Add Best Comp

Penguin Canada Summer 2017

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: ROW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Not yet available On Sale Date: Aug 29, 2017 Carton Quantity: 24
Someone You Love Is Gone
By (author): Gurjinder Basran
9780735233423 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Literary Aug 29, 2017
$24.95 CAD
Forthcoming 5.63 x 8.25 x 0.63 in 256 pages Penguin Canada Viking
Perfect for readers of Jhumpa Lahiri and Anne Tyler, Someone You Love Is Gone is a beautifully rendered, multi-generational story of secrets and ghosts that haunt a family and will affirm Gurjinder Basran’s reputation as one of Canada’s rising literary stars.

Grief is a creature of many faces as Simran discovers when her mother, the lynchpin of her family, dies. Faced with the disintegration of her marriage and her estrangement from her own daughter, she struggles to make sense of her world and how things have come to be. With her mother’s death, Simran is haunted by memories and questions for which she has no answers. As the life she has carefully constructed begins to unravel around her, she is forced to confront one of her most painful memories—her parents sending her younger brother away when they were children. As the past comes flooding back, she wonders what could compel her parents to turn their backs on their only son. Was it his strange obsession with collecting poetry on scraps of paper? Or the fact that he talked about having memories that couldn’t possibly be his? Could he be the reincarnation of her long-dead uncle? Even her mother, who had always been very protective of her son, agreed with her husband to send him away; a decision that would have lasting consequences. Now with her mother gone, Simran must face up to these disturbing memories, and perhaps finally put her ghosts to rest.

Someone You Love Is Gone skillfully explores the ties that bind family together as well as the secrets that drive them apart. In beautifully rendered prose, award-winning author Gurjinder Basran weaves a mesmerizing tale of love and heartbreak that crosses continents and spans generations.

Story Locale: Lower mainland BC and New Delhi, India

GURJINDER BASRAN’s debut novel, Everything Was Good-bye, was the winner of the Search for the Great BC Novel Contest in 2010 and the Ethel Wilson Fiction Award in 2011. It was chosen as a Chatelaine Book Club pick in 2012. Gurjinder studied creative writing at Simon Fraser University and the Banff Center for the Arts.

Author Residence: Delta, BC

Author Hometown: Delta, BC

Marketing: Special Galley Mailing



Social Media Promotions



Influencer Mailing



Publicity: Author Tour



National Media Attention



National Review Mailing

Advance praise for Someone You Love Is Gone:

• "A beautiful, haunting story of one family, spanning generations and continents, as they face life's inevitable losses, struggle with grief, and reach for redemption."--Shilpi Somaya Gowda, New York Times bestselling author of Secret Daughter and The Golden Son

• "In this brave and beautifully written novel, Gurjinder Basran shines a light into the darkest corners of one family's emotional inheritance. Grief has the power to remake us, and for Simran and her mother, Amrita, it proves truly transformative, blurring the lines between self and other, home and history--even life and death."--Alissa York, author of Fauna and The Naturalist


Praise for Everything Was Good-bye:

• "[T]he writing is vivid, full of crackling dialogue, and the plot is completely absorbing.... Basran's book reminds me of the work of the Pulitzer-prize winning novelist, Bengali American writer Jhumpa Lahiri, who also draws the outsider into the world of Indian immigrants to North America, vividly expressing their difficult adaptation.... She is clearly on the same path as Lahiri, a writer on the first step to greatness."--Toronto Star

• "Basran's writing is by turns elegant and poetic."--Quill & Quire

of 8

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Book Title
contibutor | format | ean

My Notes
Shared Notes

Add a note