has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Young Adult - October 2022

more
  • Other Formats

    9780593120231 9780593120217 Hardback, Library binding, $28.99 9780593120224 EPUB 9780593609477 Downloadable audio file
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: HL620L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: Available On Sale Date: Oct 25, 2022 Carton Quantity: 12
  • Catalogues

We Are All We Have
By (author): Marina Budhos
Marina Budhos

Imprint:

Wendy Lamb Books

ISBN:

9780593120200

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English

Audience:

Teenage: Age (years) 12, Grade (US) 7
Oct 25, 2022
$24.49 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.56in x 5.75 x 0.93 in | 0.8 lb

Page Count:

256 pages
Random House Children's Books
Wendy Lamb Books
YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
When a teenage girl’s single mom is taken by ICE, everything changes—all of her hopes and dreams for the future have turned into survival.

Seventeen-year-old Rania is shaken awake in her family’s apartment in Brooklyn. ICE is at the door, taking her mother away. But Ammi has done everything right, hasn’t she? Their asylum case is fine.
    This was supposed to be Rania’s greatest summer: hanging out with her best friend, Fatima, and getting ready for college in the fall.
    But it’s 2019, and nothing is certain.
    Now, along with her younger brother, Kamal, and a new friend, Carlos, Rania must figure out how to survive. A road trip leads to searching for answers to questions she didn’t even think to ask.
    In this vivid exploration of what happens when the country you have put your hopes into is fast shutting down, award-winning author Marina Budhos shows us how one girl bursting with dreams navigates secrets, love, and the lure of the open road.



    Perfect next read for fans of I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, Americanized, Indivisible, Zara Houssain is Here, and Sanctuary

    Award-winning author. Marina is known for her authentic and nuanced stories about immigrant and refugee teens. Watched (WLB, 2016) was an APALA Honor, a Walter Dean Myers Award Honor, and on multiple best of the year lists.

    Fills the need for Pakistani representation in YA. Readers are increasingly looking for titles that center traditionally marginalized voices. Rania is Pakistani; her single mother entered the US seeking asylum.

    A timely conversation starter. While the Trump administration is never specifically named, the Muslim Ban is mentioned in passing as to why this family’s case has changed. This story shows how policy decisions can deeply affect teens and their families.

MARINA BUDHOS is the author of award-winning fiction and nonfiction. Her novels for young people are The Long Ride, Watched, Tell Us We’re Home, and Ask Me No Questions. Her nonfiction books are Remix: Conversations with Immigrant Teenagers and two coauthored books, Eyes of the World: Robert Capa, Gerda Taro & the Invention of Modern Photojournalism and Sugar Changed the World, written with her husband, Marc Aronson. Budhos has received an NEA Fellowship in Creative Writing and has been a Fulbright Scholar to India and was a professor of English at William Paterson University. Visit her online at marinabudhos.com.

Author Residence: Maplewood, NJ

Author Hometown: Queens, NY

Author Website: marinabudhos.com

Author Social Media: Twitter @mbudhos / Instagram @ mbudhos / facebook.com/mbudhos/

★ “A triumphant tale about finding home.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

★ “Budhos weaves a rich tapestry of words that navigates a yearning for acceptance, love, and the unerring need for freedom.” —Booklist, starred review

“The tightly wound plot creates an underlying tension as the young characters’ situations constantly unravel.” —The Horn Book

“[A] hopeful tale with a large cast of kind-hearted characters, whose boundless compassion for Rania and Kamal, and sense of helplessness in the face of an unfair and impossible government system, is palpable.” —Publishers Weekly

of 22

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.