Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Steerforth Press, Fall 2017

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
  • Other Formats

    9781782272908 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS BZ CA GU GY IN MP PH PR UM US VI ZA For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AF AI AO AQ AR AW BF BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV CD CF CG CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO EC EH ER ET FM GA GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HM HN HT KG KH KM KP KZ LA LR MF MG MH ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NU PA PE PF PM PS PW PY RE RW SD SN SR SS ST SV SX TD TF TG TJ TK TL TM UY UZ VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: ROW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date: Sep 05, 2017 Carton Quantity: 112 $18.95 CAD
    $13.95 USD
Pushkin Vertigo
The King of Fools
By (author): Frédéric Dard Translated by: Louise Lalaurie
9781782271970 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / General Sep 05, 2017
$18.95 CAD
Active 5.1 x 7.8 x 0.5 in 193 pages Steerforth Press Pushkin Vertigo
An ingenious thriller, set in Edinburgh, from the master of French noir.

Jean-Marie can’t believe his luck when he has a passionate triste with a beautiful young Englishwoman, Marjory, who is holidaying in the Côte d’Azur. However, when he discovers his lover is married he is crestfallen, and when she returns to her home in rainy Edinburgh he is heartbroken. He takes a fateful decision: to follow her.

He arrives in Scotland. but soon the jealous husband appears, and a deadly encounter is only the beginning of a nightmarish, disorienting drama.

The first translation into English of this intelligent thriller from one of the masters of French noir.

For fans of classic noir fiction, as well as modern thrillers such as Gone Girl.

For fans of Georges Simenon.

Frédéric Dard (1921-2000) was one of the best known and loved French crime writers of the twentieth century. Enormously prolific, he wrote more than three hundred thrillers, suspense stories, plays and screenplays, under a variety of noms de plume, throughout his long and illustrious career, which also saw him win the 1957 Grand prix de littérature policière for The Executioner Weeps, forthcoming from Pushkin Vertigo. Dard’s Bird in a Cage, The Wicked Go to Hell, Crush and the The Gravediggers’ Bread are also available or forthcoming from Pushkin Vertigo.

Author Residence: France (deceased)

Author Hometown: France

Publicity: US-based publicist to handle North American publicity

marketing and social media TBC

“sure to appeal to fans of Agatha Christie, Raymond Chandler and Georges Simenon… A slim novel with laconic prose and a stunning plot, The King of Fools will keep many a mystery lover up too late—and waiting eagerly for the next novel of Dard’s to be translated into English.” — Jessica Howard, bookseller at Bookmans, in Shelf Awareness

“A book about a love story gone bad … charming and engaging far beyond the plot details.” — International Crime Fiction

“The French master of noir.” The Observer

“Alongside the Maigret novels of Georges Simenon there is a rich vein of period French crime still to be tapped. Frédéric Dard is a case in point.” Daily Mail

“The literary descendant of Simenon and Celine.” Le Figaro

“No question: for me, he was the greatest.” —Philippe Geluck

“France’s most popular post-war author.” L’Express

“His language is cutting, his point-of-view original and his verdict uncompromising…One of the few twentieth-century authors to win both critical acclaim and great popularity.” Solidarité Militaire

of 21

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.

Book Title
contibutor | format | ean

My Notes
Shared Notes

Add a note