Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

PRH Canada Children's Group Spring 2017

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view

Preview

  • Other Formats

    9781770497566 9781770497573 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date: Jan 24, 2017 Carton Quantity: 30 $22.99 CAD
    $16.99 USD
Little Blue Chair
By (author): Cary Fagan Illustrated by: Madeline Kloepper
9781770497559 Hardcover English Juvenile: Age (years) from 3 - 7, Grade (US) from P - 2 JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play Jan 24, 2017
$22.99 CAD
Active 8.78 x 10.3 x 0.41 in 40 pages COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS THROUGHOUT Tundra Books
Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Award 2018, Short-listed
A sweet, whimsical tale that chronicles the journey of a chair as it changes hands and uses. Perfect for fans of The Good Little Book, Something for Nothing and Virginia Lee Burton’s The Little House.

Boo’s favorite chair is little and blue. He sits in it, reads in it and makes a tent around it…until the day he grows too big for it. His mother puts the little blue chair out on the lawn where a truck driver picks it up. The truck driver sells it to a lady in a junk store where it sits for many years until it’s sold and put to use as a plant stand. In the years that follow, the little blue chair is used in many other ways—on an elephant ride, in a contest, on a Ferris wheel, in a tree…until the day it flies away, borne aloft by balloons, and lands in a garden of daffodils where a familiar face finds it.

A charming, beautifully illustrated read-aloud that follows the adventures of a little chair, beginning as the seat of a small child who loves books and circling back to that child’s child many years (and bottoms) later.

SWEET NOSTALGIC MESSAGE: Finding new uses for old treasures, learning to appreciate preloved items.

TIMELY CONCEPT: Upcycling, reusing and the maker movement.

BEAUTIFUL READ-ALOUD: Simple, unique prose that begs to be read aloud.

INSPIRES CREATIVITY: The premise and playful narrative showcase creativity and imagination.

AWARD-WINNING AUTHOR: Cary Fagan is a critically acclaimed writer for children and adults.

UP-AND-COMING ARTIST: Madeline Kloepper’s first foray into picture books is a spot-on mixture of traditional and modern.

CARY FAGAN’s kids’ books include the popular Kaspar Snit novels, the two-volume Master Melville’s Medicine Show and the picture books Thing-Thing, Ella May and the Wishing Stone and I Wish I Could Draw. Mr. Zinger’s Hat, another of his picture books, was awarded the Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award and the IODE Jean Throop Award. He recently won the Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People for his body of work. His books have been translated into nine languages. Cary is also the author of six novels and three story collections for adults. He was born and raised in Toronto, where he continues to live with his family.

Author Residence: Toronto, ON

Author Hometown: Toronto, ON

Up-and-coming illustrator MADELINE KLOEPPER, a graduate of Emily Carr University of Art and Design, brings wise-beyond-her-years illustrations full of sweetness and curiosity to her debut picture book. Madeline grew up in the lower mainland of British Columbia amidst a sea of humans and spent a few years in Vancouver; she has since migrated northward to Prince George. Her work is influenced by childhood, nostalgia and the relationships we forge with nature, no doubt inspired by her love of exploring the Pacific Northwest.

Illustrator Residence: Prince George, BC

Illustrator Hometown: British Columbia

Publicity: F&G for sales kits

School & library advertising

School events

Featured title at major conferences: OLA and RFTLOI, ALA and BEA

National feature and review attention

NetGalley promotion

LibraryThing Early Reviewer giveaways

Pitch for Earth Day and maker features

Possible Indie’s Pick

Art cards for trade shows

Tradeshow contest

Sharable social images featuring illustrations



Author Website: www.caryfagan.com | www.madelinekloepper.com

Author Social Media: @madelinekloepper

PRAISE FOR Mr. Zinger’s Hat:

“Fagan’s dialogue moves smartly.”—Publishers Weekly

“Every child needs a Mr. Zinger—and his hat!—in his or her life….This book oh-so-softly brings across a sweet multigenerational message about sharing the power of imagination.”—Booklist

“A thoroughly engaging addition to the shelf of stories about story making.”—Kirkus Reviews

of 33

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.