Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Macmillan Complete Fall 16

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
Selected Later Poems
By (author): C. K. Williams Designed by: Jeff Clark
9780374536565 Paperback, Trade English General Trade POETRY / American / General Sep 06, 2016 Print Run: 2500
$22.99 CAD
Active 7.89 x 8.57 x 0.79 in 272 pages Index of Titles and First Lines Farrar Straus & Giroux Farrar, Straus and Giroux

A selection from the last twenty years of C. K. Williams's career, plus new work--proof of his enduring power

C. K. Williams's long career has been a catalog of surprises, of inventions and reinventions, of honors. His one constant is a remarkable degree of flexibility, a thrilling ability to shape-shift that goes hand in hand with an essential, enduring honesty. This rare, heady mix has ensured that his verses have remained, from book to book, as fresh and vibrant as they were when he first burst onto the scene.

Selected Later Poems--a generous selection of the last two decades of Williams's poetry, capped by a gathering of new work--is a testament to that enduring vibrancy. Here are the passionate, searching, clear-eyed explorations of empathy inThe Vigil; here are the candor and revelation ofRepair; here are the agonizing morality ofThe Singing andWait, and the unsparing reflections on aging ofWriters Writing Dying; here are the poignant prose vignettes ofAll at Once.

Williams's poetry is essential because its lyric beauty, precise and revealing images, and elegant digressions are coupled to a conscience that is both uneasy and unflinching.Selected Later Poemsis at once a celebration of Williams's career, an affirmation of his continued position in the pantheon of American poets, and a kind of reckoning--a reminder of the ways in which art can serve both beauty and justice.

C. K. Williams(1936–2015) published twenty-two books of poetry including,Flesh and Blood, which won the National Book Critics Circle Award;Repair, which won the Pulitzer Prize in Poetry; andThe Singing, winner of the National Book Award. Williams was awarded the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize in 2005. He wrote a critical study,On Whitman; a memoir,Misgivings; and two books of essays,Poetry and ConsciousnessandIn Time: Poets, Poems,and the Rest.

Poetry Advertising Campaign

One feels in the textures of Williams's writing a pure conviction and a commitment to seeing a higher dimension to poetry. When Williams writes of educating the soul and of the spiritually transforming power of beauty, he is convincing. - Ian Tromp, Poetry

of 973

Also Available

The Emperor of Water Clocks Yusef Komunyakaa 9780374536572 $21.00 CAD Oct 04, 2016
The Emperor of Water Clocks Yusef Komunyakaa 9780374147839 $26.99 CAD Oct 06, 2015
Reconnaissance Carl Phillips 9780374536558 $17.00 CAD Sep 06, 2016
Reconnaissance Carl Phillips 9780374248284 $26.99 CAD Sep 01, 2015


Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field

Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.