Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

September 2016 Fiction Releases

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Kate Shackleton Mystery 6
Death of an Avid Reader
A Kate Shackleton Mystery
By (author): Frances Brody
9781250067395 Hardcover, Dust jacket English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Traditional Sep 13, 2016 Print Run: 20000
$36.99 CAD
Out of stock indefinitely 5.75 x 8.41 x 1.14 in 368 pages Minotaur Minotaur Books

An intricate plot set in the 1920s English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) Kate Shackleton makeDeath of an Avid Reader an absorbing 6th installment in this mystery, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie.

The Search for a Daughter
Lady Coulton gave up the baby that would have ruined her marriage, born when Lord Coulton was abroad. Now that her husband is dying, she asks Kate to find Sophia.

A Haunted Library
It is forty years since the ghost of a dead librarian haunted the old library, yet the stories have begun again. Kate does not believe in ghosts but obligingly takes part in a ceremony to expel the restless spirit. Shockingly, there is a body in the basement, strangled, and covered in dusty volumes from a fallen bookcase. It is Dr. Potter, a mathematician.

A Killer on the Loose
Dr. Potter’s body is taken away. The police find a sick man sheltering in the basement. He is an Italian, Umberto, an organ grinder and owner of a lively Capuchin monkey. Umberto becomes the prime suspect and will be charged with murder. Kate goes with Umberto to the infirmary. But he is too weak to be a suspect. And now Kate must set out to find the real culprit...

FRANCES BRODY lives in Leeds. She is the author of the Kate Shackleton mystery series, starting withDying in the Wool, A Medal for Murder,andMurder in the Afternoon. Before turning to crime, she wrote historical sagas, winning the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin Award for most regionally evocative debut saga of the millennium.

"Email Marketing Campaign Promotion on CriminalElement.com Library Marketing Campaign Author Website: FrancesBrody.com"

"Frances Brody knows how to hold the reader attention and make them continue reading into the small hours of the night."—Bill Spence, York PressonMurder on a Summer's Day

“I have enjoyed all five Kate Shackleton books but this is the best so far. Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers.”—Daily Mail(UK)

"This is a well written, engaging story, easy to read and positively breathing the atmosphere of its setting and time. Don't be put off if you've not met Kate before. This is almost the perfect stand-alone, with enough references to enable you to fill in the background for yourself without in any way detracting from the plot and what 'hangover' characters there are fit naturally into the story…I'm impressed - and off to explore Kate's earlier cases. If they're as good as this, they'll be well worth the effort!" –Crime ReviewonDeath of An Avid Reader

of 570

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.