has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Ampersand Key Titles Shipping October 2022 ATL

more
The Secret of the Jade Bangle
By (author): Linda Trinh Illustrated by: Clayton Nguyen
Linda Trinh ,

Illustrated by :

Clayton Nguyen

Imprint:

Annick Press

ISBN:

9781773217161

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

Juvenile: Age (years) 6 - 9, Grade (CAN) 1 - 4, Grade (US) 1 - 4, Reading age 6 - 9
Oct 18, 2022
$8.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

7.25in x 5.5 x 0.3 in | 160 gr

Page Count:

128 pages

Illustrations:

black and white illustrations throughout
Annick Press
JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / Asian American
 
Outstanding Works of Literature, BookPal 2022, Nominated

“Engaging and empowering.” —STARRED review, Nonstop Reader

A charming early chapter book series that explores Vietnamese culture and identity through the eyes of the Nguyen siblings, with elements of the supernatural, spirituality, and social justice woven in.

Organized and introspective nine-year-old Anne Nguyen misses her Grandma Nội, a lot. But even though Grandma Nội passed away, it doesn’t mean she’s disappeared.

When Anne and her younger siblings Jacob and Liz are given gifts passed on to them by Grandma, Anne soon realizes that hers—a beautiful jade bangle—has a secret power. One that might just give her the strength to stand up to her ballet teacher, who treats her differently than her white classmates, and embrace her Vietnamese identity through cooking Grandma’s recipes. No matter how difficult things get, Anne learns that the love of her ancestors is always with her.

  • BIPOC PROTAGONISTS: demand is high for early chapter readers featuring BIPOC main characters
  • VIETNAMESE CULTURE: a celebration of Vietnameses culture is at the forefront of this series, in the form of food, celebrations, traditions, holidays
  • SUPERNATURAL APPEAL: spiritual and supernatural elements of are woven in seamlessly through each story, as a part of daily life for the siblings
  • DEBUT: a success story from Annick’s mentorship program for authors from communities historically excluded from children’s publishing, this is Linda’s first book and it includes topics such as spirituality, identity, racism, allyship, gender fluidity, stereotypes, in an accessible, age appropriate, sensitive way
  • IN-DEMAND THEMES: this is strong, engaging writing with important messages about empathy, identity, and self-acceptance, packed with lots of good Social Emotional Learning connections
  • BACKMATTER EXTRAS: backmatter includes an author's note, acknowledgments, and short character profiles of everyone in the family

LINDA TRINH is a Vietnamese Canadian author who writes fiction and non-fiction for children and adults. Her work has appeared in anthologies and literary magazines. She explores identity, cultural background, and spirituality. The Nguyen Kids is her first children's book series. She lives with her family in Winnipeg.

CLAYTON NGUYEN is a Vietnamese artist born in Ottawa and currently based in Toronto, Ontario.

“Fans of Mindy Kim and Junie B. Jones—check this out! . . . The first book is about discovering who you are, valuing your heritage and understanding your ancestral background. It is also about standing up for your culture and standing up against racism—all folded into a child-friendly story.”

- Bedashruti Mitra Basu, Bookstagrammer @bedashrutimitrabasu

“Engaging and empowering . . . Despite the action filled plot . . . the author manages to delve into deeper and meaningful themes such as integration and isolation, respect for culture, honesty, integrity, dealing constructively with racism, activism, and family in an age-appropriate manner.”

- Nonstop Reader, STARRED review

“This is a sweet title that handles the concepts surrounding racism as experienced by younger children in a relatable and age-appropriate way; it should be considered for all chapter book collections.”

- School Library Journal

“An emotionally intelligent, straightforwardly told family story, it’s the first installment of a series centered on Anne and her siblings.”

“A solid chapter book laced with themes of cultural confidence and family.”

- Kirkus Reviews

of 32

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.