Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Ampersand LGBTQ

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Things I Should Have Known
By (author): Claire LaZebnik
9780544829695 Hardcover, Cloth over boards English Age (years) from 12 - 99 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Siblings Mar 28, 2017 Print Run: 25000
$25.99 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.25 x 1.08 in 320 pages Houghton Mifflin Harcourt HMH Books for Young Readers
An unforgettable story about autism, sisterhood, and first love that’s perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sophie Kinsella, and Sarah Dessen.New York Times bestselling author ofTell Me Three Things Julie Buxbaum raved: “I couldn’t put it down.”

Meet Chloe Mitchell, a popular Los Angeles girl who’s decided that her older sister, Ivy, who’s on the autism spectrum, could use a boyfriend. Chloe already has someone in mind: Ethan Fields, a sweet, movie-obsessed boy from Ivy’s special needs class.

Chloe would like to ignore Ethan’s brother, David, but she can’t—Ivy and Ethan aren’t comfortable going out on their own so Chloe and David have to tag along. Soon Chloe, Ivy, David, and Ethan form a quirky and wholly lovable circle. And as the group bonds over frozen yogurt dates and movie nights, Chloe is forced to confront her own romantic choices—and the realization that it’s okay to be a different kind of normal.

Claire LaZebnik has written many adult and YA novels, has coauthored two books on autism, and has contributed to theNew York Timesand theWall Street Journal. She lives with her TV writer husband and four children, one of whom has autism.

March 2017 ALAN Pick!
One of Bustle's "16 Best Young Adults Books Coming in March 2017"
One of Children's Book Review's “Best New Young Adult Books March 2017"


"This hilarious, sweet and romantic book reminds us that if we open our hearts, life offers up so many wonderful kinds of normal."
—Justine Magazine

"There’s just something about [LaZebnik's] writing that keeps me coming back. Her characters have fully realized lives; she strikes a great balance in her stories between the romantic and the familial... [LaZebnik] explores particularly complicated sibling relationships here, and does so in a way you can feel, in equal parts, the devotion and frustration leaping off the page."
—Forever Young Adult

"Heartwarming."
—Entertainment Weekly

"LaZebnik’s wise and tender new book...is [a] touching story of two sisters."
—The Huffington Post

"More a love story about sisterhood than romantic, it's a story that will illuminate what it's like to live an ordinary teenage life when you have autism.”
—Bustle

"We highly recommendThings I Should Have Known...a thought-provoking portrayal of autism and the people it touches."
—HelloGiggles

"LaZebnik hits it out of the park with her story about pretty, popular Chloe and her loving relationship with her older, autistic sister, Ivy... With perceptiveness and ample skill, LaZebnik paints a vivid picture of what the sibling of a person with high-functioning autism might go through. Never resorting to stereotype, she depicts appealing, three-­dimensional characters who flesh out a narrative that is compassionate, tender, funny, and wise all at once. This insightful,well-­written story will entertain readers while inspiring meaningful empathy."
—Booklist, starred review

"Readers with special needs siblings are the natural audience for this, but the wit holds broad appeal, and the mostly nonjudgmental insights will certainly give readers a new perspective on young adults on the spectrum and those who love, protect, and advocate for them."
—Bulletin

“In this insightful account of misconceptions, family conflict, and the ironies of love, LaZebnik (Wrong About the Guy) examines the evolution of several relationships. . . . Writing with honesty and wit, LaZebnik offers a thought-provoking portrayal of how people can come together despite, or perhaps because of, their differences.”
—Publishers Weekly

"An eye-opening look at autism and those it touches."
—Kirkus

"This story about a girl who upends her own life by trying to help someone else is a winning read for young people ready for a realistic romance about life’s challenges."
—School Library Journal

"Characterization here is spot on, as LaZebnik ably depicts the speech patterns and behaviors characteristic of people on the spectrum as well as very different versions of sibling, parental, and stepparental response… Readers with special needs siblings are the natural audience for this, but the wit holds broad appeal, and [the book] will certainly give readers a new perspective on young adults on the spectrum and those who love, protect, and advocate for them."
—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

“A charmingly honest, insightful story about love, family, and frozen yogurt. So good you'll finish it in one sitting!”
—Robyn Schneider, author ofThe Beginning of Everything andExtraordinary Means

Things I Should Have Known is funny, compassionate, and loving. LaZebnik writes with authority and ease, capturing the complexities of sibling bonds and first love, and crafting characters to root for from start to finish.”
—Emma Mills, author ofFirst & Then

"At once romantic and touching, perceptive and honest,Things I Should Have Knownis about first love, the bonds of sisterhood, and living your most authentic life. I couldn’t put it down."
—Julie Buxbaum, author ofTell Me Three Things

“A fiercely honest and surprising story about family, first love, and the beauty of individuality. LaZebnik reminds us that sometimes the most wonderful things in life are the things you never expected.”
—Ashley Blake, author ofSuffer Love

of 209

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.