Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Kids Can Press: Fall 2016

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA US Not for sale in: ROW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Hachette Book Group Availability: In stock On Sale Date:Oct 04, 2016 Carton Quantity:40 $16.95 CAD
    $15.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Pruwahaha Monster, The
By (author): Jean-Paul Mulders Illustrated by: Jacques Maes Illustrated by: Lise Braekers
9781771385664 Hardcover, Picture book English Juvenile: Age (years) from 4 - 7, Grade (US) from P - 2 JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play Oct 01, 2016
$16.95 CAD
Forthcoming 7.5 x 11.38 x 0.38 in | 0.92 lb 26 pages Kids Can Press
A five-year-old boy has gone with his father to swing on his favorite swing near the woods. But while he's been having fun swinging, a huuuuuge monster has woken up nearby from a very long nap. The monster is ravenous, and there's only one thing that will satisfy its hunger: little children! At first, the monster has no luck as it searches the woods for food. Then, oh, no! The monster spies the little boy on the swing! But when the monster creeps closer and tries to scare the boy with its fierce cry, ?pruwwwahhahaha!? the boy isn't frightened at all. In fact, he only laughs at the monster and keeps swinging! Is the boy fearless? Or does he know something about this monster that we don't know?

With humor and suspense, children will be on the edge of their seats listening to this lively picture book. Author Jean-Paul Mulders artfully tells the story using rhythmic language and fun monster sounds that children will love repeating aloud. The two-color illustrations by team Jacques Maes and Lise Braekers feature lots of busy forest scenes to keep readers guessing what might be ?out there? while, of course, never actually revealing the ?monster.? Small children delight in being spooked, and this book offers just the right amount of thrill, perfectly balanced with humor and the warmth of the relationship between the boy and his father.

... a beautiful book with a creative twist that children who like a bit of the shivers will delight in to no end.
School Library Connection

A great pick for fall read-alouds.
Booklist

There is much to look at and enjoy in this suspenseful book ...
CM Magazine

This quiet, pleasantly odd, and dark selection with its detailed illustrations will appeal to fans of Jon Klassen and Carson Ellis.
School Library Journal

This story empowers the child, helping him deal with fears both real and imagined.
Resource Links

of 15

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.