Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

April 2017 Non-Fiction Releases

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781476790503 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Simon & Schuster Availability: Not available On Sale Date: Apr 04, 2017 Carton Quantity: 40
  • Catalogues

Where I Live Now
A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope
By (author): Sharon Butala
9781476790480 Hardcover English General Trade BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs Apr 04, 2017
$26.99 CAD
Forthcoming 139.7 x 209.55 x 17.78 mm 192 pages 5 b&w images t-o Simon & Schuster
An intimate and uplifting book about finding renewal and hope through grief and loss.

“It was a terrible life; it was an enchanted life; it was a blessed life. And, of course, one day it ended.” —Sharon Butala

In the tradition of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking, Diana Athill’s Somewhere Towards the End, and Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal comes a revelatory new book from one of our beloved writers.

When Sharon Butala’s husband, Peter, died unexpectedly, she found herself with no place to call home. Torn by grief and loss, she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city, leaving almost everything behind. A lifetime of possessions was reduced to a few boxes of books, clothes, and keepsakes. But a lifetime of experience went with her, and a limitless well of memory—of personal failures, of a marriage that everybody said would not last but did, of the unbreakable bonds of family.

Reinventing herself in an urban landscape was painful, and facing her new life as a widow tested her very being. Yet out of this hard-won new existence comes an astonishingly frank, compassionate and moving memoir that offers not only solace and hope but inspiration to those who endure profound loss.

Often called one of this country’s true visionaries, Sharon Butala shares her insights into the grieving process and reveals the small triumphs and funny moments that kept her going. Where I Live Now is profound in its understanding of the many homes women must build for themselves in a lifetime.

Sharon Butala is an award-winning and bestselling author of both fiction and nonfiction. Her classic book The Perfection of the Morning was a #1 bestseller and a finalist for the Governor General’s Award. Fever, a short story collection, won the 1992 Authors’ Award for Paperback Fiction and was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for best book (Canada and Caribbean region). Her latest novel, Wild Rose, was published in 2015 and has been shortlisted for the W.O. Mitchell Book Prize. Butala is a recipient of the Marian Engel Award, the Saskatchewan Order of Merit, and the 2012 Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence. In 2002 she became an Officer of the Order of Canada. A brilliant speaker who is much in demand, she lives in Calgary, Alberta. Visit her at SharonButala.com.


Tour Sharon extensively, focused
on events and local media in tour cities:

-Toronto
-Calgary
-Saskatoon

-pitched to Frye Festival
(Moncton) and Ottawa Writers Festival, as well as local author series in the
GTA

-pitching to all major Fall
festivals across Canada

Pitching will include:
-op-ed for Postmedia Chain
-CBC The Next Chapter
-Marilyn Denis, Global Morning
Show
-Canadian Living, Chatelaine,
Zoomer, etc
-Calgary Herald, Saskatoon Star
Phoenix plus local CBC, etc, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, Macleans

My heart cracks with what I have lost. With these words, Sharon Butala expresses the pain of losing her husband and her spiritual home in the grasslands of southwestern Saskatchewan. This beautiful, sorrowful elegy to Peter and the land of which they were stewards is filled with wisdom, and is truly a gift to her readers. I loved this book.” - Dianne Warren, Governor General's Award–winning author of Cool Water

“This is what we have come to expect from Sharon Butala. An articulation of love, hard and true and honest. A consistent attempt to probe and comprehend the life and land around her, the mystery of spirit, of nature, the meaning of grief. I was moved to tears by Butala’s strong, sure voice.” - Frances Itani, Giller Prize–shortlisted author of Tell

“In this masterful and achingly beautiful memoir, Sharon Butala seeks to answer the question ‘What is a human life worth?’ She makes discoveries about the ancient connection between land, history, animals, humans, time and spirit with an insight that is almost impossible to put into words. This is a book that chronicles a life of exploration into the inner self, the outer natural world and the intricate, ineffable connection between the two.” - Joan Crate, acclaimed author of Black Apple

PRAISE FOR THE PERFECTION OF THE MORNING

“One of the most perceptive and moving meditations ever written…on that mysterious and often misunderstood presence that we call nature.” - Maclean's


The Perfection of the Morning speaks of the peace to be had by simply walking and listening in nature… We could use eloquent guides to get us there, guides such as Sharon Butala.” - The Globe and Mail



"Few readers will be immune to the appeal of Butala’s memoir, with its evocation of a beautiful landscape and a demanding but rewarding way of life.” - Toronto Star


PRAISE FOR THE GIRL IN SASKATOON

“A meditation so hauntingly intense that it will touch and connect all those who read it.” - The Globe and Mail


“A striking new book . . . perhaps among the finest in Butala’s impressive body of work.” - National Post

of 1399

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.