has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

April 2022 Adult Top-Picks

more
Framed in Fire
A Lane Winslow Mystery
By (author): Iona Whishaw
Iona Whishaw

Imprint:

TouchWood Editions - Victoria

ISBN:

9781771513807

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English
Apr 26, 2022
$16.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

7.5in x 5 in

Page Count:

496 pages
TouchWood Editions
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Crime and mystery: private investigator / amateur detectives|Historical crime and mysteries|Crime and mystery: cosy mystery|Crime and mystery: women sleuths|Historical fiction|c 1940 to c 1949|c 1938 to c 1946 (World War Two period)|Mother’s Day|Christmas|Seasonal interest: Spring|Seasonal interest: Summer
Canada

An April 2022 Loan Stars Top 10

A shallow grave, a missing person, and near-fatal arson keep Lane, Darling, and the Nelson police on high alert in the latest mystery in this Globe and Mail bestselling series.

It’s early spring 1948 and Lane arrives in New Denver to find that her friend, Peter Barisoff, is not at home. Instead, in a nearby meadow, she encounters Tom, an Indigenous man in search of his ancestral lands. Lane is intrigued. Unfortunately, once Peter returns home, the day takes a gloomy turn when the trio uncovers human remains next to Peter’s garden, and Lane must tell her husband, Inspector Darling, that she’s inadvertently stumbled into his professional domain—again.

Back in Nelson, the Vitalis, Lane and Darling’s favourite restaurateurs, are victims of arson. Constable Terrell’s investigation suggests prejudice as a motive, and the case quickly escalates, as the Vitalis receive increasingly threatening notes of warning. Meanwhile, Sergeant Ames works a robbery while alienating Tina Van Eyck in his personal time, and a swirling rumour sets the entire station on edge and prompts an RCMP investigation into Darling’s integrity.

Amid the local bustle series readers have come to love, Framed in Fire is bound up in difficult questions of community and belonging, and the knowledge that trusted neighbours can sometimes be as sinister as a stranger in the dark.

  • Confirmed blurb from #1 New York Times bestselling author of Something Borrowed and The Lies That Bind, Emily Giffin
  • The 9th book in the Lane Winslow mystery series, set in early March.
  • Initial print run of 8000.
  • Centers around a cold case that has ties to the Sinixt First Nation (which has been classified as an extinct nation since 1956 although they are fighting to overturn that classification). This nation has lived in the Kootenay region and into Eastern Washington for 10,000 years.
  • Also focusses on a case of arson that victimizes the Italian restauranteurs in Nelson
  • This series was reviewed as having a “modern sensibility . . . feminism, a sense of justice, anti-racism, and progressiveness, which somehow never seems out of place in a tiny BC hamlet in 1948.” (Kerry Clare, author of Waiting for a Star to Fall)
  • With this book Whishaw discusses casual and overt racism in King’s Cove; towards Italians, Indigenous, Russians, a Black detective, and it even affects Darling, a respected white police inspector, for his connection to the Italian restauranteur.
  • Whishaw really is excellent at keeping the various community characters involved, while furthering the storylines of several other characters that readers have grown to know and love.
  • Audio books available for the first six books in this series (from Killer in King’s Cove to A Deceptive Devotion) and are hoping to have the last three releasing through 2022. 
  • This book has been approved by a sensitivity reader that is a member of the Sinixt Nation.
  • This series has sold nearly 50,000 combined in North America since the fall of 2016.
  • Whishaw recently interviewed worldwide bestselling author Ann Cleeves for a virtual bookstore event
  • This series sells better and faster with each book released

Iona Whishaw is a former educator and social worker whose mother and grandfather were both spies during their respective wars. She is the award-winning author of the Globe and Mail bestselling Lane Winslow Mystery series. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, with her husband.

Media + Publicity Plans

  • Confirmed blurb from #1 New York Times bestselling author of Something Borrowed and The Lies That BindEmily Giffin
  • Print features, excerpts, and review coverage in Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Globe & Mail, Toronto Star, Zoomer Magazine, Quill & Quire, Chatelaine, Vancouver Sun, Pacific Rim Review of Books, Reader's Digest
  • Broadcast interviews and coverage on CBC As It Happens, CTV Your Morning (national), Global Morning (national), CTV Morning Vancouver, Global Morning Vancouver, CKNW Vancouver, CityNews Vancouver, CBC Vancouver, CBC The Next Chapter
  • Online coverage including interviews, features, excerpts, reviews on CBC Books, CrimeReads, Shelf Awareness, Georgia Straight, The Tyee, The Kit, The Ormsby Review, 49th Shelf
  • Outreach to bloggers who have reviewed previous Lane Winslow books: The Hidden Staircase, Pickle Me This, I've Read This, Literary Hoarders, Leigh's Bookish Life, Historical Novels Review, Reviewing the Evidence, Crime Fiction Lover, Literary Treats, Schatje's Shelves, and more
  • Hybrid author tour, in-person launch with Black Bond Books, in-person library events with Vancouver (multiple branches), North Vancouver, Victoria, Burnaby, Richmond, Surrey, Langley, Maple Ridge; Ontario in-person events at TIFA Crime & Mystery Festival, Toronto Public Library Appel Salon, The Bookshelf (Guelph), Little Drummer w. Ian Hamilton (local author) (Burlington), Blue Heron Books (Uxbridge), Words Worth Books (Kitchener), A Novel Idea (Kingston), library events in lieu of bookstore events in South Western Ontario and the Greater Toronto Area; Virtual events with libraries in Calgary, Edmonton, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Regina, Canmore, Lethbridge, Vernon, Kamloops, Thunder Bay, Sudbury, Ottawa, Parry Sound

