATTER: A note in the back matter fact-checks the major scientific concepts introduced in the book to help kids know what is true and what elements took some fairy magic to achieve.

HANDS-ON ACTIVITY: The final page of the book includes an experiment that readers can try at home.

HUMOR: Esther and Albert are a plucky duo, and the fairymates are silly and lovable.

CO-PUBLISHERS: Strong partner with Crown Books for Young Readers in the US.

Author and illustrator ASHLEY SPIRES grew up in Tsawwassen, B.C. and after stints living in Toronto and Saskatoon, she now lives in Ladner, having made an educated decision to never move from B.C. again. She is the creator of the Binky The Space Cat series of junior graphic novels and the bestselling The Most Magnificent Thing, which was adapted into an animated short film. When not drawing, she is often jogging with her dog Gordon or cuddling her growing brood of cats.

Author Residence: Ladner, British Columbia

Author Hometown: Tsawwassen, British Columbia

Author Website: www.ashleyspires.com

Author Social Media: @ashleyspires

A Canadian Children’s Book Centre Best Books for Kids and Teens (starred selection)

“Readers will adore smart and scrappy Esther’s indomitable spirit and the silly yet effective juxtaposition of fairy tale and scientific inquiry.” —Booklist

”A magical addition to the STEM shelf.“ —Kirkus Reviews

Fairy Science is a very exciting, enticing, informative and imaginative book to introduce to young earthlings about the core concept of reason and logic: mixing magic and science with little sparkle!"Resource Links

of 31

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.