has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2022 Trade

more
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: 830L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Aug 23, 2022 On Sale Date: Sep 13, 2022 Carton Quantity: 20 $24.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Aug 23, 2022 On Sale Date: Sep 13, 2022 Carton Quantity: 20 $19.95 USD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Turnaround Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Aug 23, 2022 On Sale Date: Sep 13, 2022 Carton Quantity: 20 $15.99 GBP
  • Catalogues

Fenian Street
A Mystery
By (author): Anne Emery
Anne Emery

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770413887

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Sep 13, 2022
$24.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

9in x 6 x 0.99 in | 1.32 lb

Page Count:

440 pages
ECW Press
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Traditional
Classic crime and mystery fiction|Historical crime and mysteries
Dublin
  • Short Description
The story of Shay Rynne, a young Dublin cop not trusted by his peers in turbulent 1970s Ireland. Father Burke helps Shay revisit the suspicious death of a childhood friend. When a politician is killed, the case takes Shay and Burke from Dublin to Hell’s Kitchen in New York.

An unsolved murder investigation in 1970s Ireland from “one of Canada’s finest novelists.” — Ottawa Review of Books

Shay Rynne grew up in the Corporation Flats — public housing — in Fenian Street, Dublin. He has always toyed with the idea of joining the Garda Síochána, the Irish police. But in the early 1970s, young fellows from the tenements of Dublin have not been welcomed in the police force. When his friend Rosaleen is killed and the case goes unsolved, Shay decides to put on the uniform of a Dublin garda and sets out to find the killer.

The murder inquiry makes an enemy of the detective who failed in the first investigation. Shay knows Detective McCreevy is just waiting for the chance to get revenge. But the violent death of a prominent politician gives Shay the opportunity to prove himself, perhaps even be promoted. Shay works with the lead detective on the murder inquiry and his star is rising, until suspicion falls on a member of Shay’s own family. So Shay is off the case. Officially. Determined to clear his family name, his under-the-radar investigation takes him from an opulent mansion in Dublin to Hell’s Kitchen in New York. And his good friend Father Brennan Burke has some surprising contacts for Shay in the shadowy world of New York’s Irish mob.

Sales and Market Bullets



  • AWARD-WINNING AUTHOR: Emery is a highly decorated author: winner of the Arthur Ellis Award for Best Crime Novel (2019), the Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction (2011), and the Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel (2007).

  • BESTSELLING SERIES: The Collins-Burke series has been a fan favorite since 2007, and this is the 12th book in the series, though it can be read as a standalone.

  • VIVID IRISH SETTING: Perfect for readers of Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad series.


Audience



  • Fans of traditional mystery authors such as Ruth Rendell, Louise Penny, Donna Leon

  • Fans of previous books in the Collins-Burke series

  • Readers of Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad series

Anne Emery is a lawyer and the author of the Collins-Burke mystery series, which has won Arthur Ellis Awards for Best Novel and Best First Novel, as well as the Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction and an Independent Publisher Book Awards silver medal. “One of Canada’s finest novelists” (Ottawa Review of Books), she lives in Halifax, NS.

“Emery does a fine job integrating Shay’s personal story with the larger Irish political issues of the period. Adrian McKinty fans will want to check this out.” — Publishers Weekly

“Fans will be delighted to see the return of such characters as Father Brennan Burke from earlier books in the series, and she adds depth to Fenian Street by depicting the politics of the era, giving a full sense of the Irish community.” — Shelf Awareness

“I always look forward to the next Anne Emery. They are always impeccably researched, richly atmospheric, and with a spellbinding plot that keeps me hooked until the very end. She is a true Irish treasure on both sides of the Atlantic!” — Jim Napier, author of the Colin McDermott Mysteries, on Fenian Street

“Mystery writer Anne Emery’s latest novel, Fenian Street: A Mystery is a page-turning, unsolved murder investigation set in Ireland in the 1970s.” — The Cape Breton Post

“If you enjoy a good mystery, especially one set in Ireland, you might want to add this to your to-be-read list.” — Retired Guy blog

of 29

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.