has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

PRHC June 2022 Kids Key Titles (Eastern)

more
You Are My Favorite Color
By (author): Gillian Sze Illustrated by: Nina Mata
Gillian Sze ,

Illustrated by :

Nina Mata

Imprint:

Philomel Books

ISBN:

9780593203101

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Children: Age (years) 4 - 8, Grade (US) P - 3
Jun 07, 2022
$23.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.81in x 8.63 x 0.34 in | 0.66 lb

Page Count:

32 pages

Illustrations:

FULL-COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS
Philomel
Philomel Books
JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Parents
A lyrical story of parental love that celebrates and takes pride in the many shades of brown skin. Perfect for fans of I Am Enough, Hey Black Child, Hair Love, and Our Skin.

When you ask me why your skin is brown,

I will tell you that you are my favorite color.

I will say that your skin was decided long, long ago.

Time was just waiting for you.



So begins a mother’s celebration of her children’s brown skin, told through warm and vivid poetry. With sweeping descriptions of what brown skin means—it is the brawny bear whose paws know the ground of its home, the sequoia tree that reaches up and touches the sun, the glossy shell of roasted chestnuts—this is a book that empowers as it embraces, and that reminds young readers that they have shades of color that only they can discover and express.



With beautiful, lyrical text by powerhouse poet Gillian Sze and vibrant, engaging art by illustrator Nina Mata, the #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator of LeBron James’s I Promise, this is more than a story of love—it is a song that rings out for brown kids everywhere.



Praise for You Are My Favorite Color:



“This is a sweet, languorous celebration of brown skin in all its infinite shades and of multiracial, multifaceted families. Lovely.”—Kirkus Reviews

A CELEBRATION OF BROWN SKIN! This is a joyous ode to skin of all shades and hues of brown, with an upbeat and empowering message.

A LOVE LETTER FROM PARENT TO CHILD! Told from the perspective of a parent talking to their child, this book is a warm embrace, perfect for cuddled-up reads.

SHOWCASES MIXED-RACE FAMILIES! The author wrote this text for her own mixed-race children, and the artist’s depiction of the characters on the page mirror the author’s own family.

GORGEOUS AND POWERFUL TEXT! This is yet another stellar and lyrical piece of writing from a powerhouse poet, author of the much-loved My Love for You Is Always.

BRIGHT AND VIBRANT ART! #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Nina Mata brings her sweet and vivid art to this beautiful story.

WORLD RIGHTS!

Gillian Sze (she/her) is the author of multiple poetry collections, as well as books for children, including My Love for You Is Always, illustrated by Michelle Lee, and The Night is Deep and Wide, illustrated by Sue Todd. She studied creative writing at Concordia University and received a PhD in études anglaises from Université de Montréal. Originally from Winnipeg, Gillian now lives with her family in Montreal, where she teaches creative writing and literature. You can find Gillian online at gilliansze.com and follow her on Twitter and Instagram @gilliansze. 

Author Residence: Montreal, Canada

Author Hometown: Winnipeg, Canada

Nina Mata (she/her) is a New York Times bestselling illustrator who received her degree from the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York City. She has illustrated many books, including American gymnast Laurie Hernandez's She's Got This, NBA superstar LeBron James's I Promise, and the Ty's Travels I Can Read series. Nina currently lives in New Jersey with her husband, their daughter, and Tabitha, their cat. You can find her online at ninamata.com or follow her on Twitter @msbeautifique and on Instagram @ninamataart. 

Illustrator Residence: New Jersey

Marketing: National media campaign

Consumer advertising

Trade advertising

Online and social media promotion

Feature at select School & Library Conferences



Author Website: Author: gilliansze.com // Illustrator: ninamata.com

Author Social Media: Author: Twitter and Instagram: @gilliansze // Illustrator: Twitter: @msbeautifique, Instagram: @ninamataart

Praise for You Are My Favorite Color:
 
“This is a sweet, languorous celebration of brown skin in all its infinite shades and of multiracial, multifaceted families. Lovely.” Kirkus Reviews

“A lyrical, affirming celebration of brown skin, self-love, and family. Recommended.” School Library Journal

of 45

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.