has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

May 2022 Adult Top Picks

more
  • Other Formats

    9781487011574 Downloadable audio file, WAV format, $34.99 9781487011567 Downloadable audio file, MP3 format, $34.99 9781487001209 Reflowable, EPUB, $24.99
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GU GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IQ IR IS IT JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NP NU OM PA PE PF PH PL PM PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU SA SD SE SI SJ SK SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UM US UY UZ VA VE VI VN WF YE YT ZW Not for sale in: AG AI AU BB BD BM BN BS BW BZ CM CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IM IN IO JE JM KE KI KN KY LC LK LS MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NR NZ PG PK PN RW SB SC SG SH SL SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU WS ZA ZM
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: UTP Distribution Availability: Available On Sale Date: May 03, 2022 Carton Quantity: 28 $32.99 CAD
  • Supply Detail (US)

    Distributor: Publishers Group West Supplies to: US Availability: Not yet available Expected Ship Date: Jul 01, 2022 On Sale Date: Aug 16, 2022 Carton Quantity: 28 $27.99 USD
  • Catalogues

This Is How We Love
By (author): Lisa Moore
Lisa Moore

Imprint:

House of Anansi Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781487001193

Product Form:

Hardcover

Form detail:

Printed dust jacket
Hardcover , Printed dust jacket
English

Audience:

General Trade
May 03, 2022
$32.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8in x 5.25 in | 0.52 kg

Page Count:

400 pages
House of Anansi Press Inc
House of Anansi Press
FICTION / Literary
  • Short Description

From the celebrated author of February, an exhilarating new novel that asks: What makes a family? How does it shape us? And can we ever really choose who we love?

From the celebrated author of February and Caught comes an exhilarating new novel that asks: What makes a family? How does it shape us? And can we ever really choose who we love?

As the snowstorm of the century rages toward Newfoundland, twenty-one-year-old Xavier is beaten and stabbed in a vicious attack. His mother, Jules, must fight her way through the shuttered streets of St. John’s to reach the hospital where Xavier lies unconscious. When a video of the attack surfaces, Jules struggles to make sense of what she sees in the footage — and of what she can’t quite make out.

While Xavier’s story unfolds, so, too, do the stories that brought him there. Here, across families and generations, are stories of mothers, fathers, sisters, and brothers; of children cared for, neglected, lost, and re-found; of selfless generosity and reluctant debt. Above all, Moore, in the inimitable largesse of her art, paints a shimmering portrait of the sacrifice, pain, and wild joy of loving.

A tour de force of storytelling and craft, This is How We Love brings us a cast of characters so rich and true they could only have been written by Lisa Moore.

Lisa Moore is widely recognized as one of Canada’s most celebrated authors.

Moore’s most recent short story collection Something for Everyone was a long listed for the Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Her novel Caught was a finalist for Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction and the Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Her novel February won CBC's Canada Reads competition, it was also long listed for the Man Booker Prize and was named a New Yorker Best Book of the Year.

For fans of Megan Gail Coles, Michael Crummey, and Lynn Coady.

LISA MOORE is the acclaimed author of the novels CaughtFebruary, and Alligator; the story collections Open and Something for Everyone; and the young-adult novel Flannery. Her books have won the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize and CBC’s Canada Reads, been finalists for the Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and the Scotiabank Giller Prize, and been longlisted for the Man Booker Prize. Moore is also the co-librettist, along with Laura Kaminsky, of the opera February, based on her novel of the same name. She lives in St. John’s, Newfoundland.

The sentences astonish in thrashing staccato form, unearthing one insight and backstory after the next, memories recounted from different perspectives, the snowstorm all the while never letting up … Such is the power of Moore’s writing.

- Winnipeg Free Press

You will want to read This is How We Love in one sitting. Why? Because it won’t leave you alone. The characters live with you and in you and will remain long after you have read the last page.

- The Miramichi Reader

Moore is at her strongest when she writes about ineffable bonds in all their forms, bringing to mind works by Anne Enright and Deborah Levy, both of whom have used family as a device to interrogate women’s hidden lives and desires. Nuanced and heartfelt,?This Is How We Love?ranks among Moore’s best.

- Quill and Quire

As ever, there’s real verve and volume to Moore's writing, with all characters viewed from different angles, as they observe and lure and refract against each other at different times and in different approaches knit together to show ‘This is How We Love.’

- St. John's Telegram

A masterful book that goes boldly into our most tightly held anxieties, fears, and longings about who and how we love, This is How We Love is an unmissable read.

- Open Book

of 10

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.