has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

September - Kids Working on

more
  • Other Formats

    9780735267862 Paperback / softback, Trade paperback (US), $11.99 9780735267855 Reflowable, EPUB 9781774882894 Downloadable audio file, Library binding 9781774882887 Downloadable audio file
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: 720L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IQ IR IS IT JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MQ MR MV MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NP NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SD SE SG SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YE YT Not for sale in: AG AU BB BD BM BN BS BW BZ CC CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IE IM IN IO JE JM KE KI KN KY LC LK LS MS MT MU MW MY MZ NA NG NR NZ PG PK PN SB SC SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Available On Sale Date: Sep 27, 2022 Carton Quantity: 12
  • Catalogues

Green Mountain Academy
By (author): Frances Greenslade
Frances Greenslade

Imprint:

Tundra Books

ISBN:

9780735267848

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Children: Age (years) 10 - 14, Grade (US) 5 - 9
Sep 27, 2022
$22.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.56in x 5.75 x 0.78 in | 0.75 lb

Page Count:

240 pages
Puffin Canada
Tundra Books
JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / Survival Stories
A daring rescue in the middle of a snowstorm in this compelling Red Fox Road companion survival story for ages 10 to 14, for fans of Hatchet and The Skeleton Tree.

After a family trip turned disastrous when their truck broke down in the middle of an old logging road in Oregon, Francie is now back in British Columbia. People try to make things as “normal” as possible for her, but they don’t understand that trying to be normal in your old life that’s exploded is the worst feeling in the world. Luckily for Francie, the wilderness is still soothing, and an opportunity to attend the Green Mountain Academy, a tiny boarding school perched on the side of a mountain, seems perfect. It’s a new start, with new friends and a chance at a new family. But when a winter storm hits, knocking out all the power, news that a small plane has gone missing unsettles Francie. Knowing that the chance of survival in the middle of a wild nighttime snowstorm diminishes over time, Francie is compelled to leave the cozy school and set out into the icy cold, swirling snowstorm…



    COMPELLING SEQUEL: Surviving the wilderness in the spring is one thing; it’s another thing entirely to survive a wild winter storm in the night, on the side of a mountain.



    SURVIVAL STORIES PERENNIAL KIDS’ FAVE: Hatchet is THE classic survival story, but these books stand out as they showcase a young girl who faces challenges with both practical knowledge and inner strength. 



    AWARD-WINNER: Red Fox Road won the 2021 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Juvenile or YA Crime Book; it is also shortlisted for the Red Cedar Award (British Columbia Young Reader’s Choice Award).



    JLG SELECTION: Red Fox Road was also selected by the Junior Library Guild.



    STRONG FEMALE CHARACTER: While still dealing with the trauma of that last family vacation, with her mother in a hospital, still, Francie’s inner strength shines through as she sets out on a daring rescue mission.



    ATMOSPHERIC WRITING: Just as in Red Fox Road, Frances Greenslade writes so vividly about the outdoors; in this case, the swirling snow, the bent trees, the cold dark rock caves…

FRANCES GREENSLADE was born in St. Catharines, Ontario, and has since lived in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and British Columbia. She has a B.A. in English from the University of Winnipeg and an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from UBC. Her first book, a travel memoir called  A Pilgrim in Ireland: A Quest for Home, won the Saskatchewan Book Award for Non-Fiction. Her second memoir, By the Secret Ladder: A Mother’s Initiation, was published in 2007, and her novel, Shelter, was published in 2011. Her first novel for young readers, Red Fox Road, won the Arthur Ellis Award for Best Juvenile Crime Novel, was a JLG selection, and was shortlisted for the B.C. Red Cedar Children’s Choice Award. Greenslade teaches English at Okanagan College in Penticton, B.C.

Author Residence: Penticton, British Columbia

Marketing: Outreach to Mighty Girl audience

Continue to pitch for events

Play up the outdoor survival theme in survival listicles



Feature Website: @FGreenslade

Author Website: www.francesgreenslade.com

Author Social Media: @franciegreenslade (Instagram)

“[A] gripping adventure story with strong themes of camaraderie, bravery, and forgiveness…. Francie’s strong connection to nature will resonate with outdoorsy readers, who may find the winter survival elements instructive. A harrowing and reflective escapade.” —Booklist

“Francie is a gritty and determined young person…. Green Mountain Academy was hard to put down.” —CM Reviews

of 20

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.