Marketing + Promo Deliverables

  • Display banner (table-top)
  • Print and Electronic ARCs
  • Video interview
  • Online banner
  • Press release
  • Bookmark
  • Print ARC
  • Poster
  • Signed Bookplates

BISAC Codes

  • FIC022040 FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
  • FIC022060 FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical
  • FIC022100 FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth

BISAC Merchandising Themes

  • ET034 CULTURAL HERITAGE / Canadian
  • HL010 HOLIDAY / Christmas
  • TP090 TOPICAL / Women's Interest

THEMA Subject Codes

  • FFD Crime and mystery: private investigator / amateur detectives
  • FFH Historical crime and mysteries
  • FFJ Crime and mystery: cosy mystery
  • FFS Crime and mystery: women sleuths
  • FV Historical Fiction

For more information contact
[email protected]

Praise for the Lane Winslow Mysteries

A Match Made for Murder (#7) is winner of the 2021 Bony Blithe Light Mystery Award

A Lethal Lesson is an Indigo Top 10 Best Mystery of 2021

"There are days when nothing suits a reader like a good old-fashioned classic cozy with a puzzle plot, a country setting and some nice slight characters. When that urge strikes, Iona Whishaw's delightful B.C. series featuring Lane Winslow and, now, husband, Inspector Darling of the King's Cove constabulary, are just the ticket. . . A really good book in a terrific series." —Globe and Mail

"Whishaw nicely captures the rhythms and dynamics of small-town life while maintaining suspense. Maisie Dobbs and Phryne Fisher fans will be pleased." —Publishers Weekly

"A winsome cozy set in the Kootenays in 1947 . . . it's the perfect series for fans of Miss Fisher and Maisie Dobbs." —Zoomer Magazine

"I absolutely love the modern sensibility of these novels, of their feminism, sense of justice, their anti-racism, their progressiveness, which somehow never seems out of place in a tiny BC hamlet in 1948. . . But it's never preachy or pedantic, and Whishaw continues to use her murder mysteries to explore the limitations on women's lives and freedom that were contemporary to the period, and which are not yet so far away in the rear view mirror." —Kerry Clare, author of Mitzi Bytes and Waiting for a Star to Fall

"The ‘find of the year', Iona Whishaw's Lane Winslow series is a real treat. Set after WWII, Lane has left England for Canada . . . settling in the small village of King's Cove. With a quaint cast of characters and the feel of Louise Penny's Three Pines, the independence and quick wit of Kerry Greenwood's Phryne Fisher and the intelligence of Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs, this mystery series has it all!" —Murder by the Book, Texas

"Relentlessly exciting from start to finish." —Kirkus Reviews

"Whishaw deftly intertwines plot and psychology, giving readers insight not only into Lane's crime-solving strategies, but the perspectives and lives of her neighbors. The series also follows Lane's inner journey, from complicated family history to postwar trauma to the beginning of new love. Well plotted and laced with dry wit, Lane's adventures are entirely satisfying summer reading." —Shelf Awareness

"There's no question you should read it—it's excellent." —Toronto Star

“Iona Whishaw's writing is worthy of taking its place alongside the works of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L Sayers. . . deftly crafted and briskly paced.” —Fiona Valpy, author of The Dressmaker's Gift

"Another fantastic entry in the unique and compelling Lane Winslow series!" —Anna Lee Huber, author of the Lady Darby Mysteries

"Complex, suspenseful, and deeply felt, this is a smart series for the ages." —Francine Mathews, author of the Nantucket Mysteries

"Exquisitely written, psychologically deft." —Linda Svendsen, author of Sussex Drive

"Iona Whishaw has again raised the bar . . . This is seriously good storytelling." —Don Graves, Canadian Mystery Reviews

"In the vein of Louise Penny . . . a compelling series that combines a cozy setting, spy intrigue storylines, and police procedural elements—not an easy task, but one that Whishaw pulls off." —Reviewing the Evidence

"The setting is fresh and the cast endearing." —CrimeReads

"An enthralling mystery." —Historical Novel Society

"This series . . . continues to get better and better." —Reviewing the Evidence

"A simply riveting read by a master of the genre." —Wisconsin Bookwatch

"A series that's guaranteed to please." —Mercer Island Books, Washington

"Full of history, mystery, and a glorious BC setting . . . a wonderful series." —Sleuth of Baker Street, Ontario

of 10

Also Available

Orphans of Empire Grant Buday 9781927366899 $22.00 CAD Sep 29, 2020
This Godforsaken Place Cinda Gault 9781927366417 $17.95 CAD Jun 16, 2015
The End of the Line Stephen Legault 9781926971049 $18.95 CAD Sep 03, 2011

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.