has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin Canada Fall 2022

more
Black Dove
By (author): Colin McAdam
Colin McAdam

Imprint:

Hamish Hamilton

ISBN:

9780670066353

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

General / adult
Sep 27, 2022
$34.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

9.26in x 6.28 x 1.13 in | 1.15 lb

Page Count:

328 pages
Penguin Canada
Hamish Hamilton
FICTION / Literary
“I have long been convinced that Colin McAdam is a literary genius. What’s extraordinary is that each of the books he writes is a totally distinct type of genius. Every time. He’s in a league of his own.” —Max Porter, author of Grief Is the Thing with Feathers

A deeply imaginative and thrilling novel about grief, single parenting, and the terrifying power of a child’s imagination, dancing on an edge between magical realism and horror, perfect for fans of Stranger Things


In a tall and narrow house, on a stained and busy street, live twelve-year-old Oliver and his father, a story-loving writer. Haunted by the ghost of his alcoholic mother, Oliver finds comfort in his father’s impromptu tales: the Black Dove, an elusive flower that gives strength; the girl who consumes it as she battles attackers and yearns for happier realms. Stories where lonely souls keep searching despite their losses and grief.

Running from a bully one night, Oliver finds refuge in a junk shop owned by an enigmatic man. Soon, instead of hiding in the janitor’s closet after school, Oliver spends afternoons in the shop, a cavernous place full of storied oddities and grubby wonders where creatures rise up from the basement. A snake in the shape of a boy. A hunter named Night, part panther, part hound, who proves to Oliver that the world holds invisible wonder.

Wanting to forget his mother, afraid of his own genes, constantly harassed by bullies, Oliver decides to follow the shop-owner down the path of genetic editing. As he begins his transformation he meets the girl from across the street, and their friendship grows in a neighbourhood where magic is real, where murderers gather, and where the darker consequences of fantasies play out.

A twisting story of grief and revenge, Black Dove is a thrilling read with its own kind of magic. In rich but tightly reined prose, McAdam celebrates the value and shortfalls of storytelling, finding a light in all the darkness to conjure a tender portrait of childhood’s end.



    AWARD-WINNING CANADIAN AUTHOR: Colin’s novels always garner major awards and nominations. A Beautiful Truth won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and was a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award. Fall was shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. Some Great Thing won the Amazon/Books in Canada First Novel Award and was nominated for the Governor General’s Literary Award and the Rogers Writers’ Trust Award.



    RAVE REVIEWS: Critics love Colin’s work, and Black Dove will be sure to receive heaps of attention. He’s been called “one of the most inventive writers in Canada” (National Post on A Beautiful Truth) and his work a game-changer—“bursting with energy, here is a character-driven novel to reinvigorate Canadian fiction” (The Walrus on Some Great Thing).



    CLI-FI/DOOMER LIT TREND: A departure from his previous works—but bold, insightful, and masterful as always—Black Dove crosses over into the newly trending genres of cli-fi and doomer lit, and will be sure to appeal to both literary and commercial-crossover audiences.



    A RIVETING, SUSPENSEFUL READ: Propulsive and surprising, you’ll encounter characters—and a world—you won’t soon forget. This book is the modern-day Frankenstein, blending the suspenseful pace of a psychological thriller with the profound scope of a literary novel.

COLIN McADAM’s last novel, A Beautiful Truth, won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. It was also a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award and named a Globe and Mail Best Book of the Year. His first novel, Some Great Thing, won the Amazon/Books in Canada First Novel Award and was nominated for the Governor General’s Literary Award, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Award, the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, and for the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize in the U.K. His second novel, Fall, was shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and awarded the Paragraphe Hugh MacLennon Prize. He lives in Chelsea, Quebec.

Author Residence: Chelsea, Quebec

One of:
CBC’s “65 works of Canadian fiction to watch for in fall 2022”
Zoomer’s “Best Books to Read in September 2022”


Praise for Black Dove:

“Colin McAdam conjures, in intoxicating prose, a grief-haunted boy offered a kind of Mephistophelean deal by a contemporary Dr. Moreau. Black Dove is tenderly nightmarish and toughly tender—a divine tale of yearning and revenge served up red-hot and with a side of broken hearts.”
—Zsuzsi Gartner, Scotiabank Giller Prize–shortlisted author of The Beguiling
 
“If, like me, you read to have your mind blown and your heart stretched, then Colin McAdam’s darkly magnificent Black Dove is for you. McAdam never writes a false sentence and is unflinching in his depiction of human cruelty, violence but also the most delicate and ennobling love. Black Dove is an extraordinary feat of imagination and of art.”
—David Bezmozgis, Scotiabank Giller Prize–shortlisted author of Immigrant City

Black Dove is an eerie, unsettling, fabulous book. McAdam leads the reader through quotidian and mythical realms with absolute assurance. Stark and beautiful, horrifying and lyrical, its pages thrum with flight, transformation, grief, revenge, transcendence, the remorseless power of stories and the very nature of creation. Ever since reading, Black Dove has drifted in and out of my dreams.”
—Helen Macdonald, author of the New York Times bestselling H Is For Hawk


Praise for Colin McAdam:

“I have long been convinced that Colin McAdam is a literary genius. What’s extraordinary is that each of the books he writes is a totally distinct type of genius. Every time. He’s in a league of his own.”
—Max Porter, Author of Grief is the Thing With Feathers

“Colin McAdam’s voice is original and fiercely intelligent. It somehow possesses this combination of hard-won world weariness and exuberant, unshakeable faith in a better world.  He exposes all of our treacherous and base instincts but with the unspoken caveat that, in spite of our horrible human ways, we must always, relentlessly, struggle to love each other. Aside from McAdam’s great talents as a storyteller, it’s this feeling I get from his work, profoundly moving, that I strive to duplicate in my own writing.”
Miriam Toews, Scotiabank Giller Prize–shortlisted author of Fight Night

of 27

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.