Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Steerforth Press, Fall 2017

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS BZ CA GU GY IN MP PR UM US VI ZA For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AF AI AO AQ AR AW BF BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV CD CF CG CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO EC EH ER ET FM GA GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HM HN HT KG KH KM KP KZ LA LR MF MG MH ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NU PA PE PF PM PS PW PY RE RW SD SN SR SS ST SV SX TD TF TG TJ TK TL TM UY UZ VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: ROW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date: Sep 05, 2017 Carton Quantity: 12 $29.00 CAD
    $22.00 USD
Browse
The World in Bookshops
Edited by: Henry Hitchings Contributions by: Various
9781782272120 Hardcover English General Trade LITERARY COLLECTIONS / Essays Sep 05, 2017
$29.00 CAD
Active 5.4 x 8.1 x 0.9 in 256 pages Steerforth Press Pushkin Press
A celebration of the greatest kind of shop in the world, by an award-winning cast of writers including Ali Smith, Michael Dirda, Elif Shafak and Daniel Kehlmann.

A cabinet of curiosities, a time machine, a treasure trove - we love bookshops because they possess a unique kind of magic. In Browse, Henry Hitchings asks fifteen writers from around the world to reveal their favourite bookshops, each conjuring a specific time and place. These inquisitive, enchanting pieces are a collective celebration of bookshops - for anyone who has ever fallen under their spell. Contributors include Alaa Al Aswany, Stefano Benni, Michael Dirda, Daniel Kehlmann, Andrey Kurkov, Yiyun Li, Pankaj Mishra, Dorthe Nors, Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor, Elif Shafak, Ian Sansom, Iain Sinclair, Ali Smith, Saša Stanišic, and Juan Gabriel Vásquez.

A dazzling collection of original essays about the bookshop by fifteen bestselling international authors.

The perfect Christmas present for book-lovers - and a sophisticated, eloquent anthology.

Contributing writers are all award-winning, even bestselling - fans of their work will love this.

For fans of My Bookshop, Jen Campbell’s The Bookshop Book, Nina George’s The Little Paris Bookshop and Mark Forsyth’s The Unknown Unknown.

A beautiful small hardback, reasonably priced, with an irresistible cover by Jamie Keenan, perfect for bookshop tables and till-points.

An original commission by Pushkin Press, which has alreadygenerated strong interest from international publishers.

Henry Hitchings is an award-winning critic and author of several books on culture, literature and language, and theatre critic at the Evening Standard (London).

Henry Hitchings is an award-winning writer, reviewer and critic. He has written for the Guardian, London Review of Books, TLS, Financial Times and New Statesman, and is currently the Evening Standard’s theatre critic. He is the author of several acclaimed books on language, literature and culture, including Dr Johnson’s Dictionary, How to Really Talk About Books You Haven’t Read and The Language Wars. In 2008, he was shortlisted for the title of Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year, and in the same year his book The Secret Life of Words won the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and the Somerset Maugham Award.

Author Residence: London, UK

Author Hometown: London, UK

Publicity: US-based publicist to handle North American publicity

marketing and social media TBC

 “Lives up to its inviting title.” - Times Literary Supplement

 “Very worthwhile but not too worthy, this is a timely call to arms.” - Monocle 
’All these writers convey the magic of bookshops, while also making their vulnerability in recent times a recurrent theme.’ - Guardian

’If you have ever lost yourself in a bookshop, felt the world fall away as you took a book off the shelves, this spell-binding collection will carry you off to shops near, far, lost and imagined.’ - Mail on Sunday

’Everywhere bookshops are fast disappearing. Sixteen writers from around the world remind us why we should cherish them at all costs.’ - Spectator

’In celebrating bookshops, Browse heralds humanity, with all its glorious eccentricities.’ - Country Life

of 21

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.

Book Title
contibutor | format | ean

My Notes
Shared Notes

Add a note